We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic proposal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Blackman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Art Series - The Blackman to your Saves list
Art Series - The Blackman
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct Save 20%
Ranked #10 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romantic proposal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We got engaged on the Penthouse balcony looking over Albert Park lake where we first met! The room was stunning, the staff very friendly and the location fantastic. Highly recommend this hotel for either a great couple get away or business stay. Love the French Style bakery downstairs too, great breakfast and coffee!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Congratulations on your engagement! Thanks so much for choosing our penthouse for this special occasion. We appreciate your wonderful feedback and hope to welcome you back for future anniversaries!
Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    307
    83
    20
    19
See reviews for
121
549
73
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hobart tasmania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We booked in to this hotel based on reviews posted. We were not disappointed . We arrived on Anzac Day ,our first wedding anniversary . We booked a twin balcony king sized bed room, we were upgraded to a room with a view, lovely views of Albert park lake. Whist savouring the delights of the Classico restaurant downstairs, the team sneaked in a bottle of bubbles, what a lovely surprise!! I cannot fault this property, great rooms, great beds, good bathroom products (I'm a hairdresser, so this is important for me) . The best of all, the location, quiet,close to trams and the city, less than 5 mins,great cafe and restaurant on site and good room service.
Do yourselves a favour, don't choose the big hotels, try a boutique hotel like this, you won't be disappointed :) :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Louie,
What a great review! We genuinely appreciate your positive feedback and have shared your comments with the team. Thanks for celebrating your special occasion with us and we hope to see you for another visit soon!
Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have only the most positive memories of our stay at The Blackman Hotel. We were greeted warmly upon arrival by edgar, he gave us map and explain where to go and escort us to the lift. The room was nicely furnished, bed and pillows were extremely comfortable too. The hotel located adjacent to the beautiful Albert Park which is very beautiful, walking distance to South Yarra and 10 minutes tram ride to city. Great hotel and would be delighted to revisit!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your “brilliant” feedback and for your mention of Edgar! We’ve passed your positive comments on to him and the rest of the team. We do our best to provide a warm and memorable experience, and we’re so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I was on a trip to Melbourne with my daughter for her 18th birthday. After spending a few days with friends I thought we would stay at a nice hotel for our last 3 nights. The hotel was great except for the cleaning and service of our room. We had a studio twin balcony room, which had a lovely lay out. On returning from the city after our first night, our beds had been made but our toilet was not cleaned, floors not vacuummed and bins not emptied. There was also hair in the bath/shower recess. I let it pass, only to return the next day and the same things were not attended too. I spoke to the desk as it was now our last night and he did apologise. We were very disappointed as we were looking forward to the stay so much, and that really did put a dampner on our experience, in what should have been a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Margy,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We genuinely appreciate both positive and constructive feedback, as we are always striving to improve the quality of service that we provide.
I was disappointed to learn that you had some cleanliness issues during your stay. The problems that you experienced simply should not happen, and we’ve addressed these matters with our housekeeping department. As we are continuously training new staff, it is important for us to learn of such issues. We do hold very high cleanliness standards, and I can affirm that this is not a common occurrence here at The Blackman.
Thank you for your positive feedback in regards to the layout of your room. We were aware that you were here for a birthday, so we were very happy to give you a complimentary upgrade and present you with small amenity to celebrate. We do hope that these small details somewhat made up for the negative aspects of your stay. If you return, (which we hope that you do!), please contact myself prior to your arrival, and I’ll do my best to ensure you have a fantastic stay with us.
Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back to The Blackman soon.
Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
0390391444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Excellent service. Wonderful room. The best bed we've ever slept in. Special thanks go to Kelly who upon learning our stay was a birthday celebration promptly delivered a complimentary bottle of lovely bubbly to our room. A wonderful start. The room was beautiful..a great layout, very comfortable and stunning views over Albert Park to the bay. The bed was incredible. I want to buy one of these beds. Special mention to the gent who served us at checkout this afternoon for giving us a discount as our shower rose was broken. Simply the best hotel, we will be back. Can't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Bayview room great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Gareth,
What a wonderful review! We strive to provide outstanding customer service and we’re just thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We genuinely appreciate your positive feedback and we’ve passed your encouraging comments on to Kelly and the team. Thank you again for taking the time to review our property and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 days. It's away from the bustle if the city centre but a short 10 minute tram-ride to the CBD. Great location in the quieter part of St. Kilda Road. Rooms were small but comfortable and the hotel had a great Italian restuarant and a french patisserie. There's a token gym but the location is near several parks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback. We genuinely appreciate your constructive comments and have passed your remarks on to all departments. We hope to welcome you back to The Blackman soon.
Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Excellent value for money. The Beds are to die for. The room was clean and well appointed. Staff were friendly, professional and provided great service. Good location just off St Kilda's Road.
The Cafe downstairs coped superbly with post ANZAC rush.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
John,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your positive feedback means the world to us and we’ve shared your comments with the team. We hope to see you next time you’re in town!
Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Blackman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.