We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Il be Backman!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Blackman

Save Saved
You added Art Series - The Blackman to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Il be Backman!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Location not ideal if you don't know your way around on the trams, but everything else surpassed our expectations- lovely decor throughout the hotel and great room. Room service was great- beautiful food- highly recommend the pizzas!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Sarah,
Thanks so much for your great review! We definitely try to exceed our guests’ expectations and we’re so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. See you next time!
Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    731
    261
    72
    17
    19
See reviews for
104
502
67
214
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australian in New York
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have had the privilege of staying here twice. Both times the service has been impeccable, the staff friendly and the room clean and pleasant. However last time we were there our room was amazing. We had a really large room with a curtain around the bed with a small dining table and a large balcony with a fabulous view. I love the quirkiness of The Blackman. I love the rabbits in the hallway, the beautiful art though out the hotel and the "i'm still sleeping' sign for the door. Quirky! Although both our stays were just two nights each, the bigger rooms are more like a small self contained apartment so would be great for a traveller staying a little longer. The hotel is very handy to two beautiful nearby parks for a morning stroll as well as a short walk up Toorak Rd to Chapel Street if you happen to have a win on the Melbourne Cup!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We love to hear such positive feedback in regards to the service we provide, the spaciousness off our rooms, and the general ambiance of the hotel! We’ve passed your encouraging comments on to the team.
We hope to welcome you back next time you’re in town!
Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We stay at the Blackman every time we head up to the city and it has never disappointed. It has the best service, best rooms and the best beds! Every time we have stayed we have been greeted like old friends and always walked away feeling very special. I will never stay anywhere else. I would recommend it to anyone and Everyone. Go visit!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Nicole and Ben,
Wow! Thank you so much for your great review. We definitely try to give all of our guests a personable and unrivalled experience and, we love that we’ve succeeded in making this your “home away from home”! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here for a week on business, the room was very comfortable and quiet, with some nice quirky touches. Staff were teriffic and the eateries very good also. The gym is a bit disappointing if you like a serious weights workout.

Room Tip: my room on the east side was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We strive to provide a unique and memorable experience for all of our guests, and we’re so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you next time you’re in Melbourne.
Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

In short - average room but a lovely hotel.

In detail - The Blackman is one of our favourite hotels in Melbourne. It's modern, the rooms are generally spacious and the parking charges are reasonable.

This time only my wife and I stayed and the hotel room was quite small compare to what we're used to at the Blackman. As we opened the door to the room in the semi-darkness we thought we had been allocated a suite. But them the lights came up and we realised that we were looking at a large mirror fixed to the wall that had obviously been installed to give the impression of space for what was quite an ordinary room.

The regular amenities were fine and the bed was comfortable.

We were both tired so we decided we would order room service and watch an in house movie. The room service food was top class. Better than the very average fair that many other hotels serve up.

Then we decided that we would kick our shoes off and lay on the bed to watch TV. The TV doesn't face the bed. Instead it extends out on a "scissor" type extension arm. Unfortunately not quite far enough. Due to the angle of the television we both had to squeeze together on one side of the bed to be able watch the movie together. There was also a bedhead that was mounted on the wall behind the bed. Unfortunately it was loose and rattled every time we moved on the bed.

The bathroom had one of the combined baths and showers with the shower over the bath. I really don't like them as they are neither a good shower or a good bath and I managed to bang my knee climbing out of the shower.

A tip. We thought our room was too hot even thought we had adjusted the AC via the buttons under the LCD screen. We didn't realise until we were about to leave that there was a separate "on button" slight away from the other buttons for the AC unit. We had assumed that the AC would come on as soon as we put the room key in the slot on the wall. Obviously we were wrong.

Finally, the credit card surcharge at 3.5 percent for AMEX is ridiculous. It should not be that much. Clearly the owners of the hotel think AMEX card holders can afford to pay more for their services. We are well aware that, whilst AMEX charges more to the hotels than other providers, it doesn't charge that much more than Visa.

There were just enough niggles this trip to dampen our enthusiasm for The Blackman ever so slightly.

Room Tip: Don't select room 1001.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property again. We love to hear both positive and constructive feedback, as we’re constantly looking for ways to improve our guests’ stays. We apologize that the room type didn’t fully fit your needs. If you return, (which we hope that you do!), we’d recommend that you contact our In-House Reservations department, so we can assist you in finding a room and bathroom that would best suit you and your partner.

We’d like to apologize as well for the issue you experienced with your bed frame. We can completely understand how this being loose would have a negative effect on your sleep, and we have addressed the issue with our maintenance team.

Thank you again for your all of your feedback. We hope to see you next time you’re in Melbourne.

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great service at check-in and Nick booked us one of the smart cars to use one day and also got us a reservation at a restaurant we wanted to go to.

Our room was great. Nice sea view and balcony, big spacious room, trendy design and a comfy bed.

The smart car was pretty cool. We took it down to Phillip Island for the day with no problems.

Fleur depot de pain was really good. Especially the french toast at breakfast. Probably the best french toast I've ever had.

Handy distance between the shops at st kilda and the city.

Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Anne Marie,
Thank you for your positive feedback and for your mention of Nick! We’ve passed your encouraging comments on to him and the rest of the team. We love to hear such great feedback in regards to the service we provide and the amenities we have to offer. Thanks again for taking the time to review our property and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Kimberly Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a few nights with my wife. We had really friendly service, the rooms and beds were amazing (we were upgraded which was great!) and it was overall a really nice stay. The hotel experience was really refreshing compared to other hotels I've stayed in recently. I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimmy W, Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your great review! We love to hear such encouraging feedback, and we’re so happy that you had a fantastic experience with us. Thank you again for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you next time!
Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Blackman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.