We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, great service, great rooms.......Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Blackman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Art Series - The Blackman to your Saves list
Art Series - The Blackman
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct Save 20%
Ranked #9 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, great service, great rooms.......Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The rooms are beautiful, art work is divine, beds are so comfortable, service was excellent, Mini bar reasonably priced great location for popping down to St Kilda or the City on a quick tram ride. Wish I had stayed longer

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for your great feedback. We love to celebrate Charles Blackman’s artwork with our guests, and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back to stay with us again, maybe for a longer visit!

Kimmy Walt
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    300
    80
    20
    19
See reviews for
119
546
73
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Blackman for a second time. This was our anniversary and a treat for my wife. We had a great stay and were so happy when Kelly gave us a bottle of wine to celebrate. The rooms are big and do have balconies. The location is ok but you do need transport if you want to go to the CBD. Classico also does great pizza too. Service was friendly. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, General Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. We strive to provide outstanding customer service, and we're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We understand that the location isn't directly in the City Centre, but we're just a short, scenic tram ride down leafy St. Kilda Road to access all of the main sights. Thank you again for celebrating your special occasion with us, and we hope to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is certainly stylish. I looked out of place in shorts and sandals but it made great entertainment to see everyone trying to out style each other in the lift. The check in was lacklustre (maybe it's not cool to seem too friendly) but the room was large and really comfortable and definitely a bit different. The problem with this place is it's not near anywhere, unless you think a 30-40 minute walk to anywhere is near. We were told at check in 'it's 20 minutes to everywhere from here'. It probably is, but not to anywhere you want to go. It's also next to St Kilda Road with its multi-lanes of endless traffic. Quiet and central it isn't. But it does have style.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We genuinely appreciate your feedback and are disappointed that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We aim to provide outstanding customer service, while offering a unique artsy experience for our guests- we always try to go the extra mile for our customers. Although we’re not directly in the city centre, one can access all of the main Melbourne sights within 10 minutes by tram. We also provide a complimentary shuttle into the city each morning, and hire smart cars and bicycles to make transportation even easier for our guests. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope you’ll give us a second chance!

Kimmy Walt
Assistant Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

From the moment we walked in it was amazing. An arty, elegant feel with a warm welcome from the concierge. We were early so we had a bite at Classico (the restaurant attached to the hotel). THE BEST SERVICE EVER! Emma was just amazing, quick & efficient with just a little time to chat to make us feel welcome. The food (antipasti selections) was lite and fresh.
We then made our way to the room which was just right. Later that afternoon we were given a bottle of Sparking to celebrate our occasion (Thank you Sean).
Our second visit to Classico was even better with Emma welcoming us back. This time we went for main dishes the prosciutto carbonara was to die for. It's the first time I've seen a pasta dish with just the right amount of meat. Not just a sliver or two on top I mean plenty tossed all through the dish. The salmon was delightful and the roast potatoes were classic.
From attentive front of house to and elegant hotel I can't recommend this place enough. I m dying to go back and can't wait to check out the rest of the Art Series hotels. I hope they are all as good as the Blackman.

Thanks to all
(and a big thanks to Emma)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, General Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Across all of the property we do try and offer efficient, friendly and genuine service to all of our guests. I'm glad that we could make your anniversary a special one for you and I hope we'll see you for the next one. Thank you for mentioning Emma and Sean; they do a great job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice staff, great little cafe downstairs -great coffee!. Had a corner room; two sets of glass doors and two balconies was nice. Central to many things but not near anything. Tram stop directly across the street. Common space (elevator landings) and some furniture is starting to show some wear. Comfortable bed. Nice perk to have a Smart car available to rent for the day.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, General Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It sounds like you had one of our larger executive suites. These certainly are nice, with the balcony offering some nice fresh air and a place to sit and watch the sun go down. We are currently in the middle of a preventative mainteance plan which will involve updating some of the furnishing and public carpets and tiles. This will keep the hotel looking fresh and updated. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country Vic
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed here recently for 2 nights after getting a really good rate on Wotif.Com. On arrival, the front desk was a bit ho hum - informing me the balcony room I had ordered was not available and I was 'upgraded' to a King Room. Now I like a big bed but dislike the old 2 singles zipped together and that is what I got - so no points there guys. The room was full of art and magazines, and had a handy kitchenette reasonably well stocked.
Opened the glass cupboard and it smelled like fish - so I had to wash all of the glasses and mugs before I could use them.
The Cafe's below were pretty good for breakfast - and the walking distance to town was about 35 to 40 minutes.
Hard to give it full marks, hard to give a 1 - so in the middle for this one.

Room Tip: Ask not to get twins zipped togheter - it is always lumpy in the middle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, General Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer us some useful feedback. There are some simple things that we can do to ensure these smaller issues don't happen again. I really appreciate hearing it from a seasoned traveller such as yourself. We will certainly take this on board for future guests. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

What a shame! This could have been a five star review!
I booked this hotel for an overnight stay through wotif.com. My circumstances were that I was flying back into Melbourne from o/s and my first appointment the next day was at 3pm. Wotif.com were advertising a special at the Blackman which included a 2pm check-out. This seemed perfect! For once I could stay at a hotel in Australia (normally 10 - 11:00am check-out) and sleep off the jet lag! On arrival I was very impressed - quite new, great atmosphere, nice gym, and terrific location. My only negative observation was the bottle of drinking water beside the bed, which I first assumed to be complimentary, had a $3 price tag on it!! (I don't think your Asian travellers would be too impressed with this!). As expected, jet lag was an issue and it was after 6am by the time I finally dropped off, content in the knowledge that I could sleep in. UNTIL JUST AFTER 9 AM when the door rattled and opened DESPITE the 'Do Not Disturb' sign on the door. I leaped out of bed to find two young men standing there who said they were from "maintenance". Apparently there'd been a "mistake" and their 'sheet' indicated the room was vacant (this despite the sign on the door and an express checkout envelope on the floor in from of the room). Awake, fuzzy and annoyed at this stage I sent them off with the directive to update their 'sheet'. I also called reception to let them know and, again, issued instructions to update their records. Knowing I wouldn't be able to get back to sleep for a while, I ordered a quick breakfast and then went back to bed to try to get another hours sleep. UNTIL 10:30AM WHEN ANOTHER EMPLOYEE JUST LET HIMSELF IN TO 'CHECK THE MINI-BAR'! I'd had it by this stage - the records hadn't been updated and staff were just going to let themselves in and out all morning no matter what I did. Thoroughly annoyed and fuzzy from lack of sleep and being jolted awake every thirty seconds by staff in my room, I demanded to see the Manager - eventually spoke to 'Nick' who was apologetic and has since sent me an email to try to smooth the waters. I may give the Blackman another chance but this review is based on my experiences of this stay - which were terrible. I'm willing to forgive one mistake but when it continues to happen as a result of lazy or careless staff who could have fixed things simply by correcting the room status on their records, then that indicates a systemic problem with staff training and/or attitude.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGouin, General Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
As Russell the reviewer has mentioned I have spoken with him, both on the day of departure and since then to rectify the situation. We are very confident that this is not an on-going issue within the hotel and we are sure that if Russell returns he will enjoy his experience. We are doing everything we can to ensure this does not happen again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Blackman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.