We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay in trendy surroundings!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Blackman

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Art Series - The Blackman to your Saves list
Art Series - The Blackman
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct Save 20%
Ranked #10 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Reading, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay in trendy surroundings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Positives of our stay:
Luxurious room
Very friendly staff
Extremely convenient area, close to trams
State of the art decor and quality furnishings
Strongly recommended
No negatives
We had a brilliant stay here, the staff were more than happy to help with restaurant bookings. Book this hotel and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    306
    83
    20
    19
See reviews for
121
548
73
254
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Blackman for 2 nights recently and I could not have asked for more! The Room was spacious and very comfortable, staff were friendly and it located directly across from the tram line. The hotel also provides a number of fun transportation option, you can take bikes out for a ride to St Kilda (or wherever), or hire the scooters or smartcar. My partner and I really enjoyed our stay and are happy to recommend it to anyone wanting to be close enough to the city for it to be convenient, but far enough away so that it is quiet and relaxed.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

It was our second visit to The Blackman this weekend.

Good
We borrowed 2 hotel bicycles to cycle around Albert Park.
Deluxe King Suite is stylishly decorated & well laid out, comfy bed and everything you need.
Quick check-in, check-out and good service at the cafe downstairs too.
Good jogging circuit in Fawkner Park too.

Bad
1.5% surcharge on credit cards, 3.5% on Amex - I hate these - unless you happen to carry round $500 for this and $500 for that then it's not an optional charge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Finally! A hotel that shines artistic attention to detail. Friendly efficient staff, beautiful presentation, modern, vital and original presentation too. I will never be satisfied with staying in a 'normal' hotel again after this experience. Quality abounds. I will only stay in these hotels from now on. Wish I could linger longer. Kim Falconer-Brown.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had a lovely stay Jan 25 - 28. It was very 'home coming', as the minute you walked in there was a beautiful fragrance in the air - in the lobby as well as our room. Our modern room, theArt/ paintings around - just lovely. Love the Bunny Rabbit scattered around corners in hotel. Have to mention too, love the alarm clock.. the buzz comes in softly first .... :-) It is abit expensive - approx $270 a night ( so join Priority Guest Rewards and get some discount) but well worth it and so convenient with the tram line into city just 2 mins walk away. We had breakfast at the Fleur ... hmmmm yummy!
So do it , no second thoughts.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

A triple room in many hotels is just a double room with a spare bed, crammed and with limited space. That's not the case at the Art Hotel, with a fantastic room with two queen beds separated by the bathroom, almost a two bedroom apartment! The style of the hotel is great, modern and elegant, and the continental breakfast was the best I ever had in an hotel. Staff friendly and automatic checkup a plus.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed at Blackman Hotel for 3 nights after spending a week at Crown Promenade. Must say, was a little reluctant to move hotels especially to one I'd never heard of before but I needn't have worried. The twin room we were given had 2 queen sized beds - perfect for 2 adults 2 kids - and was huge. We had a living area with a table and full sized fridge with dishwasher and also 2 balconies. Tram stop just outside the hotel as well. Would definately recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want a bigger room for a young family of 4, ask for twin room with 2 queen beds side by side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Blackman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.