We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good, stylish and comfortable out of city hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Blackman

Save Saved
You added Art Series - The Blackman to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct Save 20%
Ranked #8 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A good, stylish and comfortable out of city hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

About ten minutes outside of the centre of Melbourne by tram, just off the St Kilda Road, this stylish hotel made a very comfortable base for our stay in Melbourne. Really helpful staff made our stay even better! The room we had was very comfortable, with great views from the 12th floor! Styled on a self-contained suite basis the room had all you could need as a visitor and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. Clean, modern and stylish the room was 'themed' with paintings by Charles Blackman. We had breakfast each day in the adjoining Italian style restaurant - very good food. We also chose to eat here on two evenings because the food and the atmosphere were great. Just make sure you ask at reception for advice about using the tram system - it is essential if you choose to stay in this hotel and for a first time visitor to Melbourne not too user friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
It really sounds like you had a wonderful time here, whilst staying with us at the Blackman.
Thank you for taking the time to write and let everyone know about your experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in Melbourne.
Warm regards,
Julie Dale
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    275
    77
    20
    19
See reviews for
112
523
71
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Have stayed here 4 or 5 times over the last couple of years and mostly it is good. As per other comments the beds are very comfortable as are the pillows. We usually travel as a family and the twin rooms with a queen bed on each side of the bathroom works well for us. I think they are the rooms ending in 04 ie 804/904 etc. I quite like the rooms they do have a feeling of luxury and are well maintained. The area for sitting is a little small.

The things that did bother me a bit on our last visit was the variety of attitudes at the service counter. Sometimes you get a person who is very helpful and nice and other times they don't seem to care. The system doesn't seem to note any notes you may have made when you booked - which can be quite frustrating to have to ask again. The other thing i find a bit rich is the amount you are charged for parking. $25/night to me is way too expensive especially when they also rent out car places to local business people for $14 /day. Sometimes the parking is quite full which makes it tricky to find a park. Our stay for 3 nights ended up being $666 which exceeds what i like to pay for 3 nights away from the CBD area.

Room Tip: The twin rooms with the bathroom in the middle are good for families 804/904 etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us.
We love to hear all feedback - both positive and negative. All comments have been noted and will be discussed further at our next staff meeting.
We do hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Warm regards,
Julie Dale
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed here as a single business traveller for 2 nights. The room was rather odd in that it had a full kitchenette within it which made it feel a bit like a student bed sit.
The bathroom was very small but as another reviewer has pointed out the bed was extremely comfortable.
The breakfast shop beside the reception was OK but I wouldnt put it better than that.
I did emjoy the art they have dotted around the place including the rooms, but all in all its nothing special.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us.
There were both positive and negative feedback in your review, of which we appreciate hearing all comments.
We do hope that you will choose to stay with us again.
Kind regards,
Julie Dale
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is not in the centre of Melbourne so if you need to be in the CBD it might not be convenient. If you prefer to stay somewhere quiet, but close enough to Toorak than its a good option. The rooms are modern and stylish, very clean with nice touches including a kitchenette. Beds are comfortable, bathrooms are clean and modern.... Make sure to read the bottles of your toiletries for light entertainment. Overall I would recommend it, it's not of 5 star standard but it's got a nice Melbourne style to it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the great review you have written.
It sounds like you enjoyed yourself here at the Blackman.
The toilities are a new product that we are using - a little bit different! I am pleased you have made a comment on them. I will pass this on.
Hopefully we will see you again when next in Melbourne.
Warm regards,
Julie Dale
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed at the Blackman for 8 days and enjoyed the experience very much. I choose a studio suite with a balcony and was give a corner room with a view of the water. The corner room proved to be much nicer than some of the photos I have seen of the interior suites. The staff was very friendly but I wouldn't say that they provided "5 star" service. The hotel itself is fun, everything is artistic and themed. I found it to be one of the cleanliest hotels I have ever visited. The location is good but not with in walking distance to very much, though, there is a trolley stop near by. I would stay at the Blackman again and I would recommend it to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am pleased to read that you had a great time whilst staying here at the hotel.
I agree - the corner rooms have the most amazing view. They are my favourite rooms as well.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
Julie Dale
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Blackman for one night which we booked through Hotel Club. We had a studio apartment with a balcony, partially overlooking the river. I must say I didn't expect it to be such a treat! The views were fantastic, service was friendly but proffessional and quick. I had the best sleep since months. Room and bathroom were clean and ready for us. I think the only complaint is that we had to pay 25 dollars for parking at sight. If I knew we would have been charged for it, I would have probably just parked down the road where I work....
Overall, I'd recommend this hotel to family and friends and would love to stay here again.
Thank you

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
It is lovely to read that you had a wonderful stay here at the Blackman. Thank you for letting us know.
We look forward to seeing you again when you have your next night out in town!
Regards,
Julie Dale
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Wanting a night out in my home town and we couldn't have picked a nicer place to stay than the Blackman. Great location for any activity from a morning stroll around Albert Park lake to whatever evening entertainment you want in St Kilda just a quick tram ride away. We asked for a room with a bath and the staff provided us with a great room on the 16th floor. We also asked for the late checkout (till 4pm) which was a wonderful way to stretch out that weekend a little bit longer and good value. Very comfy beds and quirky mini-bar. This is value for money for the luxury end of hotels in Melbourne. I have stayed at all 3 art series hotels and they are full of personality and style for those that just done want the bland hotel experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am glad we could accommdate you with a Late Checkout, to extend the night's stay for you.
Have you heard about Overstay You're Welcome -
Experience the world's latest checkout!!!!
Check it out, for next time!
We look forward to seeing you here again soon.
Kind regards,
Julie Dale
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Blackman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.