We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Blackman

Save Saved
You added Art Series - The Blackman to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct Save 20%
Ranked #7 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
North of Auckland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Excellent hotel with great facilities in great location. Helpful staff & great food. View from penthouse was awesome. If you are a fan of abstract/modern art then this is teh place for you, wall to wall Blackman art here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
Lucky you - Staying in the Penthouse. I must agree - the Suite and the View is just amazing.
I hope you had a jacuzzi!!!!
We are very lucky to have the hotel named after Charles Blackman and to have his works all throughout the hotel.
We will see you again.
Warm regards,
Julie Dale
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    750
    269
    75
    18
    19
See reviews for
111
513
70
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel as the last leg of our honeymoon. Based on the comments from TripAdvisor, we had decided to book this hotel even if it was not directly located in the downtown area. I personally loved the sleek and modern look of the hotel we saw on other travelers’ pictures. This hotel did not disappoint at all!! From the moment that we were greeted, which included complimentary champagne for us to celebrate our honeymoon, and a spacious, comfortable and very well located room (corner room on floor 13), we truly enjoyed every minute of our stay!! The hotel is very clean (and I have high standards), has very comfortable beds and a nice fully equipped kitchen, and is very stylish. The staff is attentive and friendly. I enjoyed the location of the hotel, as it was on a fairly quiet street and it was super easy and quick for us to get downtown using the Tram, which is just a few steps away from the hotel. All in all, I would definitely recommend The Blackman hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
A honeymoon to remember! Staying at the Blackman hotel. It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves, which is fantastic to hear. The staff will love it.
Please do come back and stay with us again!!! - Maybe on your 1st wedding anniversary.See you then.
Warm regards,
Julie Dale
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

All rooms at the Blackman have self-catering facility making it an excellent choice if you want an opportunity to for independence during your stay. The rooms are generous in size with high quality appointments. What the hotel lacks in extras such a concierge or swimming pool it makes up for with bucket loads of style and home comforts when away from home. There is also an excellent bistro and cafe next to the hotel if you wish to dine out. Hotel about 2.5 km from CBD is connected by numerous trams or on a sunny day it’s a pleasant walk to the centre.

Only disappointment was no free Wi-Fi. The hotel internet charge is $9.95 for 24 hours or $3.50 an hour! I have stayed in many hotels around the world that provide complimentary internet access at least in public areas. But this is rare in Australian hotels. Not a good look.

Room Tip: Rooms on upfloor facing St Kilda Rd provide excellent views but not too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thankyou for the wonderful review from your recent stay with us at the Blackman.
I will pass on your comments to management in regards to the charge for internet use.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Warm regards,
Julie Dale
Duty Manager
I
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

What an amazing place! Stayed in Melbourne to do some site seeing and shopping. On the first day we caught the tram into the city - less than 10 mins journey and the tram stop is a minute walk from the hotel. I don't like to stay in the hustle and bustle of the city so
The Blackman was the perfect location and with unbelievable views of Albert Park and bay.
We caught the number 72 tram which dropped us right in the centre of Chapel st.
The team at the front desk were just lovely. Check in and out was smooth and easy and the information we received about what was happening in the area was great.
Our room felt cosy and the beds and pillows were amazing - the hotel actually sells them. We will be ordering some for sure!
We didn't want to leave but all great things must come to an end.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the luxury of a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
WOW, you certainly had a wonderful time whilst staying here with us at the Blackman.
The staff will love to hear these comments, of which, I will pass on to them.
Please let us know if you wish to purchase the bedding/manchester. I agree, it is just beautiful- and makes you not want to get out of bed in the morning!
We will see you next time you are in Melbourne.
Warm wishes,
Julie Dale
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

No service to speak of, no care about people that stay at their hotel. All they are worried about is the money. They will charge you an arm and a leg for absolutely nothing, four walls of nothing. Stay away, you are better off somewhere else. I would rate them nil not one if I could.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haylee J, Assistant Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Our hotel general manager, Mr Lee Davey, would like you to contact him direct, to speak in person about the comments you have made regarding your recent stay at the hotel.
This is not an impression we want any of our guests to leave with.
He can be contacted on 03 90391444 or lee_davey@artserieshotels.com.au.

Kind Regards
Haylee Jarrott
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My partner and I stayed just last night and enjoyed it so much felt the need to write a review as soon as we got home.
Reception were very friendly helpful and knowledgeable about the area and sites. Our room was beautiful a perfect romantic night in with a bottle of wine,movie, balcony over looking Albert park and room service.
We will be back again.

Room Tip: A room with a view is a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am very pleased to read your review, and that you had a wonderful and relaxing stay here at the Blackman.
Please do come back and stay with us again, on your next visit to Melbourne.
Warm regards,
Julie Dale
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Recently spent a night at the Blackman Hotel in Melbourne, we stayed in a Studio Balcony Room. The rooms are very comfortable, excellent bed and small kitchenette. Very functional albeit small bathroom. The hotel has a small gym which is adequate with a good selection of equipment. Located just off St Kilda road there are a number of restaurants and cafes nearby, but it would be hard to go past the cafe in the lobby which has an excellent selection and was great for Sunday morning breakfast. The hotel is walking distance to Chapel St (20 min walk) and the CBD (30 min walk) which is great, but if you are not into walking the tram stop is less than 5 min away making getting around very easy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this comment about your recent visit to the Blackman.

It certainly sounds like you had a lovely time, and you enjoyed yourself, which is great to hear.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Warm regards,
Julie Dale
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Blackman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.