We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great girls' weekend away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Blackman

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Art Series - The Blackman to your Saves list
Art Series - The Blackman
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT SAVE 20%
Ranked #14 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
melbourne
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great girls' weekend away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I have just returned from 3 nights at The Blackman over Derby Day weekend, which must be one of their busiest times during the year, compounded by the Qantas fiasco. The staff handled it all with aplomb, were exceptionally pleasant and helpful, even allowing me to use their front desk computer to book a flight home on Virgin so that I was sure to get home in time. When we arrived back from the races at 9.30pm on Saturday night and my friend wanted a rollaway bed, they willingly brought it up and made up the bed, despite the late request.

There are a number of good services that the hotel has, including an 8am shuttle run to the city (you must book), which another of my friends used. The two cafes downstairs were very nice - there is a French bakery staffed primarily by French speakers, and also a more Italian place. We only had a drink in the Italian place, but the pizzas smelled divine!

The room was pretty nice, the bed was very comfortable. We had a deluxe twin or something like that - two queen sized beds - it was a little cozy for 3 adults with the roller bed in as well, but reasonably spacious for a city hotel.

The hotel is in a great location, only 50 metres from the tram into the city (and the hotel desk sells tickets - a saviour when you don't have change on you), and close to Albert Park Lake. It was near everywhere we wanted to go - St Kilda, Albert Park, Chapel Street, the city.

The only reason I don't rate it 5 out of 5 is that I save those ratings for "luxury" hotels, which this is not. But for a great inner city location with super staff, you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, November 5, 2011
Thank you for this fabulous and informative review on you recent stay at The Blackman. It was wonderful to hear that we made your stay very enjoyable and that you were able to experience so much of the local area. I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Blackman very soon.
Kind Regards,
Ben Ezard, Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    349
    92
    24
    20
See reviews for
139
606
79
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

From Serge Gainsborough echoing throughout the hallways, to the soft as a cloud beds, the little mirrored rabbits that appear everywhere, to the art books left in your room to read. This is a hotel for people that like things just a little different. We were wonderfully received with the news that we had been upgraded to a junior suite, so first impressions were great. The lifts to your floor are just beautiful and the room itself was lovely, the kitchen area well equipped, the settee very comfortable and the bed - like a cloud, just pure heaven. The bathroom was the only slight disappointment, but only because of the size, but it all worked perfectly well, and the doors to the bathroom are just lovely. Would I stay here again? Certainly would. Would I recommend it to others? In a heartbeat. The staff were ALL very helpful and friendly too.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Thankyou so much for your wonderful review on the hotel. We have set out to create a unique and inspiring art experience and it sounds like you have noticed it.

Our Art Series signature bedding is available for purchase at any time. The beds themselves were commissioned specifically for the Art Series Hotels.

I am very sorry to hear that the bathroom was a slight disappointment, but I am happy to hear that it worked perfectly well. This feedback will be made known to the team during our meetings so thankyou for bringing it to our attention.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for many more stays to come.

Warmest Regards,

Sean Farrow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

The most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. My third stay and the big, soft pillows and thick, luxurious doona over a cloud like bed, make this the most restful hotel I have ever visited.
No road noise or sounds from adjoining rooms. Large, clean rooms with balconies overlooking the Lake or City, each with a good size balcony.
Efficient, unpretentious staff.
Can't wait for my next stay! Perfect!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Thankyou very much for your positive review on the Hotel. The owners of the group spent many hours with a bedding manufacturer to create the Art Series Signature bedding range, and we are so glad you enjoyed it.

The many aspects you have mentioned, is appreciated and we are so happy that you are looking forward to another stay with us.

Kind regards,

Sean Farrow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

This hotel was just lovely. The staff were friendly, helpful and attentive at all times. The room was just plain gorgeous. The bed was very hard to get out off, the doona kept refusing to let me get up. And the view was lovely the style of the rooms with the beautiful art was superb. i would stay here again in a flash.

Room Tip: Any of the corner rooms have extra good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thankyou very kindly for your wonderful feedback. I am so glad to hear that the staff were attentive and overall you had positive stay.

It is also great to hear that the bedding achieved what it was set out to do, making it "hard to get out of".

We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Sean Farrow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

The Blackman hotel is the kind of boutique hotel experience that is hard to find in Australia. If you've ever stayed at the Emporium Hotel in Brisbane, it's just as good (if not a little better)! My husband and I spotted a super keen deal online and managed to find ourselves in the Penthouse for our Saturday night stay. It was beautiful - decked out with three leather sofas, a wrap around balcony, private spa, walk-in wardrobe and full kitchen. Nearly every inch of wall space throughout the rooms and in the hotel halls and lobby are covered with Charles Blackman prints. The service was excellent and I was even treated with a complimentary bottle of sparkling for my birthday! P.S. If you go to stay, don't go past the little French cafe Fleur on the ground floor. Have the French toast for breakfast - you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Ask for a view over Albert Park - you can see all the way out to the port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
I wanted to thankyou for your very kind review. I was pleased to read your comments about the hotel and your stay.

Our Penthouses have only newly had some furniture changed over so I am so happy to hear you enjoyed it.

There are so many aspects of your review that brings a smile to my face and your comments will be shared with the team. It is exciting to hear the staff, the room and the restaurants were able to deliver a "glamorous" stay for you and your husband.

We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future

Warmest regards,

Sean Farrow
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Stayed in a one bedroom suite, and the place was immaculate, nice size rooms and balcony was a good size. Bathroom is pretty tight, but that is being really picky, it was really nice though.

Location wise it is very good, short cab into the city or stkilda, not far from botantic gardens and Albert park.

Staff were friendly and did give me a late checkout without any dramas

It was pretty pricey, so based on value for money is the reason I gave it 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

The hotel is only 12 months old and everything looks as new. The hotel is completely filled with cool art from Charles Blackman which creates a unique atmosphere that is not often seen in a hotel. Great facilities and plenty of room. The furniture is state-of-the art and the service is excellent. Extra services such as internet and parking are not expensive. The staff is very enthousiastic and fit well in the trendy and modern art atmosphere. Really enjoyed staying here, I picked this hotel based on earlier tripadvisor reviews and would recommend anyone to stay here for the perfect Melbourne experience. One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Blackman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.