We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Blackman

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Art Series - The Blackman to your Saves list
Art Series - The Blackman
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct Save 20%
Ranked #9 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

This place just made it enjoyable for us to stay for our honeymoon. Me and my husband thoroughly enjoyed it. being two Singaporeans with no knowledge of melbourne the satff was extremely helpful... Scott the manager was pleasant... he accomodated our requests. The fact that we wanted to drive around the hotel had its own smart cars for us to rent hassle free was amazing.. it was not even expensive.. it was like 60AUD a day for us to drive around.. and its just ten minutes to the city... after a long day it was a perfect place to go back to... made us feel like home... a pleasant stay indeed...

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the golf course... beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    286
    78
    20
    19
See reviews for
115
532
72
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This was my second stay at the Blackman and I would highly recommend to anyone. Check in is smooth and fast, the room is beautiful and the staff are so friendly, approachable and polite. The consistent theme and attention to detail is what makes this hotel so great - it has personality. Oh - the bed too is spectacular. Best hotel bed I've ever slept on.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed at The Blackmann for a full week - Hotel is nice looking and centrally placed - Rooms are well equipped and nice to have the small tea kitchen with fridge, freezer etc there.
Room cleaning not too thorough though - noticed some small pieces of glass various places on the carpet the first day and despite telling at the front desk these were never vacuumed up properly.
Hotel has a very nice cafe with good service - Also has a restaurant however the food is rather non tasting and flat - Same restaurant which provides food for room service wherefore this food also quite uninteresting.
Room service menu is not huge and could in personal opinion do with a steak dish.
Generally speaking the hotel has to looks and appearance and could be really good however fails on the points mentioned

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

A business associate and I spent the last two weeks of July at the Blackman and enjoyed every minute. Our 10th floor room was large and well appointed, with two very comfortable queen beds (mine was, at least), a table, desk, kitchenette and a balcony with a view of the sea, if we leaned out and twisted to the left. The HVAC was silent and maintained a constant, comfortable temperature and humidity level. One weak spot was the layout of the overhead lighting, which seemed more artistic than practical. There was no light over the desk or table, but one shined directly in my face while I was in bed.
The staff was attentive, courteous and helpful. I arrived before 8AM, after a flight from the States, and was in my room, which had been occupied the night before, by 10. The desk clerk also structured our internet charge to our advantage, basing it on the monthly, rather than daily or weekly, rate (wi -fi is rarely free anywhere in Australia, a shock to an American!) .
In its lobby, halls and rooms, the hotel displays prominently the works of Charles Blackman, an artist previously unknown to me, but one I was delighted to discover. Attached to the lobby is a wine bar that also serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The dinner menu, the only one I know, is short but the choices are well prepared. Also attached to the lobby is a coffee shop with great coffee and a good choice of pastries. The hotel is located about a mile south of downtown Melbourne, but trams run up St. Kilda Road every few minutes.
If I return to Melbourne, the Blackman is the first place I'll look for a room. It's worth the flight over.

Room Tip: Review photos of the rooms on the Hotel's website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011 via mobile

choosing a hotel in a place you've never been to is very tricky. We were lucky to find this great place. The room was beautifully designed, yet unlike most designed places was very very comfortable. It felt as is every little detailed was thought of. The location is close to the city center by tram but far enough to enjoy parks &open areas.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This is our second stay at The Blackman. The hotel is just gorgeous, the staff are wonderful and so helpful. We have stayed in both the Delux Studio apartment and the Junior Suite - both excellent. The furnishing and artwork is really lovely and creates such a nice ambiance. Being an apartment hotel this meant that we had so many options available. Enjoying the wonderful room service, the restaurant at the hotel, dining at one of the many local resaturants or buying lots of lovely things from Victoria Markets, preparing them in the kitchenette, having a glass of wine and dining on the balcony.

The bed was so wonderfully comfortable and the bathroom spacious and lovely - so perfect for a bit of romance ;-)

After moving from another hotel we realised that it is so important to be in perfect surrounds when you're on holiday and the Blackman has never let us down.

The only down side is that you may need your own transport however again there are so many options. You can hire the Blackman's Smart Car, push bikes or Scooters and there is no problem at all in finding public transport options.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

My husband & I stayed here for our wedding anniversary and absolutely loved everything about it! From the unique artwork throughout the hotel to the attention to detail in each room, they really have thought of everything here, to make your stay one to remember.
We stayed in a standard room but it was still more more than spacious enough for just the two of us. Gorgeous decor and amenities - loved the kitchenette facilities - a definite plus! The bed was like sleeping on a cloud!! One of the best nights sleep I have had in a hotel ever.
Great location - great staff - very efficient & friendly with our requests - loved the smart car available for hire - what a great idea!!! We will definitely be back - next time we think we will bring the kids - they would love the arty touch to the hotel! And the checkout time of 11am was just the best - it was lovely to have our continental breakfast on the balcony, reading the paper while enjoying the sun rising over the Melbourne skyline on a Sunday morning - without the usual rush of packing up to checkout!
We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to stay in Melbourne!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Venere, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Blackman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.