We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Family Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Series - The Blackman

Save Saved
You added Art Series - The Blackman to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct Save 20%
Ranked #7 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Family Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011 via mobile

Our family of four (two kids aged 3 & 6) stayed at The Blackman for 3 nights in a Deluxe Studio Suite Twin Balcony room.

We were impressed from the minute we walked in. Check-in was easy, staff were very pleasant and welcoming. The kids loved receiving their special gift upon check-in (and then again later at check-out)!

Staff were apologetic for our room not being ready (we arrived early) & after we returned from quickly grabbing some lunch, we were able to go up to our room.

The rooms were beautiful, modern & featured colourful artwork on the walls. It was also nice to see art books in the room. The kitchenette was well equipped & the fridge was a great size - plenty of room for some drinks/snacks for the kids given the already well stocked section by the hotel. Beds & pillows were comfy and the room size was certainly enough for our family. The bathroom was well stocked with amenities.

My only criticisms would be the bathrooms are a little on the smaller size, there are no luggage stands & there weren't enough hangers in the wardrobe. But to me these are small things & nothing that can't be sorted out over 4 days with a little imagination!

The staff were great & nothing was too much trouble. They were great with the kids & engaged them at every opportunity, which made us feel fantastic that they could be seen & heard (as opposed to seen & not heard!).

Fleur Depot de Pain downstairs is great for breakkie or a coffee, and the room service we received from Classico for dinner was nice.

Traveling on the trams was so easy staying at the Blackman - a stop right across the road & at max. we only had to take two trams to get to where we wanted to go.

We love Melbourne & have visited many times before. We loved The Blackman & would stay again in a heartbeat. It has definitely been one of the best hotels we have stayed at in Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Thank you for this wonderful review. It was great to hear that your whole family were able to enjoy all that The Blackman has to offer, we love having children around and getting them to contribute to our guest "Art Wall".
I was very pleased to learn that your dealings with staff were all fantastic and that we were able to assist where possible.
Your constructive feedback will be discussed at our next team meeting as we are constantly looking at new ways to improve every guests experience with us.
Thank you once again for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Melbourne.
Kind Regards,
Ben Ezard, Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    749
    268
    75
    18
    19
See reviews for
110
513
70
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portlaoise, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed here with my mum and sister. The rooms are spacious and gorgeous. The twin room catered perfectly for two people sleeping separately, as both beds were divided by the en-suite and one bed had the option of pulling a curtain around it. There was also a TV situated at the foot of each bed. The double room was more like a mini suite, with a table and chairs and soft comfy seating also. As with most accommodations in Australia, the rooms also had kitchenettes and in the case of this hotel, as is fitting with its style, they were well equipped and stylish. The en-suites are also spacious and have cool art prints on their glass partitions. The staff are extremely helpful and efficient. The rooms also have reverse cycle air conditioning so we had some much needed heat in our rooms. The beds were the most comfortable we experienced on all our travels around Australia. I managed to get an excellent deal on this hotel so watch our for sites such as expedia for these. We also upgraded to rooms with balconies (which had little bistro tables and chairs on them and would be gorgeous in the summer time), which was well worth the extra money, especially for the double room. We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel but there is a small cafe less than a two minute walk from the hotel and it had lovely breakfasts which were reasonably priced. There was a tram stop just across the road too. Very handy! The only downside was that there was no free wireless internet, which I believe should just come as standard, especially in this standard (and price) of hotel but I would recommend the Art Series Blackman to anyone (especially if you get it at the right price!)

Room Tip: Look for good deals on this one, pay a little extra for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, July 23, 2011
Thank you for this fantastic and in-depth review on your recent stay at The Blackman. I was very happy to learn that you loved every minute of your stay with us. Our Deluxe twin studio suites are just perfect for families. It is wonderful to hear more fantastic comments on our wonderful bedding.
Thank you once again for this fabtastic review. I do hope that we get the chance to welcome you back the next time you visit Australia.
Regards,
Ben Ezard, Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

First trip to Melbourne and first trip on my own... to this very cool hotel... hotel staff so friendly and helpful...and really just got better... was totally delghted with my room,.. so much bigger than had anticapted, really cool decor so clean and warm..great bathroom top shower presure...and plus to have balcony ..was a real treat to stay ... i for sure will return soon .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Blackman. I was very happy to hear such positive feeback about our spacious and modern rooms. The most pleasing comments were on our helpful and friendly team, we are striving to provide the best possible service to our guests at all times and feedback like this is greatly appreciated. We look forward to your return to Melbourne and hopefully The Blackman in the not to distant future.
Kind Regards,
Ben Ezard, Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here early this year and it was really lovely. Great 5 star facilities and nice staff. It is our favourite hotel in Melbourne, only downside is it isn't as central as some others, but none compare. I liked the quirkiness of the alice in wonderland artworks and jazz music playing. It is also extremely clean :)
I would definitely recommend this hotel to people staying in Melbourne, you won't find better.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you for this review on your recent stay at The Blackman. It was very pleasing to know that even though it has been a little while since you stayed, you are still thinking about the wonderful time you had here. Mr Blackman's artwork creates a wonderful experience and talking point for our guests, the music we have playing just adds that little bit of extra ambience.
I love that you will have no hesitation in recommending us and we look forward to seeing you back with us very soon.
Kind Regards,
Ben Ezard, Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011 via mobile

My husband and two kids stayed at the Blackman for three nights and cannot fault the rooms or service: simply superb!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you for this fabulous review on your stay at The Blackman. I do hope that we can welcome you back very soon.
Kind Regards,
Ben Ezard, Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

The Blackman is one of those hotels you want to tell everyone about but are terrified to do so because it runs the risk of it being full to capacity on the day you want to stay there. I am so impressed with this place, in every way it is just perfect for me. I've done a lot of travelling recently in Australia (think I'll buy shares in Qantas) and have stayed in hotels of a similar pricing offering rather less in terms of comfort and service but the thing about the Blackman Hotel is that it just looks great too. Of course the beds are to die for, the furnishings are pop-art in styling, the food is just fab (Italian restaurant that also provides room service), the staff are just perfect in their attention (not too intrusive, not too remote) and always with a lovely manner.

I'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_Ezard, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review on The Blackman. It really sounds like you had a wonderful time with us and we look forward to your return. I loved hearing your comments on our staff, we aim to provide the highest level of service possible and it sounds like we are well on the way to doing so. Thank you once again for this amazing review.
Kind Regards,
Ben Ezard, Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011 via mobile

The Blackman was one of the highlights of our trip to Melbourne. The hotel is beautifully furnished with Charles Blackman's prints - we were tempted to get some - and classic designer furniture. But what we enjoyed even more was the sincere, enthusiastic service by the Blackman staff. Chanelle deserves special mention. She went out of her way to recommend restaurants and make bookings for us. All her recommendations were spot on. Thanks Chanelle and the Blackman team for a truly memorable stay.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Address: 452 St Kilda Road | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Series - The Blackman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.