We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky apartment with nice rooms but shoe-horned between high-rises” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fraser Place Melbourne to your Saves list
Fraser Place Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   19 Exploration Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quirky apartment with nice rooms but shoe-horned between high-rises”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Good value for money and well located for shops and restaurants (fringe of Chinatown). Disadvantages are the outlook (other high-rises across a very narrow street) and the early morning noise from bin lorries taking the tight corner on their way to a refuse centre. That starts at about 5.30am and defeats the soundproofing. It is amazing that they can fit so many apartments into such a small footprint, but the rooms are spacious and well equipped.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    276
    62
    24
    11
See reviews for
54
263
53
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

We stayed at Cube Apartments for 2 nights. The rooms have very nice modern designs even though they are quite small. But just for a couple nights thats all we needed. I'm not sure I liked the frosted glass on the bathroom door/wall, it felt a bit creepy when you had to use the loo!

The reception on our TV was very dodgy for the free-to-air stations, we would have gone down to say something but didn't watch that much tv so didn't worry about it.

We didn't really speak to the reception staff except for checking in and out, and one of them called me as we were going to have to collect our room key from a night safe as we were arriving after 10.00 pm. However we arrived just in time. I didn't find them overly friendly to us but they weren't rude or anything.

The apartments are in a good location (close to many things, eg tram, bourke st mall, melbourne central), although the laneway is a bit creepy at night when you have to come and go at night time.

To summarise, it was very clean except a few stains on the carpet, and the rooms look nice and modern, it was a good deal as we paid $120 a night, I probably wouldn't pay full price though. I would stay there again however, if it was on special.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

The location of the apartment was good, walking distance to tourist shuttle bus service, room was excellent, the services was pleasant and I would recommend it to anyone.

Thanks

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

Are these apartments ? - No they are not but they are nice with a good location & fairly priced. Best described as a hotel room with kitchenette.

We had 2 rooms - an Executive Twin and a Penthouse studio, both on high floors with a great view overlooking the State Library Dome ( same as on the hotel website page). They are new, modern & clean with everything you need. The rooms also contain a small unobtrusive kitchenette with micro wave, cook top, dishwasher and coking equipment so it is handy for those wanting to stay longer & self cater.

The Executive style room is quite small and this is where I quibble over the word apartment. Most "apartment style accom" offer a separate sleeping area and somewhere comfy to sit. There is a 2 person table & 2 chairs but no comfy armchair or sofa. This is a small hotel style room.

The Penthouse studio is larger and has a small bedroom which can be closed off. Like the standard rooms there is no sofa and you have to sit on the bed to watch TV or opt for the uncomfortable 2 person table & chairs. The room should have been designed a bit better to include a reasonable seating area. The Penthouse also has a washing machine / dryer which is handy for long term stayers.

Both rooms came with a balcony ( but not all rooms have them so it is best to mention when booking if you want a room with balcony). The view was nice, especially at night. I thought parking might be hard to come by but there was parking available at the back of a church a very short 2 minute walk from the hotel ( I think it was $20 for 24 hours). The location is also good & it is a quick walk to Chinatown for a meal or shopping in the CBD. There is also the free circle tram which is a 4 minute walk from the hotel.

Check with the hotel at the time of booking as they offer a breakfast deal in the hotel Cafe for $10 per person which is good value. Breakfast was a bit chaotic but nice when it arrived ( having your coffee served in a disposable cup was weird tho !).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

Cube was a little hard to find - Exploration lane is a little obscure, and the taxi driver had no idea. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. The room was a decent size, bright, airy, clean and overall very comfortable. The only (slight) downside is that it's at the top end of town, so a little bit away from a lot of the action. As a value equation this place is hard to beat, and I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

The apartment entrance is located within a small alley in Exploration lane. Easy tp get to with City tram & Metro station. The apartment was very clean & looks pretty new to me. Comfy beds & a good living space with a modern kitchen. Would not hesitate to go back on my next trip.

The only thing to be careful is that SkyBus doesnt do hotel pickup/drop off from this apartment directly, which their website indicated likewise. You have to walk 3-5min to Marriot Hotel around the corner for the pickup lugging your luggage. Would advise others to arrange the airport transfer with the hotel directly as they have direct transfer that you didnt need to change bus & pick up direct at the apartment entrance at a slightly lower rate then SkyBus. Everything was perfect, except the misleading info on SkyBus website!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Great place to stay, clean, newish and had style. Rooms a little small but well appointed for a 6 night stay. Good kitchen facilities although only two lots of crockery/cutlery which meant lots of dish washing (was a dish washer though).

Had a tenth floor room and saw the sunsets from the balcony. Daily servicing. Friendly, helpful staff especially in a medical emergency. Fabulous location for trams, taxis, or walking to local areas. Felt safe in the area at all times. Reception closes at 10 p.m. so need to remember this.

Would highly recommend this place for a stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fraser Place Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Place Melbourne

Address: 19 Exploration Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Place Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the Central Business District, Fraser Place Melbourne provides convenient access to major financial corporations, world-renowned shopping and a vibrant entertainment scene. With the Regent, Princess and Her Majesty's theatres close by, Fraser Place Melbourne is the ideal place to enjoy Melbourne's rich cultural scene. Exploring the city is a breeze as the hotel is located on the free City Circle tramline. Fraser Place Melbourne is the Frasers Hospitality group's first serviced residence in Melbourne. With a portfolio of 81 unique properties across 19 countries, Frasers Hospitality is a global leader in luxury accommodation. We invite you to experience the Fraser Difference at Fraser Place Melbourne, which features three room offerings - Deluxe, Executive and Premier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fraser Place Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Place Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fraser Place Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.