We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great "Hidden Gem"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fraser Place Melbourne to your Saves list
Fraser Place Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   19 Exploration Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great "Hidden Gem"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

My Husband and I stayed here for a long weekend, and whilst I can't comment on value for money (he booked it), it was a great choice. Yes it is hidden down a lane, but we got an airport transfer which took us to the door.
Fantastic location, close to shops, restaurants and bars. We like walking and it was an easy stroll to both the MCG in one direction and Carlton in the other.
Our apartment was clean and very modern, and whilst we did not have a view, at least it was quiet.
The only negative was the reception staff. Whilst we had no reason to use their services, a "Good Morning" would not have gone amiss! You did feel ignored as you walked past their desk to get in and out. But everything else was great!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    276
    62
    24
    11
See reviews for
54
263
53
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Provides great value for money, I got a good deal and only paid a $100 a night for my room. Not really an apartment but a reasonable sized hotel room which is very comfortable and clean. Located in close walking distance to CBD shopping and not far from cultural spaces such as ACMI and the Galleries. If you are staying for any length of time, it has the added benefits of being close to a Woolworths so you can cut your costs by eating in for breakfast etc. It is also close to gyms. Some taxi drivers can't find it and it is in a dark alley, however there were always people about and I didn't feel too vunerable. Only complaint is there is no wireless and it costs to go on the internet. Also not enough bedding and I was cold of in the middle of winter. Good deals to and from the airport.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Not sure how old these apartments are but we stayed in a 'Penthouse' (2nd top floor) and was a bit surprised to find that many areas of it seemed to be left unfinished. VERY minimal cutlery/crockery and the DVD player in the TV was covered by gaff-tape, thus disallowing us the use of those we'd brought ourselves. TV signal keept dropping out for hours at a stretch. Room was slightly unkempt (used cotton-tips on bathroom floor). Washing Machine kept cycling through a 4 hour wash with NO drying (kept trying to set to dry but without a users manual it was frsuatrting after the 4th unsuccessful attempt). Cafe downstairs: Breakfast only til 10am then it shuts totally @ 2pm with no afternoon/dinner service. No Room Service although this is advertised. Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

I was so surprised by Cube Serviced Apartments!
For $129 a night, in a spacious, modern room with balcony and King size bed, how can anyone complain!?!?
The room was well appointed, and super clean!
The only suggestion I have to cube is maybe putting in a couch instead of having to sit on the bed? It's meant to be an "apartment" and so a couch wouldn't go a stray.
The staff were friendly and helpful and the building was so quiet and comfortable.
Short walk to QV and trams which is a bonus too.
Would definitely stay again.. thank you!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

We had great service and wonderful memories of this apartment Hotel as we have stayed before. We are about to come up from Tasmania and are staying there again four nights this week. Close to everything and a HEAVENLY coffee maker downstairs. Watch out for the cab drivers. They say they don't know the lane so make sure you have the directions in your head to Exibition St. and your lane is 10 metres to the side.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballarat
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Firstly we had trouble finding this place. When we finally got to our room it was tiny, really not an apartment but a crowded small hotel room. I would not recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

On a girls shopping weekend. Apartment was new and very clean, except for sticky tiles on the bathroom floor and infront of the kitchenette. Carpets had a couple of stains and fridge had a really bad odour. Location was good. Customer service was fantastic, as good and probably better than some 5 star hotels. It had a small stove, microwave, fridge, cutlery, crockery - pretty much everything we needed. Noise was not a problem at all. Catch the airport shuttle - the door to door one for $15.00 each way, much better than the $65.00 taxi ride! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fraser Place Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Place Melbourne

Address: 19 Exploration Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Place Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the Central Business District, Fraser Place Melbourne provides convenient access to major financial corporations, world-renowned shopping and a vibrant entertainment scene. With the Regent, Princess and Her Majesty's theatres close by, Fraser Place Melbourne is the ideal place to enjoy Melbourne's rich cultural scene. Exploring the city is a breeze as the hotel is located on the free City Circle tramline. Fraser Place Melbourne is the Frasers Hospitality group's first serviced residence in Melbourne. With a portfolio of 81 unique properties across 19 countries, Frasers Hospitality is a global leader in luxury accommodation. We invite you to experience the Fraser Difference at Fraser Place Melbourne, which features three room offerings - Deluxe, Executive and Premier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Fraser Place Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Place Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fraser Place Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.