We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay here again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Fraser Place Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fraser Place Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   19 Exploration Lane, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #21 of 114 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Kurri Kurri, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay here again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

A friend & I were in Melbourne for MIFGS & this place was on the list of recommended places for the Flower Show. Price-wise it was excellent & I am so glad we chose to stay here. The staff were very friendly & helpful. Locaton was excellent, with everything we needed in close walking distance. Being so close to the tram line & the free Visitor Shuttle Bus was very helpful as my friend is mobility impaired. Breakfast was delicious. The only negative was that we had to ask for toilet paper as it was not restocked when the room was serviced. I had rung the day before to check that we had a room with a balcony & was assured that we did, as I had forgotten to request this when I made our booking. When we arrived we found that we didn't have a balcony after all, but as we arrived in the morning by the time we were able to check in it had been arranged. My friend is also scared of heights, so having a balcony on the 2nd floor facing the interior of the towers was very good for her & also made it very quiet & private.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony make sure to include this in the Special Request when making your booking. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank-you for your review; I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us while in Melbourne for the International Flower & Garden Show. It is great to receive such positive feedback about our team and the service they deliver. I am pleased that our front office team were able to accommodate your request for a balcony and that it suited the needs of your fellow traveller. I have raised your comments regarding the servicing of your room with our housekeeping department to ensure this oversight does not reoccur. Again, I thank-you for taking the time to share your experience with the wider TripAdvisor community and look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again at Fraser Place Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    257
    56
    23
    11
See reviews for
48
243
51
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My partner & I just spent 4 nights at Fraser Place which I found via the Tripadvisor reviews and were very happy with the choice.
Located between Little Lonsdale & LaTrobe Streets close to Exhibition Street it is close to the city while being out of the bustle & noise. We were given a room which to my concern was immediately opposite the lift, but we heard no noise from it and with the windows closed, most of the city noise except for the odd siren was blocked too.
The room was equipped with fridge, dishwasher, sink & even cooktop, had a table & chairs as well as a desk & king size bed and a small balcony, making it a good choice for longer stays where you may want to prepare a meal in the room. To eat out it is a 2 minute walk to the Chinatown restaurants in Little Bourke St, & closer still to many cafes, although quite a few cater to the office workers and don't open at weekends.
The staff were always friendly and helpful and the room clean, although I did notice on arrival a soap/shaving foam splash on the wall near the hand basin in the bathroom which was still there when we left.
Turn right out of the front door and it is a couple of minutes to the City Circle free tram stop in LaTrobe St which takes you to many of the landmarks in the city if you don't feel like walking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to share your experience of Fraser Place Melbourne; I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our location and apartments facilities met your needs. I hope we can welcome you back as our guest during your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I asked for a room on a top floor, away from the lifts with a view...1109...oh dear..construction of a high rise building is mid-way through and is directly across from the balcony and loud but that wasn't too bad as workers usually finish at about 3pm, but then night works in La Trobe St commenced (for the bike lanes being erected) and night works is all night! The room wasn't very clean at all, mould in the shower, hair on the sheets, a soiled desk chair and then as I was enjoying the swarm sunny weather in the afternoon the sun was streaming in and unfortunately revealed how little the room had been cleaned! I was looking forward to my stay but was severely disappointed as its in a great position, around the corner from great coffee cafes and was close to where I had to get too...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank-you for your review; I have discussed the issues you raise with regards to the cleanliness of your apartment with our Operations and Housekeeping Managers whom will be investigating the state of the room. Your feedback is of great concern and I endeavour to have the issues addressed immediately and a review of current practices undertaken to ensure the experience you have had does not reoccur. Thank-you again for your comments and for providing us the opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Melbourne is expensive, therefore we did a very extensive search in the web (booking, hotels.com, trip advisor, hostel world, etc) and there was no match to this hotel. It is a very good option if you value a comfortable and clean hotel. We didn`t look for a modern and well decorated place, but it has it as well.

Also the rooms have a very well equipped kitchen.It`s walking distance from major CBD attractions, Queen Victoria Market, Old Melbourne Gaol, etc. And there are everything from supermarket and shopping mall to a laundry nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to review our property; I am glad you had an enjoyable experience as our guest and that you found our location of convenience. I am pleased you found your accommodation comfortable, well-equipped and feel you received value for money. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to stay with us again at Fraser Place when you are next in Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Good to have no trams or trains disturbing our sleep as happened last time in Melbourne. King size bed was very comfortable. Continental breakfast included bacon, scrambled eggs, baked beans & hash browns - very good. Hotel was close to city centre & restaurants. Only negatives were that rooms are not serviced on Sundays or public holidays; and one of the two overhead lights was not working when we arrived, and the other one failed the next day - not repaired but may be due to it being a long weekend.Staff were courtious & helpful. Would recommend, & we will stay there again.

Room Tip: With only four accommodation units per floor (we were on 6th floor) there was limited noise (doors c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank-you for your review; I am glad you had a peaceful stay and will return to be our guest in the future. Your feedback regarding breakfast is quite timely, as we have just introduced an optional a-la-carte menu for guests wanting some variety or something a little more substantial. With regards to servicing and the delay in fixing the lighting issue in your room, you are correct this was due to the public holiday and has since been rectified. Again, I thank-you for taking the time to share your experience with the wider TripAdvisor community and look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Place Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Excellent location, easy walk to the city, the rooms are nice size and well presented. Friendly staff who are helpful at anytime. No parking at the hotel but there is a very cheap car park around the corner at the church $6 a night a total bargain! Easy to walk to restaurants and city.

I have stayed her twice and looking to head back there soon.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to review Fraser Place Melbourne; it is great to receive such positive feedback from a regular guest. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again during your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our studio deluxe was roomy, well appointed with kitchenette, king size bed & quiet. It is central (one doesn't have to go far to find something they like), close to eateries, public transport round the corner. The staff are friendly & pleasant. This hotel is great value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank-you for your feedback; It is great to know you feel your receive value for money whilst staying with us at Fraser Place Melbourne. I am pleased you found our apartments well equipped and spacious, making for a comfortable stay; and that our team were able to demonstrate exceptional customer service. As you point out, we are situated in a fantastic location close to many of Melbourne's renowned culinary precincts, bars, restaurants and theatres. I hope that we can welcome you back to stay with us during your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fraser Place Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Place Melbourne

Address: 19 Exploration Lane, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 114 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Place Melbourne 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the Central Business District, Fraser Place Melbourne provides convenient access to major financial corporations, world-renowned shopping and a vibrant entertainment scene. With the Regent, Princess and Her Majesty's theatres close by, Fraser Place Melbourne is the ideal place to enjoy Melbourne's rich cultural scene. Exploring the city is a breeze as the hotel is located on the free City Circle tramline. Fraser Place Melbourne is the Frasers Hospitality group's first serviced residence in Melbourne. With a portfolio of 44 serviced apartments across 19 countries, Frasers Hospitality is a global leader in luxury accommodation. We invite you to experience the Fraser Difference at Fraser Place Melbourne, which features three room offerings - Deluxe, Executive and Premier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fraser Place Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Place Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fraser Place Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;