We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fraser Place Melbourne to your Saves list
Fraser Place Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   19 Exploration Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
brisbane australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“good location, good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My partner & I just spent 4 nights at Fraser Place which I found via the Tripadvisor reviews and were very happy with the choice.
Located between Little Lonsdale & LaTrobe Streets close to Exhibition Street it is close to the city while being out of the bustle & noise. We were given a room which to my concern was immediately opposite the lift, but we heard no noise from it and with the windows closed, most of the city noise except for the odd siren was blocked too.
The room was equipped with fridge, dishwasher, sink & even cooktop, had a table & chairs as well as a desk & king size bed and a small balcony, making it a good choice for longer stays where you may want to prepare a meal in the room. To eat out it is a 2 minute walk to the Chinatown restaurants in Little Bourke St, & closer still to many cafes, although quite a few cater to the office workers and don't open at weekends.
The staff were always friendly and helpful and the room clean, although I did notice on arrival a soap/shaving foam splash on the wall near the hand basin in the bathroom which was still there when we left.
Turn right out of the front door and it is a couple of minutes to the City Circle free tram stop in LaTrobe St which takes you to many of the landmarks in the city if you don't feel like walking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to share your experience of Fraser Place Melbourne; I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our location and apartments facilities met your needs. I hope we can welcome you back as our guest during your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    264
    59
    23
    11
See reviews for
51
252
51
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I asked for a room on a top floor, away from the lifts with a view...1109...oh dear..construction of a high rise building is mid-way through and is directly across from the balcony and loud but that wasn't too bad as workers usually finish at about 3pm, but then night works in La Trobe St commenced (for the bike lanes being erected) and night works is all night! The room wasn't very clean at all, mould in the shower, hair on the sheets, a soiled desk chair and then as I was enjoying the swarm sunny weather in the afternoon the sun was streaming in and unfortunately revealed how little the room had been cleaned! I was looking forward to my stay but was severely disappointed as its in a great position, around the corner from great coffee cafes and was close to where I had to get too...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank-you for your review; I have discussed the issues you raise with regards to the cleanliness of your apartment with our Operations and Housekeeping Managers whom will be investigating the state of the room. Your feedback is of great concern and I endeavour to have the issues addressed immediately and a review of current practices undertaken to ensure the experience you have had does not reoccur. Thank-you again for your comments and for providing us the opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Melbourne is expensive, therefore we did a very extensive search in the web (booking, hotels.com, trip advisor, hostel world, etc) and there was no match to this hotel. It is a very good option if you value a comfortable and clean hotel. We didn`t look for a modern and well decorated place, but it has it as well.

Also the rooms have a very well equipped kitchen.It`s walking distance from major CBD attractions, Queen Victoria Market, Old Melbourne Gaol, etc. And there are everything from supermarket and shopping mall to a laundry nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to review our property; I am glad you had an enjoyable experience as our guest and that you found our location of convenience. I am pleased you found your accommodation comfortable, well-equipped and feel you received value for money. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to stay with us again at Fraser Place when you are next in Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Good to have no trams or trains disturbing our sleep as happened last time in Melbourne. King size bed was very comfortable. Continental breakfast included bacon, scrambled eggs, baked beans & hash browns - very good. Hotel was close to city centre & restaurants. Only negatives were that rooms are not serviced on Sundays or public holidays; and one of the two overhead lights was not working when we arrived, and the other one failed the next day - not repaired but may be due to it being a long weekend.Staff were courtious & helpful. Would recommend, & we will stay there again.

Room Tip: With only four accommodation units per floor (we were on 6th floor) there was limited noise (doors c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank-you for your review; I am glad you had a peaceful stay and will return to be our guest in the future. Your feedback regarding breakfast is quite timely, as we have just introduced an optional a-la-carte menu for guests wanting some variety or something a little more substantial. With regards to servicing and the delay in fixing the lighting issue in your room, you are correct this was due to the public holiday and has since been rectified. Again, I thank-you for taking the time to share your experience with the wider TripAdvisor community and look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Place Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Excellent location, easy walk to the city, the rooms are nice size and well presented. Friendly staff who are helpful at anytime. No parking at the hotel but there is a very cheap car park around the corner at the church $6 a night a total bargain! Easy to walk to restaurants and city.

I have stayed her twice and looking to head back there soon.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to review Fraser Place Melbourne; it is great to receive such positive feedback from a regular guest. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again during your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our studio deluxe was roomy, well appointed with kitchenette, king size bed & quiet. It is central (one doesn't have to go far to find something they like), close to eateries, public transport round the corner. The staff are friendly & pleasant. This hotel is great value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank-you for your feedback; It is great to know you feel your receive value for money whilst staying with us at Fraser Place Melbourne. I am pleased you found our apartments well equipped and spacious, making for a comfortable stay; and that our team were able to demonstrate exceptional customer service. As you point out, we are situated in a fantastic location close to many of Melbourne's renowned culinary precincts, bars, restaurants and theatres. I hope that we can welcome you back to stay with us during your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed whilst at the tennis/Australian Open.
Location isn't really close to Rod Laver...about 20 minutes walk, but I found it a pretty nice walk to here and Bourke St Mall...no more than 10 minutes away.
As Melbourne is laid out so well, it's really easy to get everywhere and everything is pretty close and easy to get to really.
The room itself was fairly comfortable and spacious, noise factor was low, even with a room that was directly opposite the lift. The included breakfast wasn't a Hilton type spread but much better than I had expected.
My gripes were the (free) internet access was not just only for 1 connection at a time, but 1 item...with a laptop, mobile and tablet this was a major pain; extremely limiting. I found the kitchenette to be quite dirty to the point where I made sure I washed everything before use. It was very obvious that it hadn't been checked between guests, and there was a buildup of dust around knobs etc. The tv was a bit crappy and played up a bit.
The staff were really lovely and seemed genuinely friendly. The neighbourhood felt safe and although the hotel entrance is in a laneway, it was well lit at night.
Overall I was happy for the price vs. expectation ratio and would probably stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank-you for your honest feedback; I am glad that overall you had a pleasant stay and would most likely stay with us again. It is great that you found our location convenient; as you say Melbourne is so well designed that the majority of its' attractions are within walking distance of Fraser Place Melbourne and if not the free City Circle tram is at our doorstep, making it easy to get around. I am pleased you felt your room was comfortable and quite, and that breakfast surpassed your expectations. I have noted your comments regarding the cleanliness of the kitchenette and will address this with our housekeeping department; similarly I will discuss the TV quality with our engineer to see how we can improve this. I do understand your frustration with regards to the restricted Wi-Fi access; at present we provide this as a complimentary service and in light of your comments will look into feasible ways which we can provide additional log-ins. Again, thank-you for your feedback; I do hope we can welcome you back as our guest next time you visit Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fraser Place Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Place Melbourne

Address: 19 Exploration Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Place Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the Central Business District, Fraser Place Melbourne provides convenient access to major financial corporations, world-renowned shopping and a vibrant entertainment scene. With the Regent, Princess and Her Majesty's theatres close by, Fraser Place Melbourne is the ideal place to enjoy Melbourne's rich cultural scene. Exploring the city is a breeze as the hotel is located on the free City Circle tramline. Fraser Place Melbourne is the Frasers Hospitality group's first serviced residence in Melbourne. With a portfolio of 81 unique properties across 19 countries, Frasers Hospitality is a global leader in luxury accommodation. We invite you to experience the Fraser Difference at Fraser Place Melbourne, which features three room offerings - Deluxe, Executive and Premier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Fraser Place Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Place Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fraser Place Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.