We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fraser Place Melbourne to your Saves list
Fraser Place Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   19 Exploration Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Advance Purchase 15% off
Ranked #30 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Place!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great location within walking distance of china town, very friendly & accommodating staff, clean and tidy,light and bright room with a comfortable bed, fridge, tv, workstation etc, we got the King Deluxe Room with a balcony, perfect!
Definitely recommend this place :)

Room Tip: King Delux room with a balcony - winner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to share your recent experience of Fraser Place Melbourne; I am glad you found our team was able to make your stay an enjoyable one, and that our accommodation facilities provided you with comfort and convenience. I hope to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    303
    75
    25
    18
See reviews for
59
294
62
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Centre of Melbourne near everything. Very helpful staff. Right next to china town. And the old prison, plus only around $60 for a taxi from the air port. Will stay there again. Just a little dusty. Breakfast small but good price. The trams are good fun,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank-you for your feedback; I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and will return to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had a little difficulty locating the entrance of the hotel as it is located in a small lane. It is close to Chinatown and within walking distance from the main shopping area in Bourke Street. Check-in was fast and efficient. The room is small incorporating a kitchenette, a table and a chair. The kitchenette comes with a dishwasher, which saves you the need to wash your dishes after cooking. Preparation of food is difficult as the counter top is small. We also had to sit on the bed or floor to eat our meals as there is only 1 table and 1 chair in the room. Spread at the breakfast buffet is basic but sufficient.
One suggestion for the hotel: add another chair please.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank-you for sharing your experience of Fraser Place Melbourne. I am very happy to advise that we are in the process of sourcing suitable furniture to increase dining space and seating within selected apartments; this is a direct response to feedback, similar to yours, which we have received since refurbishing earlier this year. We are confident this improvement will increase the comfort of our guests and prevent the problem you have identified from continuing to occur. Should you stay with us again, I encourage you to please contact our reservations team before arrival to ensure the room you have booked is one with additional seating. Again, thank-you for your feedback and I hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us during your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolwarra, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Great Location (19 Exploration Lane), just a few tram stops from the centre of Melbourne, though it is walking distance (for most people) to everything eg theatres, Queen Victoria market, China Town etc. The hotel is located in a laneway but there is space to unload baggage on arrival and vice versa. I'm not sure if there is general parking available as we travelled via shuttle bus from the airport which is about 20mins away. The staff are very helpful and approachable.

Breakfast was included in our rate and even though it was a continental breakfast there was a variety of hot and cold foods. There is no room service however, restaurants etc are very close by and a small supermarket is not far at all, if you want to pick up supplies and cook for yourself.

The rooms a very practical (kitchenette with stove, pots, pans, plates etc + washing machine in some), very tastefully decorated, comfortable bed and pillows and the usual toiletriest etc. We had a room next to the elevator which could be a little annoying when the lift was in action, but we found with the bathroom door closed the noise was not too bad. If you are a light sleeper I would suggest requesting a room away from the lifts.

Overall, this is great accommodation and I would will stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank-you for your feedback; I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Fraser Place Melbourne. As you mention, our location is very central to the many attractions of Melbourne however being tucked down Exploration Lane means you can also escape the hustle and bustle for some rest and relaxation. I am glad that our breakfast offering exceeded your expectations and that you can appreciate the thought that has been put into the design & facilities of our newly refurbished apartments; they are well equipped for long or short stays. Again, I thank-you for taking the time to share your experience; we look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I like this hotel very much for it simple and nice decor.
good room, clean bed, bathroom. with a kitchen, fridge, washer, dryer, microwave, TV.
Kitchen comes in useful especially for long stay.Overall I like staying at this place. plus the price is reasonable.

Room Tip: If you wish to have balcony with a view do let them know in advance. bear in mind that room with nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to share your experience of Fraser Place Melbourne; your feedback about our newly refurbished apartment’s reinstates the Frasers Hospitality philosophy; to provide comfortable & well-equipped accommodation, or preferably a home away from home, for long stay guests. I am glad you feel you received value for money and hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great location, good value, modern & very clean. Service was of very high standard, nothing was too much trouble for them. I arrived very early in the morning and they went out of their way to allow me to have my room early. Linen was clean and of high quality, in fact everything was very clean and that always helps when you are staying away from home

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank-you for your review of Fraser Place Melbourne; I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay and that our convenient location, newly refurbished apartments & customer service made your experience with us a positive one. I hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again during future visits to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed at Fraser Place Melbourne for a shopping weekend and we highly enjoyed the experience. Front desk staff were inviting and friendly - thank you. Although it would have been nice to have been asked "have you been to Melbourne before, do you need a map to find your way" without having to ask directions myself each time. But that's an easy fix by management. Reception and greeting areas have a lovely warm boutique feel and have modern and clean furnishings. The hotel is within walking distance to everything, no need for a car.

Rooms were very clean (including the carpet) and comfortable not to mention a great large size even for the basic suite. The kitchen seemed to be equipped with everything that a traveller could need. No there's not a great view but you'll be pushed to find a view at any Melbourne city accommodation without paying a royal fortune. I notice other reviewers mentioned the frosted bathroom door. Although when I first saw it I thought oh this could be awkward, need not fear you can not see in or out of it or any shaddows at all.

If I had to nit pick, the shower sealant was covered in mould & not very appealing, and one of the lamps had a dead bulb. Again, easy fixes by management. For a very affordable price I was very very happy with my choice in accommodation and will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank-you for your feedback, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and will be back to visit us in the future. Your constructive comments have been noted, and as you say the areas in which we need to improve are easily fixed. I am happy to advise that just yesterday the housekeeping team began work on the showers & our maintenance team are directing their energies into the routine/preventative maintenance required to ensure light bulbs and the likes are all in working order. Again, I thank-you for taking the time to review Fraser Place Melbourne and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fraser Place Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Place Melbourne

Address: 19 Exploration Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Place Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne's entertainment and business precincts, Fraser Place Melbourne is surrounded by an array of trendy cafes, bars and restaurants and world class shopping. The Regent, Princess and Her Majesty's theatres are all within a short walk from the hotel making it the ideal destination to enjoy Melbourne's rich cultural scene. Exploring the city is a breeze as the hotel is located on the free City Circle tramline. Fraser Place Melbourne encompasses 112 serviced studio apartments in three room types - Deluxe, Executive and Premier each fully equipped with a kitchenette and spacious, modern decor. We invite to you come enjoy our Frasers hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Fraser Place Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Place Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fraser Place Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.