We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet yet fairly central location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fraser Place Melbourne to your Saves list
Fraser Place Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   19 Exploration Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fraser Winter Special
Ranked #29 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Bolwarra, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Quiet yet fairly central location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Great Location (19 Exploration Lane), just a few tram stops from the centre of Melbourne, though it is walking distance (for most people) to everything eg theatres, Queen Victoria market, China Town etc. The hotel is located in a laneway but there is space to unload baggage on arrival and vice versa. I'm not sure if there is general parking available as we travelled via shuttle bus from the airport which is about 20mins away. The staff are very helpful and approachable.

Breakfast was included in our rate and even though it was a continental breakfast there was a variety of hot and cold foods. There is no room service however, restaurants etc are very close by and a small supermarket is not far at all, if you want to pick up supplies and cook for yourself.

The rooms a very practical (kitchenette with stove, pots, pans, plates etc + washing machine in some), very tastefully decorated, comfortable bed and pillows and the usual toiletriest etc. We had a room next to the elevator which could be a little annoying when the lift was in action, but we found with the bathroom door closed the noise was not too bad. If you are a light sleeper I would suggest requesting a room away from the lifts.

Overall, this is great accommodation and I would will stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank-you for your feedback; I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Fraser Place Melbourne. As you mention, our location is very central to the many attractions of Melbourne however being tucked down Exploration Lane means you can also escape the hustle and bustle for some rest and relaxation. I am glad that our breakfast offering exceeded your expectations and that you can appreciate the thought that has been put into the design & facilities of our newly refurbished apartments; they are well equipped for long or short stays. Again, I thank-you for taking the time to share your experience; we look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    313
    84
    26
    19
See reviews for
62
306
63
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I like this hotel very much for it simple and nice decor.
good room, clean bed, bathroom. with a kitchen, fridge, washer, dryer, microwave, TV.
Kitchen comes in useful especially for long stay.Overall I like staying at this place. plus the price is reasonable.

Room Tip: If you wish to have balcony with a view do let them know in advance. bear in mind that room with nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to share your experience of Fraser Place Melbourne; your feedback about our newly refurbished apartment’s reinstates the Frasers Hospitality philosophy; to provide comfortable & well-equipped accommodation, or preferably a home away from home, for long stay guests. I am glad you feel you received value for money and hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great location, good value, modern & very clean. Service was of very high standard, nothing was too much trouble for them. I arrived very early in the morning and they went out of their way to allow me to have my room early. Linen was clean and of high quality, in fact everything was very clean and that always helps when you are staying away from home

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank-you for your review of Fraser Place Melbourne; I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay and that our convenient location, newly refurbished apartments & customer service made your experience with us a positive one. I hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again during future visits to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed at Fraser Place Melbourne for a shopping weekend and we highly enjoyed the experience. Front desk staff were inviting and friendly - thank you. Although it would have been nice to have been asked "have you been to Melbourne before, do you need a map to find your way" without having to ask directions myself each time. But that's an easy fix by management. Reception and greeting areas have a lovely warm boutique feel and have modern and clean furnishings. The hotel is within walking distance to everything, no need for a car.

Rooms were very clean (including the carpet) and comfortable not to mention a great large size even for the basic suite. The kitchen seemed to be equipped with everything that a traveller could need. No there's not a great view but you'll be pushed to find a view at any Melbourne city accommodation without paying a royal fortune. I notice other reviewers mentioned the frosted bathroom door. Although when I first saw it I thought oh this could be awkward, need not fear you can not see in or out of it or any shaddows at all.

If I had to nit pick, the shower sealant was covered in mould & not very appealing, and one of the lamps had a dead bulb. Again, easy fixes by management. For a very affordable price I was very very happy with my choice in accommodation and will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank-you for your feedback, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and will be back to visit us in the future. Your constructive comments have been noted, and as you say the areas in which we need to improve are easily fixed. I am happy to advise that just yesterday the housekeeping team began work on the showers & our maintenance team are directing their energies into the routine/preventative maintenance required to ensure light bulbs and the likes are all in working order. Again, I thank-you for taking the time to review Fraser Place Melbourne and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our second visit to what was peviously called "The Cube" and we found it improved in comfort and less noisy, possibly from improved sound insulation. Our studio apartment was reasonably spacious and the CBD location is very convenient for Chinatown restaurants. The semi-transparent glass wall of the bathroom/toilet compartment is a bit off-putting.

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank-you for your review of Fraser Place Melbourne, I am glad you found our newly refurbished apartments quieter and more comfortable than during your previous visit. I hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We booked at a studio apartment for 3 nights after reading through the comments on all the city hotels & apartments in the vicinity of the Melbourne CBD. What prompted me to book this place was the recent refurbishments that were done, as well as its distance from the hub of the city. I wanted a clean and decent room that was near enough to everything, yet far enough to be insulated from the city noise and revelry.

Firstly, the positives. Fraser Place met our expectations of a modernised, self-contained apartment. It had everything we could possibly need in the room. Other than a table lamp which didn't work, we had no issues with everything else. Most of our days and nights were spent gallivanting around Melbourne anyway, so we didn't spend a lot of time in the room.

What we found disappointing was the lack of customer service. The two people behind the reception desk looked and behaved like they would rather be somewhere else. No smiles from them, and not even a greeting. I feebly tried to generate some small talk to break the ice but was ignored. Later, after checking in (which was quite quick), we asked for directions to Chinatown and were simply told to walked down the alley. No specific directions to cross any roads or look for certain landmarks to know we're heading in the right direction.

Depending on which room you get and its position in the building, you could end up with a "view" like ours - looking down at a back lane and somebody's roof and across to a brick wall of a neighbouring building. It didn't bother us that much though since this is something the staff can't do much about, and we were out most of the time anyway.

Overall, it was a pleasant enough experience and if unfriendly and unhelpful staff don't bother you that much, and you prefer to be away from the hustle and bustle of city life but near enough to be in it within minutes, then Fraser Place is a good spot. To be fair, on the day we checked out, new staff were on duty and they gave us the courtesy and assistance that any guest should expect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank-you for your review of Fraser Place Melbourne; I am pleased to hear that our newly refurbished apartments met your expectations. I can assure you that the comments you have provided regarding the customer service you experienced is of great concern, I thank-you for providing us with the opportunity to address these matters and identify how we can improve in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great location, very clean and well equipped rooms, free wi-fi and helpful staff. There is a very small gym but the treadmills work just fine. Great value as well. I would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank-you for your review of Fraser Place Melbourne; I am glad to learn you had a great experience whilst staying with us and that the service and facilities provided met your needs and expectations. I hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
City Limits Serviced Apartments
0.7 mi away
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 762 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#80 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
0.3 mi away
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
0.6 mi away
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#46 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Place Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Place Melbourne

Address: 19 Exploration Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Place Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne's entertainment and business precincts, Fraser Place Melbourne is surrounded by an array of trendy cafes, bars and restaurants and world class shopping. The Regent, Princess and Her Majesty's theatres are all within a short walk from the hotel making it the ideal destination to enjoy Melbourne's rich cultural scene. Exploring the city is a breeze as the hotel is located on the free City Circle tramline. Fraser Place Melbourne encompasses 112 serviced studio apartments in three room types - Deluxe, Executive and Premier each fully equipped with a kitchenette and spacious, modern decor. We invite to you come enjoy our Frasers hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Fraser Place Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Place Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fraser Place Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.