We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for a well-equipped apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Fraser Place Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fraser Place Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   19 Exploration Lane, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #21 of 114 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value for a well-equipped apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our second visit to what was peviously called "The Cube" and we found it improved in comfort and less noisy, possibly from improved sound insulation. Our studio apartment was reasonably spacious and the CBD location is very convenient for Chinatown restaurants. The semi-transparent glass wall of the bathroom/toilet compartment is a bit off-putting.

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank-you for your review of Fraser Place Melbourne, I am glad you found our newly refurbished apartments quieter and more comfortable than during your previous visit. I hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    258
    57
    23
    11
See reviews for
48
243
52
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We booked at a studio apartment for 3 nights after reading through the comments on all the city hotels & apartments in the vicinity of the Melbourne CBD. What prompted me to book this place was the recent refurbishments that were done, as well as its distance from the hub of the city. I wanted a clean and decent room that was near enough to everything, yet far enough to be insulated from the city noise and revelry.

Firstly, the positives. Fraser Place met our expectations of a modernised, self-contained apartment. It had everything we could possibly need in the room. Other than a table lamp which didn't work, we had no issues with everything else. Most of our days and nights were spent gallivanting around Melbourne anyway, so we didn't spend a lot of time in the room.

What we found disappointing was the lack of customer service. The two people behind the reception desk looked and behaved like they would rather be somewhere else. No smiles from them, and not even a greeting. I feebly tried to generate some small talk to break the ice but was ignored. Later, after checking in (which was quite quick), we asked for directions to Chinatown and were simply told to walked down the alley. No specific directions to cross any roads or look for certain landmarks to know we're heading in the right direction.

Depending on which room you get and its position in the building, you could end up with a "view" like ours - looking down at a back lane and somebody's roof and across to a brick wall of a neighbouring building. It didn't bother us that much though since this is something the staff can't do much about, and we were out most of the time anyway.

Overall, it was a pleasant enough experience and if unfriendly and unhelpful staff don't bother you that much, and you prefer to be away from the hustle and bustle of city life but near enough to be in it within minutes, then Fraser Place is a good spot. To be fair, on the day we checked out, new staff were on duty and they gave us the courtesy and assistance that any guest should expect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank-you for your review of Fraser Place Melbourne; I am pleased to hear that our newly refurbished apartments met your expectations. I can assure you that the comments you have provided regarding the customer service you experienced is of great concern, I thank-you for providing us with the opportunity to address these matters and identify how we can improve in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great location, very clean and well equipped rooms, free wi-fi and helpful staff. There is a very small gym but the treadmills work just fine. Great value as well. I would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank-you for your review of Fraser Place Melbourne; I am glad to learn you had a great experience whilst staying with us and that the service and facilities provided met your needs and expectations. I hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Booked separate two rooms for two nights. The bathroom in room 208 had a bad odour and the air conditioning was very noisy. Rang reception was informed some one would come and inspect, waited and no one ever came. The other room 205 which was dark and dingy, no view blocked by a picket fence, asked for another room but was told they could not accomodate. Probably a good thing as the only lift broke down on the second day so luckily we were only on the second floor. Will not be going back or recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank-you for your feedback; I have provided your comments regarding the bathroom and air-conditioning unit in Apartment 208 to our engineering team whom will identify and conduct maintenance to ensure the problems you have identified can be prevented in the future. I am thankful you have provided us the opportunity to discuss the service problems you have described in your review with our team so we can improve the delivery of customer service to future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed in exec studio. Location of hotel is on border of CBD so it is a walk to restaurants down near the river although trams are close. Unfortunately the staff are not very friendly or helpful. Room service was hit and miss. Some days no service other days the maid arrived at 4.30 pm as we were just coming back from a tiring day out. At times cleaning staff took the lift for their own use to Exclusion of patrons. Opening our window / door we were faced with a picket fence blocking any view. Rooms were a decent size and well appointed. Don't think we would return as have stayed in other apartments at similar price more central and better staffed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank-you for your feedback; I appreciate that you have taken the time to review our property and share your experience of Fraser Place Melbourne. I am genuinely surprised to learn of the customer service you received throughout your stay, and can assure you that your comments will be discussed with the team to identify how we can ensure the experience you have described from reoccurring. Unfortunately, with regards to the use of the lift by the housekeeping team, the building was designed without a service lift and therefore both guests and housekeepers at times are required to share which we understand is not ideal in terms of guest experience. I am glad that you did enjoy some aspects of your stay, being the size and facilities of our newly refurbished apartments. Thank-you again for your comments and for providing us with the opportunity to improve certain areas of our operation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Arrived in the morning and, must admit, didn't get off to a great start. The male receptionist understood efficiency but not customer relations. He thought I was checking out, not in, (though I'd just walked IN the door with my bags) and was terse with me throughout the arrival interraction. However, from thereon it was all great. I'm sick of getting a room with a window facing a wall so had 'upgraded' to ensure a view. Room 908 (or was it 809?) had splendid views, a small balcony, and sun during the late afternoon - evening. Was worth the extra $30 p.n. The rooms were immaculately clean, fresh, tastefully decorated, free wifi - a bit odd with the frosted glass bathroom walls but in fact I didn't feel exposed! Very quiet accommodation - didn't hear any other noises from rooms nor doors shutting/lifts moving (even though our room was right opposite the lift) and no traffic noise (apart from the hum of Melbourne itself). Breakfast $15 p.p. not exciting but what you'd expect, eggs, sausages, fruit bread, bread etc. and good value. Liked the location, pretty central. Hop on/off free tram that circuits the city at top of the street - very handy. And skybus shuttle transfer will drop you off and pick you up at the door. See! Has everything! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to review our property; I am glad that despite initial impressions we were able to demonstrate to you the Fraser Difference through other aspects of your stay. I can assure you we will be discussing your comments with the front office team to identify how we can improve the check-in experience you have described for future arrivals. I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed our newly refurbished apartments and feel you receive value for money; especially with regards to breakfast as this is an area we have been trying to improve. I am glad to hear you would chose to stay with us again, and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Fraser Place during your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed there for 3 days. The room is clean and having all basic facilities. We enjoyed the stay very much. It is located in the centre of the town and walking to the interest places are convenient. Front desk staff are helpful. We will definitely come back for this. Cheers!

Room Tip: No parking is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank-you for your feedback; I very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our apartments clean & well equipped and our team helpful. I look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us during your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fraser Place Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Place Melbourne

Address: 19 Exploration Lane, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 114 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Place Melbourne 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the Central Business District, Fraser Place Melbourne provides convenient access to major financial corporations, world-renowned shopping and a vibrant entertainment scene. With the Regent, Princess and Her Majesty's theatres close by, Fraser Place Melbourne is the ideal place to enjoy Melbourne's rich cultural scene. Exploring the city is a breeze as the hotel is located on the free City Circle tramline. Fraser Place Melbourne is the Frasers Hospitality group's first serviced residence in Melbourne. With a portfolio of 44 serviced apartments across 19 countries, Frasers Hospitality is a global leader in luxury accommodation. We invite you to experience the Fraser Difference at Fraser Place Melbourne, which features three room offerings - Deluxe, Executive and Premier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Fraser Place Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Place Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fraser Place Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.