We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great little find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Fraser Place Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fraser Place Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   19 Exploration Lane, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 109 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a great little find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed at Fraser Place Melbourne in early October 2012.What a great find in Melbourne for a great price.We were on the 13th floor and from our balcony we had a view across the near by buildings of the city.The room was large with a dishwasher fridge and microwave oven and also a sink with all the crockery and cutlery you could need.All very clean and bed comfortable.This hotel has been recently refurbished so everything very new.Staff very efficient.We got a taxi to Crown and it was $10.We will definately stay again.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank-you for your review of Fraser Place, we're glad you found us and look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    247
    54
    21
    10
See reviews for
47
239
51
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Fantastic location, close to Chinatown, theatres, Parliament House and Melbourne Central Station. Apartments are relatively new and clean. A bit on the small side. We had a twin so it was a bit cramped. No washing machine or dryer and even though coffee making facilities was advertised on booking.com all that was made available was a kettle. Microwave in the room but no microwave dishes. Water pressure in shower was excellent but again all a bit tight on space. Room was on the 11th floor facing west, couldn't hear any noise from the street. Woolwoths in the QV building only a short walk away. Try Papparich for dinner!! Good choice for a short stay, but due to lack of space would stay elsewhere for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to review our property; I am glad you were able to enjoy some of the many wonderful cultural, shopping and entertainment precincts that surround Fraser Place Melbourne and that you found our proximity to public transport of convenience during your stay. Your comments regarding the provision of coffee making facilities has been noted; this is unusual and I will investigate as to why tea & coffee provisions were not supplied in your apartment. Should you choose to stay again, I recommend the Premier Suite which is equipped with a Nespresso coffee machine. I hope to be able to welcome you back to Fraser Place during your next short stay in Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kempsey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We found the rooms amazingly clean and the staff more than friendly. they had every thing we needed. Stayed for four nights. Closed to every thing we needed...China Town and Lygon St, public transport and Queen Vic markets.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank-you for your feedback; I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location central to many of Melbourne's great cultural precincts. I hope to be able to welcome you back to Fraser Place Melbourne during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth,WA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Really liked this hotel. Perfect location so close to tram lines and centre of Melbourne. Great service particularly from Night manager. My elderly mother and I arrived at 5.30 am just to drop off bags, but within 5 minutes he found us a room and let us book in 7 hours early! A shower and breakfast was wonderful and totally unexpected. Room was very comfortable and clean with everything you could need.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank-you for your comments; I am very pleased we were able to provide you with an early check-in. We always strive to accommodate the needs of our guests and I hope this helped you start your visit to Melbourne feeling relaxed and refreshed! I hope to be able to welcome you back to Fraser Place Melbourne in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed twice at the apartments during our time in melbourne. Great stay for 3 nights. Large, clean room in fantastic location in the heart of Melbourne. Great views from room If you get a room towards the top of the building. Our room the 2nd time looked out to the dark courtyard. Ask for a top floor room if possible.

Bit expensive for Oz

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to review our property. Since your stay in December 2011 the hotel has undergone some major renovations in both our public spaces and apartments. We now also provide every guest with access to free Wi-Fi and offer a simple breakfast daily in our cafe; improvements we believe enhance the value of your stay. I hope you will visit us again to experience the new look Fraser Place Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I will definitely stay here again. The only surprise was being asked for photo ID when I checked in. I don't recall every being asked for this before. I can only assume they have had issues with bogus credit cards.

Everything else was really good. My room had all of the things I find important. Relatively new fit out, clean, quiet, a large comfortable bed, a large powerful shower with lots of hot water, power point for the computer, quiet fridge and quiet air con and of course free wifi.

Breakfast was included in my room rate. This was a fairly average self service affair. Scrambled eggs, beans, hash browns and bacon. All a bit luke warm. A variety of breads to toast, cereals and juices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
It’s great to hear you will be staying with us again. I am pleased you found our newly refurbished apartments to be clean, well-furnished and equipped with all the important necessities to make for a comfortable stay. With regards to the photo ID, you are correct this is a security measure. Thank-you for your feedback about our current breakfast provisions, we will take these comments into consideration during our next menu review. I look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Place during your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This accommodation is in a great location particularly if you are going to the theatre. The room was large and comfortable. Very good large bathroom and shower. Breakfast was just OK but for the price who is complaining.

No views (not even sure if there was a real window)

The only downside was that there is no parking although they have an arrangement with an outdoor parking spot very close (not sure how secure the car is).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FPM_Management, General Manager at Fraser Place Melbourne, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to review Fraser Place Melbourne.

I am glad to hear that our location was of convenience to you and that you had a comfortable stay in our recently refurbished accommodation.

We are always looking at ways to improve our services and your comment regarding parking and breakfast has been noted. I am happy however that you feel the current breakfast menu is good value for money.

I hope to welcome you back to our property in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fraser Place Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Place Melbourne

Address: 19 Exploration Lane, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 109 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Place Melbourne 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the Central Business District, Fraser Place Melbourne provides convenient access to major financial corporations, world-renowned shopping and a vibrant entertainment scene. With the Regent, Princess and Her Majesty's theatres close by, Fraser Place Melbourne is the ideal place to enjoy Melbourne's rich cultural scene. Exploring the city is a breeze as the hotel is located on the free City Circle tramline. Fraser Place Melbourne is the Frasers Hospitality group's first serviced residence in Melbourne. With a portfolio of 44 serviced apartments across 19 countries, Frasers Hospitality is a global leader in luxury accommodation. We invite you to experience the Fraser Difference at Fraser Place Melbourne, which features three room offerings - Deluxe, Executive and Premier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Fraser Place Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Place Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fraser Place Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.