We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fraser Place Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Fraser Place Melbourne to your Saves list
Fraser Place Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   19 Exploration Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 15% off
Ranked #24 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Penarth, South Wales
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Myself & my partner stayed at the Fraser Place in September whilst on holiday in Australia. The hotel is centrally loacted and although the hotel itself doesn't have a car park, they have a deal with a local parking lot just around the corner.

Our room which was on a high floor, was like a small apartment, with a lovely comfortable king size bed, complete kitchen area and spacious bathroom supplied with Peter Thomas Roth toiletries.

The staff were very helpful. We loved Melbourne with its laid back atmosphere, although prices are high especially for eating out and drinks. We found a nice coffee shop around the corner from the hotel (The League of Honest Coffee) in Exploration Lane.

You could do a lot worse than book this place - recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    297
    72
    25
    17
See reviews for
58
291
60
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

It was a great place to stay. comfortable, close to bourke st. lygon st. and china town, with helpful staff. Will deffinately stay there again :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Fraser Place is a great hotel, convenient to many things, especially Chinatown, central Melbourne, Melbourne central and a short walk to most attractions. The rooms are good, new and modern, beds big are comfortable and the hotel is exactly what you what for value when travelling in Melbourne for business or pleasure. The only caveat with the rooms is that rooms on the Exploration lane side get noisy in the early mornings with rubbish trucks clearing bottles from the venues around it. The doors to the bathroom are opaque so when you put the light on at night, it illuminates the room, which can be a bit annoying. Aside from these minor points (but major if you aren't a deep sleeper :-) Fraser Place is tops. If you are a coffee snob, you must try the League of Honest Coffee on the corner, their coffee is fantastic. GaMi 2 doors up serves amazing Korean fried chicken and draft beer on tap, and the cocktail bar in between is excellent and quirky. Ya never need to leave the block!

Room Tip: Try to get a room not on the Exploration lane side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Its really a great place to stay. Eveything is great. I will choose to go there everytime i visit mel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Wonderful location little walk to IMAX, Lygon ST, UBD, China Town, Fed Sq etc and adj to both the free tram and free bus routes. Clean tidy and of adequate size room. The bed was huge and comfortable. Good hot shower and free amenities. The cooked bfast included in the deal was good. Although the cooking facilities were there we didn't use them but everything was there including dishwasher. We found it was very quiet there even on a Saturday night. Try 65 degrees (around the corner) best cafe! and opens 6am - watch them roast the coffee beans and serve gourmet snacks. When in Melbourne we will go back. Also thanks to the friendly staff and their recommendations.

Room Tip: If you don't need wheelchair access don't pick a room with it - they don't have a shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

I stayed for three nights in October having booked in advance on the net and so had a fantastic rate. The reception staff were efficient and I was up to my room in no time.
Upon opening the door I was thrilled to see my room, spacious, clean, great little kitchen area, huge bed, balcony with views back to the city, huge bathroom, it was brilliant.
I have raved about it to all my friends and I will definitely stay here again on my next Melbourne visit. Location was excellent. Check out was also handled well and I was able to leave my bags until my afternoon flight.
Ten out of ten.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights in a penthouse studio, 13th floor. Very nice room and bed with a balcony and good view. Only problem was not much in the way of cooking utensils. Two knives, forks, spoons, plates etc. Nothing to use in the microwave apart from cereal bowls, of which there were exactly two! The washer dryer was so complicated to use without instructions, I gave up.
But overall a great stay, handy location and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fraser Place Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Place Melbourne

Address: 19 Exploration Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Place Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Melbourne's entertainment and business precincts, Fraser Place Melbourne is surrounded by an array of trendy cafes, bars and restaurants and world class shopping. The Regent, Princess and Her Majesty's theatres are all within a short walk from the hotel making it the ideal destination to enjoy Melbourne's rich cultural scene. Exploring the city is a breeze as the hotel is located on the free City Circle tramline. Fraser Place Melbourne encompasses 112 serviced studio apartments in three room types - Deluxe, Executive and Premier each fully equipped with a kitchenette and spacious, modern decor. We invite to you come enjoy our Frasers hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Fraser Place Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Place Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fraser Place Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.