We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy cafe - stick to the delicious deserts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lindt Chocolat Cafe

Lindt Chocolat Cafe
271 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
Improve this listing
Ranked #327 of 4,092 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
Canberra
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Classy cafe - stick to the delicious deserts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Melbourne now has two Lindt Cafes. This one, on Collins Street, is a classy cafe with great service, shiny decor and delicious deserts. If you like Lindt chocolate, you'll love it. However, their lunch options are a bit disappointing for a place that shines in the sugar department, so I'd recommend sticking to the sticky stuff.

In addition to its chocolate/hot chocolate/iced chocolate speciality, the cafe serves good coffee, lunch and speciality deserts. The deserts are a great treat: carefully prepared and beautifully presented, and with a range to suit most tastes. The flavours can be powerful, like bitter chocolate or very sweet options, so if you're not sure it will suit you then ask the staff. I've been a few times, and always found them to be highly professional.

The cafe also features a chocolate shop with all kinds of Lindt goodies that may be hard to find elsewhere, plus the standard gold bunnies and Lindor balls.

The cafe is in a gorgeous Melbourne building, with huge windows looking out onto the street and into the walkway next to it. If you like people-watching, it's a great place to watch the crowds pass by. If you don't like feeling a bit exposed, choose a table in the corner away from the windows.

This isn't an everyday place. It's more somewhere you'd visit on a special occasion, if you're visiting Melbourne or if you're in the mood for a real treat. It's not your regular cafe and the prices reflect this: it's a treat. A delicious one!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    72
    31
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chocoholic paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had the hot chocolate (what else could you have) and my 11 year old enjoyed making his own hot chocolate. The price is around $7 but you could share as it is enough for 2 cups of hot chocolate. We didn't have anything to eat but we took home a selection of chocolates instead.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Heavenly Treat When visiting Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I visit the Lindt café in Collins St every time I visit Melbourne. The iced coffee is amazing as too is the white vanilla shake & their coffee. The waffles are to die for, huge serving so you might like to share. The prices are a little expensive but you are paying for quality goods. Best Lindt cafe I have visited.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Melbourne Chocolate Experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

One of my colleagues recommended me this place to visit at Collins since I'm a choco lover--it was a great experience!
I enjoyed my choco ice cream! My sis-in-law had this nicely prepared tea-- quite a nice experience!

This is a must-try place for all the newbie choco lovers in Melbourne!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Morning tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Lindt cafe is always a pleasure to stop @ & have a coffee or a cup of tea with a lovely cake.
We did this yesterday after an early breakfast,when we visited Chadstone to do some shopping.
Their raspberry cake in white chocolate was sensational.
Again a place we have visited a number times & always enjoy it.
Service is great .

It is a pleasure to recommend this delightful venue in the heart of Chadstone.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lindt Chocolat Cafe also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Lindt Chocolat Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindt Chocolat Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.