We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, great service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esca Grill

Esca Grill
650 Mt Alexander Road | Moonee Ponds, Melbourne, Victoria 3039, Australia
(03) 9370 1101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 4,031 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Cambridge, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

It was a bit of a hike out of the city to get here, but there is a tram that goes direct. The restaurant had a friendly and relaxed atmosphere despite being fine dining. The waiters were very attentive and friendly. The food was superb - faultless. My only nitpick was that although I had mentioned that we do not eat meat on our online booking, this information had not been carried over, so we had to repeat it to the waiter. However, my partner's special lobster risotto still had little pieces of meat in it, so I would say vegetarians (pescatarians) are not very well catered for. He ate the risotto anyway, and it was delicious.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    21
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Need staff training!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Waiting staff lacked knowledge of the most basic areas of service... don't know what main ingredients are in dishes, no idea about available wines which suit our food choices, forget drink orders etc. I'm not sure how many times staff said "I'll have to check that!". Foods was good but not extraordinary. Night was spoilt by poor service.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerang, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We were visiting Melbourne for a family wedding which happened to fall on the same day as our wedding anniversary. I wanted to do something special and after reading the reviews decided to give Esca grill a try.
What an absolute delight! From the moment we arrived, I knew we were in for a special night. We received a wonderful greeting and the waiters couldn't have been more polite and helpful. More importantly the food was exquisite. We both started with the BBQ chilli and garlic prawns - simply delicious. For mains we had the rib eye steak and the lamb shank risotto - both cooked to perfection. I couldn't go past the chocolate fondant for dessert - absolutely divine. Great wine and great atmosphere. Even spoke to the chefs mother, who had such a passion for the restaurant and what they do. Overall the best anniversary dinner we have ever had. Will definitely be back when next we are in Melbourne.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curzay-sur-Vonne, France
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“so good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I and my husband came here for dinner. The atmosphere was romantic. We had great time together and enjoyed delicious sea food. Waiters were friendly, they smiled politely at us. They made we feel welcomed and comfortable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best in Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We came to the restaurant for dinner because it got great reviews om TA and we were not disappointed at all. We love seafood here and beef, cakes were lovely and got special taste. Staffs were always smiling and attentive. We will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esca Grill also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Esca Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esca Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.