We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal with precise service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esca Grill

Esca Grill
650 Mt Alexander Road | Moonee Ponds, Melbourne, Victoria 3039, Australia
(03) 9370 1101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 4,008 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great meal with precise service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful dining experience at Esca Gril last night. The setting is more a cafe style rather than a fine dining establishment. There were family groups, including an unsettled small child and noise did carry easily in this setting.
Our service was exemplary and it was a joy to watch a team work well together to ensure that the diner has an uncluttered table, attentive but not ever present care with wine topping up and very professional food presentation and delivery.
The meals were excellent, being a shared seafood sampler, a hot and cold entree, with one of the best warm octopus dishes I have had. The crisp skinned Barramundi topped with a crab salad was a wonderful combination of flavours, none overpowering the Barrumundi which was cooked to perfection.
The wine list offered very suitable Italian varieties that complimented this meal.
The success of this restaurant obviously is in its traditional family roots of quality preparation and presentation to deliver a very enjoyable dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    133
    20
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Wow...the restaurant itself has a very nice feel. I ordered the Ribeye and it was tender with a beautiful flavour. My entrée was the King Prawns....very nice. My huband ordered the pork belly for an entrée and I had a bite. I'm glad I got my prawns. If you get sides make sure and get the mashed potatos...so smooth and creamy. For the dessert I had the Bombe Alaska...incredible. My husband and I celebrated our 11 year anniversary here tonight and we enjoyed everything about it...from the ambiance, to the service, to the food. This restaurant could easily get 10 stars in my book. Lovely. If you want a good steak and seafood with excellent service then definitely come here. Also, the price really wasn't too bad for all that we got. We were stuffed when we left. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Went there and attended to from the moment we stepped onto the door step greeted coats taken and seated. The entree is scallops with lobster melted in your mouth. Entree of quail was great. The mains of 400gm rib eye cooked to perfection along with the duck. Wine was decade red and the list is good. Will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Simply the best in Moonee Ponds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

I am now a regular at this restaurant. The food is really very good and the service is also very good. I have my favorite dishes one of which is the seafood gumbo. ..I think it's their best dish especially now it's winter. They have now introduced cured meats from Italy. ..Wow, how good is that. .. If your after a predictable high quality meal you can't go past this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Definitely one of the better restaurants in Melbourne. Food was great and service very professional. Wife and i felt welcomed and will return. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esca Grill also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Esca Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esca Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.