We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Spot - great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Central YHA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Melbourne Central YHA to your Saves list
Melbourne Central YHA
562 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
melbourne
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Nice Spot - great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

This YHA is in a great location & only recently opened. Staff are friendly & helpful. Booked my next nights in adelaide for me.
The lounge rooms are a bit small but there is one on each floor.
The roof is a great spot to relax except for the fact it was 43 degrees outside.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    79
    58
    12
    8
See reviews for
11
27
132
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

The interior of this YHA is completely new & modern. The old facade still reads Markillies Hotel (with a prominent YHA sign at the entrance) - see pic. We stayed in a 3-bed room which although small was enough for us. We were out most of the time, only to sleep at night, so space wasn't a big consideration. For us, this was the ideal base - free City Circle tram (across the road) to get-on-get-off places of interest, Southern Cross Station 5-minute walk away to get to the suburbs, free city coach a few blocks away.
The room we were in backed up to an alley so the dump trucks woke me up in the mornings (but not the kids). Otherwise, it's quiet inside the hostel. And clean & cosy.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

Very new hostel. All the common areas were spotless and the bathroom was always clean no matter what time i went in. Cool roof top area.

I stayed in a 4 person dorm room and it was really small. The lockers were also under the bottom bunks in the room i was in. This was a little annoying if you wanted to get your stuff out and the person on the bottom bunk had their stuff all over the floor.

The location is awesome. You can walk just about anywhere in the city or jump on the tram right out in front of the hostel. The bar associated with the hostel was never very busy but a chill spot to hang out for a beer or two.

I think the hostel should have a better common area set up for travellers to get together, but otherwise thought everything was great and would definately stay again... probably in a private room.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

Hostel is 5min walk to Southern Cross Station but 20-25 walk to city main shopping area. The free city tram stops at the hostel but it takes about same time as the tram goes a big circle. We stayed 1 nite in double-ensuite room. Room is very small (only enough space for a double bed with 2 side tables) No space on either side of bed to unpack luggage (and we have 1 trolley bag only!) No wall hooks to hang your coat/scarf etc. The space b/w the bed end and wall is so narrow, u got 2b careful not to knock into corners of the bed.Room faces the main road with pub on the ground floor so it's wise to ask for higher floor. We are happy to have a firm and comfortable mattress. Toilet is new but the shower curtain cannot keep keep the water from flowing to the rest of the toilet when u shower..so the whole floor is wet when one showers! u got to wear slippers to use the toilet again. Kitchen is small (about the size of my room) with only 1 tap/sink usable, 3 stoves and a table with 4 chairs. For A$99 a nite here (member's price), I prefer to stay in the city for a couple of tens more.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

Stayed in the 3/room dorm. Room were clean. Can get a bit noisy at night if you're staying on the lower levels, with the noise from the pubs downstairs/traffic. Shared bathrooms were clean & adequate (2 showers, 2 toilets). Good value for $.
Only lacking points were:
1. No common lounge on 1st floor dorm. Even common lounges on the rest of the floors were just a small room, into which squeezed 2 computer stations, a 2-seater sofa, 1 tv, and a huge vending machine. Not an ideal place at all for hanging out.
2. Kitchens were very small, though fairly clean. One table big enough to sit 4 persons were placed in the middle of the squeezy area.

We stayed at the Eco-lodge YHA in Apollo Bay too, which upon comparison, fared much better in terms of areas to hang out and the sizes of the kitchen/rooms. Then again, these 2 YHAs are located in vastly different environment (ciity vs outskirts).

If you're planning to stay in a 2-bedroom DBL/Twin ensuite, you may consider forking out another 20 AUD or so to get a DBL room ensuite at the Pensione Hotel (a boutique hotel of sorts), just round the corner of YHA Central.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

I stopped at the YHA for a couple of weeks while seeking work in Melbourne. The hostel is situated about a 5 minute walk from Southern Cross station (perfect if you need to get the airport) and only 15-20 walk into the city, where you have all the pubs and clubs and shopping!

As for the hostel itself, it has a very modern design, using earthy colours with a splash of chrome. The bedrooms are decent sizes (6 or 4 bed dorms) with nice comfy beds and (in most cases) a desk. That said the windows are very drafty and do not block out any noises, so if your on the road side, take some ear plugs.

The bathrooms are spacious, they include two toilets, two sinks and two showers on each floor.

There is a kitchen on every floor, but these are fairly small, its cramped if you have more than four people in there. But there are plenty of utensils, plates and cups! But be warned LABEL YOUR FOOD, as it will get thrown out, (i had labelled my $30 of food, but the label came off, so they threw it all away, which as you can imagine i was extremely annoyed with).

There is also a common room on every floor, but these are fairly small as well, five people maximum, unless you like to sit on the floor. They consist of two computers (Global Gossip internet) a television and sofa.

The staff are the friendliest people you'll ever meet (except one) in any hostel. They will help you out with anything.

The hostel has a no drinking policy, so you have to buy drinks in the bar below the hostel called Bertha Browns, there a bit pricey, but they do $5 pizza's Monday to Thursday, which is good!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

This hostel is brand new and smells like one too! The whole furnishing is very modern and exudes class to a backpackers hostel. I took a private room for 2 which comes with a bunk bed and a writing table. Very comfortable beds with good heating in room. Bathroom was shared and very clean with huge mirrors. I like the fact that the shower cubicles has a private extended area to change before getting under the shower. Great kitchenette and very friendly receptionist to help with questions. Location is absolutely great with the free circle tram just across the street. You will be out exploring the city in no time. Highly recommended for youths and anyone looking for a casual comfortable place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Central YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Central YHA

Address: 562 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the centre of the action and explore vibrant Melbourne with Melbourne Central YHA. Located in the heart of the city our friendly hostel never closes with 24 hour reception and our staff are always ready to answer your questions and help you make the most of your trip. Now with a terrific ground floor communal area opened in late 2014, our YHA offers modern facilities as well as an amazing rooftop complete with BBQ for you to enjoy the city views and meet new friends. On the ground floor and decked out in Melbourne's urban cool style, you'll find our 24 hour reception, tour desk, lounge, brand new self catering kitchen and TV room. Upstairs, choose from a range of rooms including 3, 4 and 6 multi-share, twin/double rooms with optional ensuite and exclusive rooftop private rooms. All rooms have lift access and heated with included bed linen and each bed has individual reading lights. There's always plenty to do in Australia's sport and events capital! Melbourne Central YHA is only a short walk to Melbourne's main attractions including Federation Square, ACMI, Yarra River, Bourke St Mall, Eureka Skydeck, Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre, Docklands, Crown Casino, Etihad Stadium, National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne Aquarium and so much more. The free City Circle Tram and the $5 Melbourne Tourist Shuttle stops directly out the front of the hostel and will take you to all the iconic Melbourne sites like the MCG, the Shrine of Remembrance and Rod Laver Arena. Book a room at Melbourne Central YHA and experience Melbourne for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Melbourne Central YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Central Yha Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Central YHA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.