We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Central YHA

Save Saved
You added Melbourne Central YHA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melbourne Central YHA
562 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3001, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 110 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I hadn't stayed at a hostel in 10 years, and was pleasantly surprised how nice they are. The fittings were new, toilets were clean and well designed, bedding was fresh and comfortable. I stayed 3 nights in a 4 person room, and every room mate that passed through was the nicest ever. They were very quiet and respectful, but not unfriendly if you made the effort to talk to them. Our room is facing the main road (Flinders) though, and the traffic noise can be disturbing, particularly if you leave the window open. So bring ear plugs, turn on the fan, and shut the window if you can. This hostel turned out to be the perfect location for me as it was a short walk from the airport express, the pick-up point for surf tours, and the direct bus to the Australian open. So glad I stayed here.

There are lockers under the bed, but you have to bring your own mini padlock.

The only downside is that some of the staff could improve on their service. I did not enjoy the fact that I felt talked-down to at points, rather than as an equal. It felt a bit like being in a school ward. If customer service improved, I would rate this place 5/5.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back - not facing flinders road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    67
    46
    12
    7
See reviews for
9
23
116
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is obviously my opinion not a global impression but I am normally hard to please :-p Will split the review into most common bits:

LOCATION: The central YHA is right next to the main train station and outside a tram stop along with being 10 - 15 minutes walk down Flinders Street (main street) from the high streets so in a perfect location for getting out and about. Yes it is a bit noiser in the rooms because of the location but would be the same if a hotel on the high street so shouldnt complain.

ROOMS: I stayed in 4 male dorm, 2x bunk beds, desk and lockers under the beds and enough space . fan and heater with blind over the window if needed. Rooms not the brighest but the beds very comfy and big enough for singles (you can get doubles I believe). bedding is provided (not towels though) 4/5

BATHROOMS/KITCHEN: male and female separate bathrooms on each floor which have 2 showers (more like wet rooms with large shower area and bench outside) and 2 toilet cubicles . PLUS a combined toilet/.shower around the corner on each floor. this may not seem like a lot for probably say 40 residents on each floor but I went at different times each day from 7am-11 am and never had to wait for either toilet or shower. Good power jets, warm etc so perfect! 5/5

Kitchens are on 2 different floors, plenty of fridges and shelves for storage and all the equipment you need plates, cuttlery etc is provided with 2 washing up areas and cooking areas. bit crammed if everyone is in there but always is in hostels around the world! 4/5

STAFF - very helpful, good with directions etc and no issues with reservation etc.

BREAKFAST - not provided but can pay for a voucher which is $6-7 for a nice cafe outside the hostel. alternatively buy stuff from the hundreds of little supermarkets on the main road outside!

INTERNET - is $5 for a 24 hour WIFI pass (in rooms and there are a couple of desktops in kitchen) or $10/3 days and $15 for 7 day pass. quick reliable internet that sets up when you put the pin in they give you. Could stream videos easily, facebook etc. 5/5

LAUNDRY - this is on floor 1 and has 4 driers and 4 washers I believe. $3 for a wash, $2 for tumble dry and $2 for 2x wash powder packets(which i suppose you could bring).

TIP - get the SkyBus (goes every 10-15 minutes which is on the right outside of main terminal when you depart the airport and costs $17 single or $28 return for adult and is very cheap for families) from the airport to the southern cross railway station which is 5 minutes around the corner down Spencer street. IT IS MUCH CHEAPER THAT A TAXI (i say in grumpiness....)

Bring towels, washing powder for laundry if staying long enough, and laptop to make use of the great internet!

$1 australian dollar = 60p (UK) and 75c (EURO) at the time of writing this

Hope that helps, message if more information needed!

Room Tip: essentially like any other hostel really if you want quieter nights chose less rooms! as it was so h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here for a week over the new year break, the location is very good to a lot of areas like Crown casino, Southbank and has the free tram station just outside.
The biggest problem was some of their staff, I arrived and had a booking and had confirmed the amount for the accomodation months before and upon arrival they wanted to charge the new rates, it was only because I had a copy of an email the staff had sent me confirming the amount, so to prevent them from trying to rip you off I suggest to make sure you get them to confirm in writing the amount if you are booking a few months ahead, and this exchange was with the manager which says a lot about the service, there was also a young woman that works on the front desk and who had the worst attitude I have ever experience in a YHA in Australia, stay clear from her and just deal with someone else at reception. If you get a room on the roof ask to change it as you will never get any sleep as even though it is meant to be after 11pm just the people from the rooms on the roof having assess they do not lock the door so you will have all people coming and staying and drinking on the roof during the night and then have the staff cleaners making noise cleaning the roof at 7 in the morning, we had to change rooms because of this. Overall though was a great location but just a let down having to deal with some of there staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda S, Marketing at Melbourne Central YHA, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thanks for your review 615Gregoryy. YHA takes all reviews seriously and are sorry about the issues you had with the payment. Rates do change throughout the year and we apologise for the error made at reception when you arrived in not checking the rate you had booked at. Regarding noise on the rooftop, this has been discussed with the manager and measures are being put in place to reduce noise during the night – thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to see you again at another YHA in Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

It's 4 star in YHA internal ratings, that being said, you cannot expect high of this hostel. The biggest advantage is location where it's just in the CBD area with travel attraction available by walking distance everywhere. The hostel offers full range of service you can expect from other YHA.

The downside thing is that the room is tiny. We have this 4 share dorm and with our 4 luggages, the space left is very limited. And inside this dorm got no lockers!. I think it's because of the size of the dorm..But it's not safe if you travel solo and have valuables...That being said, some innovations can be done such as install auto lockers in one room and that will be much better..

Room Tip: Twin room is better since they offer more privacy and relaxing space and the price is quite reasonab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here a while back and I still remember thinking how great this place was. Ace location, really great beds, awesome bathrooms. I was there during winter and the plush beddings were really great with the adjustable heater in each room. Staff were great and consistently chirpy. Two 7-11s? Dream come true. A bit pricey though, but this is Australia. I think it was well worth the money considering the location and service. Oh and the cleaning staff were always great!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

I spent quite a bit of time researching the best hostel to stay in in the city and despite little enthusiasm for any of the options, I ended up at Melbourne Central. I stayed 5 nights, spending a night away from the hostel on a Great Ocean Road trip, leaving most of my belongings in my room.

Location wise, it is a good choice, equidistant from the bus station and Federation Square and directly opposite one of the circular tram stops.

I stayed in a 4 bed female dorm with shared bathroom. Although it was spring when I visited, the room was pretty hot and the fan was not particularly adequate and a bit noisy, so the only option was to open the window which wasn't great either as the room faced the main street. Apart from that the room and bathroom were fine. Each bed was allocated a locker underneath the bottom bunk, but remember to bring your own padlock.

I didn't use the kitchen facilities or shared PC but they looked ok too, maybe the kitchen and fridge small for the number sharing.

WiFi was the standard Global Gossip cards at around $7 for 24hrs. Laundry facilities were fine and luggage storage on departure day was efficient.

Reception staff were very helpful in providing info on tours and helped me book my overnight trip.

Overall probably one of the better if not the best option in the city.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in the double ensuite room # 501 on the rooftop - it was nice to have our own space but the central location of the hostel means that it was noisy both from traffic and ventilation machinery on the roof. The double consisted of a simple bedroom plus a bit of extra (a wardrobe and a small worktop with stools that were too low to reach the table comfortably). The bathroom was new and had a good shower. The two common kitchens in the hostel are renovated as well but far too small to accommodate all the guests. A lot of equipment was broken (saucepans without handles) or missing (hardly any forks). On top of the already restricted space they put a TV and several computers into the kitchen as well, which should really go into a separate room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda S, Marketing at Melbourne Central YHA, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thanks for raising the issues Donegal119 - YHA takes all reviews seriously. This hostel is in an old heritage building, so when we renovated it we were not able to make any drastic changes to the structure – hence there is a range of differing rooms sizes. Thank you for the feedback on the kitchen - new equipment is on its way so that there will be plenty of utensils for everyone! YHA appreciates feedback like this on our properties, and we hope to see you again soon at another YHA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melbourne Central YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Central YHA

Address: 562 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3001, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 110 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Melbourne like a local in the heart of the vibrant city with Melbourne Central YHA. Our hostel is ideally located only minutes walk from Melbourne's main attractions and Melbourne's hidden laneways filled with famous street art, cafes and unique bars. The hostel offers modern facilities with two compact self-catering kitchens, Wi-Fi, Skype, tour desk, internet lounges and an amazing rooftop complete with BBQ for you to enjoy the city views and meet new friends! Security is important to us with lockers in all multi-share rooms, electronic door locks and CTV. Our friendly hostel never closes with 24 hour reception and our staff are always ready to answer your questions, give you local advice on the best spots to go in Melbourne and help you make the most of your trip. The free City Circle Tram and the $5 Melbourne Tourist Shuttle stops directly out the front of the hostel and will take you to iconic Melbourne sites such as the MCG, the Shrine of Remembrance and Rod Laver Arena. Melbourne Central YHA is only a short walk to Melbourne's main attractions including Federation Square, ACMI, Yarra River, Bourke St Mall, Eureka Skydeck, Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre, Docklands, Crown Casino, Etihad Stadium, National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne Aquarium and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melbourne Central YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Central Yha Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Central YHA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.