We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice smelling rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Central YHA

Save Saved
You added Melbourne Central YHA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melbourne Central YHA
562 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3001, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 114 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice smelling rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here a while back and I still remember thinking how great this place was. Ace location, really great beds, awesome bathrooms. I was there during winter and the plush beddings were really great with the adjustable heater in each room. Staff were great and consistently chirpy. Two 7-11s? Dream come true. A bit pricey though, but this is Australia. I think it was well worth the money considering the location and service. Oh and the cleaning staff were always great!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    69
    52
    12
    7
See reviews for
9
24
119
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

I spent quite a bit of time researching the best hostel to stay in in the city and despite little enthusiasm for any of the options, I ended up at Melbourne Central. I stayed 5 nights, spending a night away from the hostel on a Great Ocean Road trip, leaving most of my belongings in my room.

Location wise, it is a good choice, equidistant from the bus station and Federation Square and directly opposite one of the circular tram stops.

I stayed in a 4 bed female dorm with shared bathroom. Although it was spring when I visited, the room was pretty hot and the fan was not particularly adequate and a bit noisy, so the only option was to open the window which wasn't great either as the room faced the main street. Apart from that the room and bathroom were fine. Each bed was allocated a locker underneath the bottom bunk, but remember to bring your own padlock.

I didn't use the kitchen facilities or shared PC but they looked ok too, maybe the kitchen and fridge small for the number sharing.

WiFi was the standard Global Gossip cards at around $7 for 24hrs. Laundry facilities were fine and luggage storage on departure day was efficient.

Reception staff were very helpful in providing info on tours and helped me book my overnight trip.

Overall probably one of the better if not the best option in the city.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in the double ensuite room # 501 on the rooftop - it was nice to have our own space but the central location of the hostel means that it was noisy both from traffic and ventilation machinery on the roof. The double consisted of a simple bedroom plus a bit of extra (a wardrobe and a small worktop with stools that were too low to reach the table comfortably). The bathroom was new and had a good shower. The two common kitchens in the hostel are renovated as well but far too small to accommodate all the guests. A lot of equipment was broken (saucepans without handles) or missing (hardly any forks). On top of the already restricted space they put a TV and several computers into the kitchen as well, which should really go into a separate room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda S, Marketing at Melbourne Central YHA, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thanks for raising the issues Donegal119 - YHA takes all reviews seriously. This hostel is in an old heritage building, so when we renovated it we were not able to make any drastic changes to the structure – hence there is a range of differing rooms sizes. Thank you for the feedback on the kitchen - new equipment is on its way so that there will be plenty of utensils for everyone! YHA appreciates feedback like this on our properties, and we hope to see you again soon at another YHA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed here a few weeks ago and definitely recommend it!

Nice and quiet, very convenient to everything, the location in my opinion can't be beat! Literally seconds from the seven eleven and the free city circle tourist tram so that in itself is brilliant! Only a couple minutes walk is the Southern Cross Station and mall including supermarket and numerous other useful things for travelers, so that is also brilliant!

I like that it's a small and quiet hostel, really good if you're shy like me haha; but still opportunity to socialize and meet other backpackers of course (They have a big rooftop and common rooms and a bar/restaurant downstairs but I can't comment as I didn't see them).

Overall - great stay, friendly staff, very clean and comfy with plenty of opportunity for quiet time.

Will definitely be back again on my next stay!

Room Tip: Third floor great for quiet travelers, as is away from the bar downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed here for 2 weeks and overall the place is great. More like a hotel than a hostel, as in very clean and modern. Only downside is the atmosphere is non existent! If your travelling alone (like me) then it's very hard to meet people here. Go to metro or nomads. Also it's in the expensive part of town, of you want cheaper backpacker like accommodation and drinks stay in north CBD

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Clean, comfortable, helpful staff. Thanks to the manager for solving an overbooking issue upgrading my reservation for free! All guests were silent and well educated. good services
, huge roof terrace, many useful facilities

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Very clean and the bed was comfy. A little noisy outside but my mates snoring drowned that out. Excellent dot upstairs to sit and relax with a few drinks. If your on a budget it's a great spot. Good location to town and to south bank

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Central YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Central YHA

Address: 562 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3001, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 114 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Melbourne like a local in the heart of the vibrant city with Melbourne Central YHA. Our hostel is ideally located only minutes walk from Melbourne's main attractions and Melbourne's hidden laneways filled with famous street art, cafes and unique bars. The hostel offers modern facilities with two compact self-catering kitchens, Wi-Fi, Skype, tour desk, internet lounges and an amazing rooftop complete with BBQ for you to enjoy the city views and meet new friends! Security is important to us with lockers in all multi-share rooms, electronic door locks and CTV. Our friendly hostel never closes with 24 hour reception and our staff are always ready to answer your questions, give you local advice on the best spots to go in Melbourne and help you make the most of your trip. The free City Circle Tram and the $5 Melbourne Tourist Shuttle stops directly out the front of the hostel and will take you to iconic Melbourne sites such as the MCG, the Shrine of Remembrance and Rod Laver Arena. Melbourne Central YHA is only a short walk to Melbourne's main attractions including Federation Square, ACMI, Yarra River, Bourke St Mall, Eureka Skydeck, Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre, Docklands, Crown Casino, Etihad Stadium, National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne Aquarium and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melbourne Central YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Central Yha Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Central YHA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.