We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punthill South Yarra Grand

Save Saved
You added Punthill South Yarra Grand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Punthill South Yarra Grand
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Yarra Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 Save 20%
Ranked #40 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I had booked four apartments for a group of friends to celebrate my birthday in Melbourne - visiting from New Zealand, Sydney and Cairns. The apartments were clean , well fitted out - The beds increibly comfortable and the lads on reception were amazing hosts

Certainly we will be back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Greg S,
Thanks for taking the time to provide your comments regarding Punthill South Yarra Grand.
We are extremely pleased that you and all of your friends enjoyed their stay and we do hope that you had a very happy birthday whilst in Melbourne!
We look forward to welcoming everyone back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    51
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
39
38
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great ambience in this hotel. The upbeat reception area was very welcoming and cosy. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment. If it was just two adults sharing the apartment this would be fine but trying to put two adults in the second bedroom would be a real squeeze as it's very tiny. The second bathroom is also incredibly tiny with no bench space to place toiletries around the basin. Compact would be a great way to describe the second bathroom. Despite this tiny second bathroom we still enjoyed our stay in the hotel and the staff were very friendly and delightful to chat with. Great location near to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear CrystalQ,
Thank you for your review of Punthill South Yarra Grand.
In the South Yarra area, apartments are generally on the small size because of real estate prices; however we did concentrate on providing a good sized living area.
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This property has pretty much everything you need for a stay away from home.

Situated right next to South Yarra Train station, IGA supermarket within a minute walk, Trams just around the corner and cosy eats on the ground floor, this place makes it easy to stay a few days without the fuss of it all.

The rooms are just spacious enough to not feel cramped, however, are comparably slightly smaller to some of the other serviced apartments I've stayed in before. The parking is easy and the rooms have all the mod cons required suitable for business or leisure.

The noise from the trains may bother some, however, its not overbearing and definitely cannot be heard when the glass doors are closed up.

The staff are always friendly and its great to see that they care about their guests.

No major faults found about this place.

Room Tip: Stayed on Level 10 in a 1 bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Mike M,
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill South Yarra Grand.
The team at the property will be delighted to know that you enjoyed the apartments, facilities, location and service during your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I am so looking forward to staying here next week. Stayed8 nights in a studio apartment last year and staying 9 night this year in a 2bedroom with my sister. Trip is both business and pleasure and knowing the location and stle of accommodation it is perfect for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Jewels0856,
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding Punthill South Yarra Grand.
As a return guest to Punthill, we are thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay last time, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Hubby and I stayed for two nights, I found the place very modern, very clean and has a very relax atmosphere as you walk in, luv the lounge and the fire place. I also thought the weather forecast in the lift was a great idea.

The shower pressure was good and LOVE the chocolates I found next to the bed as a welcome treat and the word of wisdom I thought that was very nice and very delicious :)

We found the managers (Adrian & Paul) and staff (James) are very friendly and very quick to assist us with anything. Its a nice feeling specially when your far away from home.
The location is great you got the south Yarra train station near by all, cafes and restaurant and supermarket are also near by and easy to find.

Highly recommended to anyone and would diffenetely come back in the future. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Rhea Y,
Thank you for your review of Punthill South Yarra Grand.
The team will be delighted to know that you had such an enjoyable stay and that you are looking forward to a return visit!
We hope to welcome you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend. The facilities in the apartment are lovely - not sure about the strange dog statue on a patch of grass on the balcony. The views were of an open construction site, so the balcony wasn't that appealing. There is an issue with the bedding. I found the beds extremely uncomfortable (way too spongey) and there was only a sheet and thin blanket provided. There is a heater but who wants to sleep with a heater on all night. This was Melbourne in the middle of winter, blankets are needed.

Even though you are not in the CBD, it is well connected with trams and South Yarra train station right across the road, only 3 stops to Flinders St. There are also many places to eat in the area.

Almost all of the staff we encountered were pleasant, however one experience was particularly distasteful and left me with a very poor impression. It relates to the bedding issue I mentioned. I was travelling with people staying in another apartment and all of us commented on how cold it was. I asked the man at reception for a blanket. He acted as if I was asking for something really unreasonable and said he would have to 'try' and find one. He managed to miraculously come up with one, but then proceeded to almost argue with me about the need for a blanket! If I am cold and I want a blanket, I don't want someone telling me I should just put on the heater! So rude! He said he was from Byron Bay so if he wasn't cold, I shouldn't be cold. Customer Service 101 people, don't argue with customers!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Nat_in_viaggi,
Thank you for your review of Punthill South Yarra Grand.
We use very soft and luxurious mattress toppers which most guests love. Next time, please do not hesitate to let us know and we will of course remove the topper and you will find the bed really comfortable.
We are really upset about the poor customer service. As you can see from other reviews, this is highly unusual and as you say, never ever acceptable.
We thank you for staying, and hope that you will contact our General Manager - Tania Sreco on 03 9916 8888 - next time you stay, and Tania will ensure that you receive an excellent rate and have a wonderful stay.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverleigh, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here just for the one night. We were more than happy with our stay. We found our room to be very clean and modern. King size bed and pillows were very comfortable, we slept great, and shower pressure good.
The staff at reception were always lovely and helpful. I especially enjoyed the extra small touches, like the blackboards in the room and in the lift with the weather forecast. Also the little Thank you chocolates and 'words of wisdom'. I really appreciated those things,
Location was good, around the corner from Chapel St and a short cab ride into the city. Parking was reasonably priced, but you do get a little dizzy driving up to the 5th & 6th floor :)

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear MrsK_1983,
Thank you for your review of Punthill South Yarra Grand.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your overnight stay at the property and hope that maybe next time you visit Melbourne you can stay for a bit longer to further explore the city!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Punthill South Yarra Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill South Yarra Grand

Also Known As:
Punthill South Yarra Grand Hotel Melbourne
Punthill South Yarra Grand Hotel
Address: 7 Yarra Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill South Yarra Grand 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the new business and restaurant precinct of South Yarra and with views of Melbourne and Port Phillip Bay, Punthill South Yarra Grand offers spacious, modern, sophisticated and stylish apartment hotel accommodation in Melbourne that rivals no other. The eclectic, lush and stylish décor of our Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom serviced apartments reflects the vibrant, modern atmosphere of the South Yarra area and set a new standard in apartment hotel accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Punthill South Yarra Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punthill South Yarra Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.