We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay cut short, and rude sales rep.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Punthill South Yarra Grand

Save Saved
You added Punthill South Yarra Grand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Punthill South Yarra Grand
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Yarra Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 Save 20%
Ranked #40 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Stay cut short, and rude sales rep.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife booked this as a surprise getaway as a restful break from home renos and the kids. The room presented well in funky decor although not quite what i would call "grand". Unfortunately due to poor sound insulation once the clock came close to midnight and we were trying to sleep, we couldn't due to the thumping bass coming from nearby clubs. I called reception who offered to come and listen( maybe they didn't believe me) which I declined. The man was sympathetic to our situation but due to no vacancies was unable to offer a different room. We subsequently left and went home so we could get a quality sleep. I advised the hotel direct of my issue via email the following day in the hope they might sympathise and offer a free night to make up for the issue. Instead my wife received a call from the abrupt sales rep who argued something could have been done about it ( maybe put their fingers in our ears)and that there are no night clubs in the area. My wife was made to feel like a liar by someone who could do with a lesson in customer service. I would not recommend this hotel location to people wanting to have a good sleep on a Friday or Saturday night, and don't bother following up with their sales staff as they are rude and condescending,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Jfcwesty,
We are so sorry that you did not have an enjoyable stay.
Your email to us asked for a refund and if you did not receive it, your email threatened to post negative reviews on multiple sites. We do not think that the review process is supposed to be used in this way. There are in fact no clubs anywhere near our property and the staff member wished to determine if possibly the noise was from other guests. We certainly did not intend to question your honesty.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    51
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
39
38
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment for a week. The apartment was spotlessly clean, and had lots of great design touches that gave it real character - so much nicer than the often sleek but impersonal style of other apartment chains. The whole place felt very welcoming, and the owners were the loveliest guys you could ever hope to meet - absolutely delightful, and very helpful.

The location is excellent as well - South Yarra is a lovely area, with some fantastic restaurants (make sure to check out the pizza at Versachi's on Toorak Road, and the breakfasts at Two Birds One Stone around the corner on Claremont St), and is very convenient to the city by public transport, with a train station and tram stop just down the street. The apartments themselves are very quiet, and we never bothered by any kind of noise from outside - even the proximity to the train station was almost unnoticeable.

I would definitely stay here again next time I'm in Melbourne.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear PropMonkey,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your complimentary review of Punthill South Yarra Grand.
We are thrilled that the service, the property and its location met all your expectations.
We hope to welcome you back to Punthill Apartment Hotels in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have stayed at Punthill South Yarra Grand on several occassions and it never fails to disappoint.
Great location, friendly staff and really good rooms. The rooms may be a little small for some, but it is in the inner city of Melbourne. I think they are perfect for either a couple or a single and are always available at a good price.
This is my choice in accommodation every time I visit Melbourne.

Room Tip: Be aware that some rooms overlook South Yarra train station. If the noise is a concern for you requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Nickelscout,
It is fantastic to know that as a return guest to Punthill, you are never disappointed!
We thank you for your continued patronage of Punthill South Yarra Grand and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Wasn't impressed by the property at all. Layout of rooms is totally impractical for families. Property was showing its age - loads of scuff marks, things peeling, just very average. Pains me to say as the guys on the desk were lovely and it was cleaned very well, but mediocre for the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear hereinbody,
We are disappointed to read that Punthill South Yarra Grand did not meet your expectations. We have received extremely complimentary reviews for our quirky property since its opening in 2009 however do understand that the decor may not suit everyone.
Punthill has 13 properties and we are confident that we could accommodate you and your family in a property which better suits your requirements. We look forward to being able to welcome you back to Punthill sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

As a seasoned interstate business traveller and having stayed in other accomm in South Yarra previously, everything about the Punt Hill Apartments ticks all the boxes - friendly helpful staff, very clean, really well appointed and location, location, location. After long working days, it was so good to get back to the apartment and just chill for a while, cook if I felt like it or just go down to the street where there are so many great eateries within walking distance. Having stayed in other nearby accommodation before, it was fantastic to have sleepful nights without the disruption of other inconsiderate noisey guests. Thank you so much, I'll definitely stay again and tell others to do the same.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Fran D,
Thank you for your review of Punthill South Yarra Grand.
We agree that South Yarra is a fantastic location and we are so pleased to know that you enjoyed the apartments, facilities and service and are happy to recommend Punthill too!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed in Punthill apartments with my Mum for almost a week whilst recovering from an operation. The apartment itself was beautiful and clean and had everything you could possibly need. It's also in a great location, close to a great range of shops and delicious restaurants. But the most fantastic part about the Punthill South Yarra Grand is definitely its wonderful staff. We were absolutely blown away by the fantastic service of all the staff there - particularly Paul and Adrian! Their friendliness and generosity knows no bounds!

When my Mum first arrived at the apartments (while I was still in hospital) she mentioned to the boys that the lack of an adjustable shower head would make it difficult for me to shower, having just had an operation. By the time she returned that afternoon the boys had already had the old shower head replaced with a new adjustable shower head! Paul also spent half an hour of his time (on his day off!) helping me to work out how to play the DVDs on my hard drive on the apartment's TV, making the fact that I was bed ridden a lot more bearable!

Another day we were left stranded waiting for a taxi that never came leaving us in danger of missing a post-op appointment. After trying in vain to get us another taxi, Paul and Adrian drove us in their own car so we didn't miss the appointment!

Paul and Adrian made a tough recovery much more comfortable and I am so grateful for all that they did for me. I will definitely be staying here again next time I visit Melbourne and would definitely recommend these apartments.

Thanks for everything!

Jacqui

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Jacqui,
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide your lovely comments about the property and staff at Punthill South Yarra Grand.
The team will be thrilled to know that you had such a comfortable stay and we hope to welcome you back to Punthill another time.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goolwa, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

From the moment we drove up to the apartments the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. They actually took notice of the fact another family member had booked in earlier and were able to greet us as though they knew us! Our room was very comfortable and had everything we needed.
The appartment are accessible to public transport, great shops and restaurants and within a short distance of the cbd.
The personal touch was most appreciated.
Only one problem - we couldn't stay longer!

Room Tip: The higher the floor the less noise from the train station below (if you have the windows/balcony do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear GregPam71,
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide your comments regarding Punthill South Yarra Grand.
Our team will be so pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at the property and also enjoyed the South Yarra area!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Punthill South Yarra Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill South Yarra Grand

Also Known As:
Punthill South Yarra Grand Hotel Melbourne
Punthill South Yarra Grand Hotel
Address: 7 Yarra Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill South Yarra Grand 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the new business and restaurant precinct of South Yarra and with views of Melbourne and Port Phillip Bay, Punthill South Yarra Grand offers spacious, modern, sophisticated and stylish apartment hotel accommodation in Melbourne that rivals no other. The eclectic, lush and stylish décor of our Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom serviced apartments reflects the vibrant, modern atmosphere of the South Yarra area and set a new standard in apartment hotel accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Punthill South Yarra Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punthill South Yarra Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.