We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip and new...a decade ago” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Punthill South Yarra Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Punthill South Yarra Grand to your Saves list
Punthill South Yarra Grand
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Yarra Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Hip and new...a decade ago”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Wasn't impressed by the property at all. Layout of rooms is totally impractical for families. Property was showing its age - loads of scuff marks, things peeling, just very average. Pains me to say as the guys on the desk were lovely and it was cleaned very well, but mediocre for the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear hereinbody,
We are disappointed to read that Punthill South Yarra Grand did not meet your expectations. We have received extremely complimentary reviews for our quirky property since its opening in 2009 however do understand that the decor may not suit everyone.
Punthill has 13 properties and we are confident that we could accommodate you and your family in a property which better suits your requirements. We look forward to being able to welcome you back to Punthill sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    62
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
47
46
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

As a seasoned interstate business traveller and having stayed in other accomm in South Yarra previously, everything about the Punt Hill Apartments ticks all the boxes - friendly helpful staff, very clean, really well appointed and location, location, location. After long working days, it was so good to get back to the apartment and just chill for a while, cook if I felt like it or just go down to the street where there are so many great eateries within walking distance. Having stayed in other nearby accommodation before, it was fantastic to have sleepful nights without the disruption of other inconsiderate noisey guests. Thank you so much, I'll definitely stay again and tell others to do the same.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Fran D,
Thank you for your review of Punthill South Yarra Grand.
We agree that South Yarra is a fantastic location and we are so pleased to know that you enjoyed the apartments, facilities and service and are happy to recommend Punthill too!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed in Punthill apartments with my Mum for almost a week whilst recovering from an operation. The apartment itself was beautiful and clean and had everything you could possibly need. It's also in a great location, close to a great range of shops and delicious restaurants. But the most fantastic part about the Punthill South Yarra Grand is definitely its wonderful staff. We were absolutely blown away by the fantastic service of all the staff there - particularly Paul and Adrian! Their friendliness and generosity knows no bounds!

When my Mum first arrived at the apartments (while I was still in hospital) she mentioned to the boys that the lack of an adjustable shower head would make it difficult for me to shower, having just had an operation. By the time she returned that afternoon the boys had already had the old shower head replaced with a new adjustable shower head! Paul also spent half an hour of his time (on his day off!) helping me to work out how to play the DVDs on my hard drive on the apartment's TV, making the fact that I was bed ridden a lot more bearable!

Another day we were left stranded waiting for a taxi that never came leaving us in danger of missing a post-op appointment. After trying in vain to get us another taxi, Paul and Adrian drove us in their own car so we didn't miss the appointment!

Paul and Adrian made a tough recovery much more comfortable and I am so grateful for all that they did for me. I will definitely be staying here again next time I visit Melbourne and would definitely recommend these apartments.

Thanks for everything!

Jacqui

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Jacqui,
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide your lovely comments about the property and staff at Punthill South Yarra Grand.
The team will be thrilled to know that you had such a comfortable stay and we hope to welcome you back to Punthill another time.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goolwa, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

From the moment we drove up to the apartments the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. They actually took notice of the fact another family member had booked in earlier and were able to greet us as though they knew us! Our room was very comfortable and had everything we needed.
The appartment are accessible to public transport, great shops and restaurants and within a short distance of the cbd.
The personal touch was most appreciated.
Only one problem - we couldn't stay longer!

Room Tip: The higher the floor the less noise from the train station below (if you have the windows/balcony do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear GregPam71,
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide your comments regarding Punthill South Yarra Grand.
Our team will be so pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at the property and also enjoyed the South Yarra area!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Hotel was in a great location, 1/2 half walk to bridge road shopping, half hour walk to the MCG for AFL games and many great restaurnats all within a stroll. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and even wrote cool note on the blackboard in our room. Stayed in a 1 bedroom with Balcony and loved the decor, especially the 'puppy' on the deck. Definitely recommend if your looking for a hotel in this area and we plan on using this hotel whenevr we go to Melbs from now on.

Room Tip: We were in level 11 which was the 2nd highest floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Lex33,
We are so delighted that Punthill is now your choice for accommodation when visiting Melbourne!
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments on Punthill South Yarra Grand and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for one week whilst visiting Melbourne. It is just out of the centre so you need transport into Melbourne, but South Yarra well served with the train station right by the hotel and the trams at the the top of the road. We also did a lot of walking and you could walk by the river and into Melbourne or to a lot of the attractions (ie Botanical Gardens) from the hotel. The reception staff were really friendly, always there to help say hello and bye when we were going out (really made us feel welcome). We had a 2 bedroomed apartment, opposite the station (it was noisy in the mornings in the bedrooms, not sure the room was double glazed like the main living area, beds very comfy. Apartment was serviced everyday (except over the Easter weekend) and you could get any additional requirements from the Reception. No info on hotel/area in the room was the major criticism. Although the apartment generally was very clean I would say that the balcony glass was very dirty and ready for a good clean, and there were smears on some of the furniture when we arrived.

Room Tip: Not one opposite the station (although great views over Melbourne)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear marshie61,
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the South Yarra area.
Each apartment has an in-room compendium containing extensive information. We can only assume that the compendium in this apartment was missing for some reason and all apartments have now been checked. There are also many brochures in the foyer.
We do hope to welcome you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

A lovely place to stay with amazing service close to public transport will definitely be staying again thank you for a wonderful stay. Staff very helpful and welcoming rooms and veiw amazing. With in walking distace to the train station and tram shopping on chapel street and easy access to the City. Room facilities where perfect and very clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Tracey S,
Thanks for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill South Yarra Grand on TripAdvisor.
It is the aim of our front office and housekeeping teams to ensure that all guests enjoy the apartments, facilities and service during their stay, so they will be delighted to know that all your expectations were well and truly met during your recent stay at Punthill South Yarra Grand.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punthill South Yarra Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill South Yarra Grand

Address: 7 Yarra Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#50 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill South Yarra Grand 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the new business and restaurant precinct of South Yarra and with views of Melbourne and Port Phillip Bay, Punthill South Yarra Grand offers spacious, modern, sophisticated and stylish apartment hotel accommodation in Melbourne that rivals no other. The eclectic, lush and stylish décor of our Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom serviced apartments reflects the vibrant, modern atmosphere of the South Yarra area and set a new standard in apartment hotel accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Punthill South Yarra Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill South Yarra Grand Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punthill South Yarra Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.