We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Melbourne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Punthill South Yarra Grand

Save Saved
You added Punthill South Yarra Grand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Punthill South Yarra Grand
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Yarra Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Welcome to Melbourne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Had a very enjoyable stay! Good location, nice apartment, well equipped and quiet (I did however request to be on opposite side of hotel to the train station). Adrian on reception was especially helpful with all staff very pleasant. The bedroom was a little small but had no problem as I was travelling alone. I would however recommend implementing a compendium as I had never been to the area and did struggle finding good restaurant's and coordinating train/tram travel. I would definitely stay again :)

P.S. While rooms were well presented the walls could have really used a good clean, also had room fully serviced day 1, no service day 2, only towels and bed made day 3 & 4.

Room Tip: After reading reviews on the property, I requested to be on opposite side of to the train station an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Alison W,
Thank you for your comments regarding Punthill South Yarra Grand and we are very pleased to know that you are already looking forward to staying at Punthill again!
Compendiums are being updated for this property and will be in all apartments by the end of the week.
We are concerned about your comments regarding room servicing and are checking on servicing very thoroughly to ensure that housekeepers are complying with standards.
We do hope to welcome you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    56
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
41
41
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I recently visited Melbourne and stayed here for a total of 11 days during my trip. The apartments were lovely great facilities, modern with large balconies. Also in a perfect location 5 min wakl to Chapel Street which is great for shopping, cafes, bars and resturants. The property is also located next door to SOuth Yarra Train Station which is 2 stations away from Flinders Street.

I really enjoyed my time in Melbourne and the freedom offered by staying in an apratment, I will definately be back to the Punthill next time I visit Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear mascin,
It is fantastic to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at Punthill South Yarra Grand and thank you for taking the time to provide your comments on TripAdvisor.
As you mentioned, the location of this property in South Yarra is extremely convenient to shops, boutiques, bars, restaurants as well as the Botanic Gardens and Yarra River. And with the train station just a 2 minute walk away, this public transportation means that the city is also on your doorstep!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have a great stay at this hotel. DS11 love watching the train station, and we were not aware of any noise in the apartment at all. Very handy to have a full kitchen and laundry facilities as well. We found the bed to be perfectly comfortable. The only issue we had was that the swipe cards didn't work all the time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear NZerLovestoTravel,
So sorry your swipe card was temperamental during your recent stay at Punthill South Yarra Grand. Normally they work effectively, and our 24 hour reception staff will always be able to assist should a problem ever arise.
We are very pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very good location in South Yarra, close to Chapel St with all the shops and restaurants, in a nice residential area, yet not far away from CBD (which means downtown in Australian hehehe). Building is overlooking a train station which can be a problem. Noise is a bit of an issue but it's easy to get used to it. It is kind of interesting to do sit on the balcony and look at people waiting for trains at the station. But not everybody will like this "feature". Apartment itself is ok. Smaller than shown on the pictures but big enough. The biggest problem was the bed. It is supposed to be a king size one but it's really two single beds put together with some thin mattress on top. The whole setting is very uncomfortable. Heating didn't work. At times I had to turn the oven on when it was getting too cold. I guess heating was turned off for the summer but nights can be very cold in Melbourne. We had problems with housekeeping. One day cleaning was really good. Next only garbage was removed. The third day nothing was done. Not sure we will stay here again. oh, it was nice to have a washer/dryer in the apartment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear jkjk,
Thank you for your review of Punthill South Yarra Grand.
The property is ideally situated in South Yarra with plenty of boutique shops, cafes and restaurants just a stone's throw away, and easy access to public transport means that Melbourne city centre is only minutes away too.
When closed, the balcony doors do provide very good sound insulation as they are extremely thick laminated glass.
Many hotels, Puthill included, do make use of 'split king' beds, where beds can be firmly zipped together and topped with a luxurious and comfortable mattress topper. Next time you stay, please request a queen bed if you prefer.
Most guests do not normally require heating in December; however, the heating is certainly not 'turned off' and is of course available. We wish you had advised reception of your problem and the staff would have happily assisted you to adjust the settings for you to be comfortable.
Punthill apartments are serviced daily, whether it be a mini clean daily - where beds are made, garbage removed etc - or a full clean which is extremely thorough. This could explain what you encountered. We service on request on public holidays and there is signage in the lifts and in each apartment advising guests to please request service if required on these days.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Punthill sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Location at South Yarra is excellent. It's obvious from other reviews that the location of the apartment makes a difference. We had a high floor overlooking the railway tracks - so you get a great view of the city but you also get the noise of the trains.

The 2 bedroom apartment is much smaller than Quest SXY or feels like it, possibly due to the configuration. The interior attempts to be trendy which will obviously need a facelift one day when the trend of black-ish interior dies out. The quality of the furniture is cheap disguised in fashionable design. The bedrooms are small. The bathrooms are even smaller and are very badly designed.

The cleaners come late and this can be a nuisance.

The reception staff are very warm friendly and efficient. They do make a positive difference

Quest SXY which is nearby is a better place and this would be a good alternative.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear siglo,
We appreciate you taking the time to provide your comments on TripAdvisor.
Whilst our apartments are compact, they have been extremely carefully designed to include washing machine, dryer and every single modern convenience a guest could need.
We pride ourselves on our up to the minute decor, and do certainly refurbish when trends change. We do prefer this approach rather than decor lacking in personality or style, which admittedly, does not date as quickly.
So sorry you didn't like our taste but we can assure you the furniture is extremely good quality and was picked for a combination of both durability and style.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed in the 2 bedroomed apartment (hubby, myself & 18yr old son) for a week over the New Year period, arriving 29th December & it was all we could want. We were on the 7th floor over looking the train station but more importantly overlooking the city so had a fantastic veiw of the fireworks. Sure this one overlooked the train station so was a little noisy once the trains started but also interesting watching some of the characters on the platforms at night. As it was hot we had the apartment closed most of the time & made full use of the aircon so you could barely hear them & to be honest we simply got used to them so they did not impact on us. It was actually a bonus being so close to the train & trams so for us all good!
The apartment is also close to some really great little restaurants, an good IGA & of course the famous Chappel Street not to mention the Toorak shops so what more could a serious shopper want just in that alone!
The apartment was cosy & yes the bedrooms a bit small but hey people it is a Hotel Apartment not your own home so if you want big, spacious & what you have at home go rent a house in my books!
The reception staff were absolutely delightful & so warm & welcoming & helped out in whatever way they could so thank you people. The apartment was spotlessly clean when we got there but as it was over the New Year Eve break the cleaning/servicing was not up to scratch (there was notification on this though) but all we had to do was go to reception & they sorted out a few minor issues promptly.
A review I have just read here stated the 2 bedroomed apartment had a double bed that was uncomfortable? Hmm.... I think they must have stayed elsewhere?? I have serious arthritis (plus 2 total hip replacements) so a good big bed is a priority for me (we have a very good King at home) & the bed we had was definitely a Queen. Sure it was smaller to what we are used to but we fitted in ok & it was extremely comfortable & I did not wake up uncomfortable or in pain so that speaks to me of a good quality bed!
The kitchen was more than adequate for our needs & we had breakfast there every day & to be honest with all good intentions of eating in at night we have to sheepishly admit we ate dinner out the whole time as hey people this is Melbourne with every cuisine imaginable close at hand & way cheaper than what we have in Perth so a no brainer for us! lol
We also made full use of the washer & dryer that is tucked away in the ensuite so an added bonus after 4 weeks of being on the road & it also had a rack you could put on the balcony for drying, just remember to bring your own pegs.

All in all this is a brilliant place to stay, sure a tad on the expensive side but we would not hesitate to stay there again next time we are in Melbourne on holidays & would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Jennifuz,
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide your very complimentary review of Punthill South Yarra Grand on TripAdvisor.
It is fantastic to read that you had such a wonderful time and so enjoyed the facilities, service and location of our apartment hotel whilst visiting Melbourne!
We hope to welcome you back to Punthill next time you head east from WA!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The staff are super friendly and accommodating - thank you Adrian, Paul and Clint! The room was immaculate - clean, large and with a balcony and great view of the CBD. The bed was super comfy. Location is perfect - close to Chapel St and 2 minutes from South Yarra train station and tram stops.

Parking is easy and cheap... checkout simply (even though I snoozed and left 2 hours after deadline).

I loved the elevator quote every day - inspirational and made me smile.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Roberta B,
The whole team at Punthill South Yarra Grand will be absolutely thrilled to read that you had such an enjoyable stay at the property and thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on TripAdvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill sometime soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Punthill South Yarra Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill South Yarra Grand

Address: 7 Yarra Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill South Yarra Grand 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the new business and restaurant precinct of South Yarra and with views of Melbourne and Port Phillip Bay, Punthill South Yarra Grand offers spacious, modern, sophisticated and stylish apartment hotel accommodation in Melbourne that rivals no other. The eclectic, lush and stylish décor of our Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom serviced apartments reflects the vibrant, modern atmosphere of the South Yarra area and set a new standard in apartment hotel accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Punthill South Yarra Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill South Yarra Grand Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punthill South Yarra Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.