We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Punthill South Yarra Grand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Punthill South Yarra Grand to your Saves list
Punthill South Yarra Grand
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Yarra Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (Chapel Street)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE WiFi & 10% off
Ranked #42 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend in October and found the hotel to be fantastic. One bedroom apartment was more than big enough for the two of us, although if more people are staying I would book a larger apartment. The rooms are clean, tidy and well thought out. We cooked dinner one night and had ample equipment and space. The staff were friendly and helpful on all occassions. We took the bikes for an afternoon and it is a very easy ride to Southbank and back. The location is great if you are looking for something out of the CBD. Would defiinitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank big_red001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at South Yarra Grand for a mid week getaway and were delighted with the accomodation and the service. The staff were all wonderfully friendly, despite us arriving in the middle of the night and being a bit cranky ourselves. The apartment itself was funky, tastefully decorated and immaculately presented - everthing was spotlessly clean, and the bed perfectly made every day with crisp white sheets. I also particularly liked the little metal dog and his patch of faux grass sitting on the balcony. The attention to detail and the pride taken in the presentation of their apartments is really obvious. 5 stars!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spc11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeiranS, Public Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear spc11_12

Thanks so much for leaving your review on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

Your comments regarding our customer service are a wonderful endorsement of our property management team. We take great pride in ensuring each and everyone of our guests walk away satisfied with their Punthill experience.

Thanks for your wonderful comments about the style of our rooms. Each Punthill location has it's own unique character which reflects the local surrounding area. Our rooms are designed with great attention to detail and our overall customer feedback is testament to this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill South Yarra Grand again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Am a regular traveller both business and pleasure and stay often at Punthill Flinders Lane, which is always excellent. Going by previous reviews I expected this would be similar. Well it was not. The noise during the week from the station, starting at 5am is bad, wouldn't matter where you are as all windows if open are effected. This I could forgive, we knew the location. If you are staying a friday/saturday it would not both you so much. We stayed for six nights. Cleaning is sub standard. Nothing is ever moved and cleaned under/behind. Bathroom standard was unacceptable, on requesting a decent clean to the bathrooms nothing occurred. One was so bad, from previous occupant, we could not use it. Took three requests and two days until one very obliging night manager cleaned it himself. The apartments are modern and well appointed, is a shame they are not being maintained as this type of neglect will lead to premature ageing of the property. My advice: stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jil_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeiranS, Public Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Jil_33

We understand you stayed with Kate3222 who wrote the review below yours. We reiterate our response below as we believe this sufficiently addresses your concerns.

Please contact management to offer further feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to Punthill again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Nice rooms but VERY noisy right by the train station. Could hear all the announcements on the platform even from a high floor. Not clean! Yuk Yuk Yuk. Dirty bathrooms, dirty blankets. A real shame as the rooms are nice, but not kept clean.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate3222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeiranS, Public Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Grand, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Kate3222

Thanks for leaving your comments on Tripadvisor although we're very sorry to hear your stay was not enjoyable. Our rooms do have double glazing and it's rare that we receive comments about exterior noise from the train station.

We are shocked and disappointed to hear your feedback about our housekeeping service as we take great pride in maintaining our rooms to a very high standard. We have meticulously inspected Punthill South Yarra Grand and the apartments are spotlessly clean. We feel your experience must have been a one off situation and we have taken steps to ensure that this this does not occur in the future. Please contact management directly to offer further feedback.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have stayed here a couple of times and will continue to go here every time we are in the Melbourne area! Adrian and Paul were the most amazing and welcoming staff we have encountered in melbourn. They went university and beyond to make us feel at home and help out with anything we needed. We have stayed in Melbourne a lot and had not received such excellent service anywhere else! We have already pre booked our next couple of stays. It's in great location walking distance to chapel st shops, Prahran market and transport as well as a very short cab drive to anywhere in the city. The apartments are cute and very nicely decorated. There are king beds in the one bedroom apartments and they put lollipops on the bedsides to welcome you. The apartments are smallish but are totally made up for by the larger than life personalities of Adrain and Paul! Stay here! You'll love it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iDeeAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Four of us went to Melbourne for the first time. We rented two 1 bedroom apartments in Punthill South Yarra Grand and we were absolutely delighted with them. Right in the middle of town, beautifully & cleverly designed with absolutely EVERYTHING you need in them: down to washer & dryer, 2 TVs, micro wave, plates and even with a veranda with artificial grass and a metal dog! There were restaurants right round the corners for breakfast/lunch/dinner. Also a train station across the road: that got us a bit worried about noise but the rooms are at the back and we had no noise disturbance at all. They also have a garage for parking of cars FOC. The staff were also very helpful. Just PERFECT!! Will highly recommend to anyone

Room Tip: we were very happy with our rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franschhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Everything from the location and reception staff to the apartment itself were great. Restuarants and shops are easy to hand and the train station & tram are right outside the front door.
We had a two bedroom apartment on the 9th floor and requested a cot for our baby (only complaint is that the bedroom were to small to fit the cot in) the little one was in the living room rather than our room but no different to being in their own room at home.
we will definately use again and recommend to anyone looking for something better than just a hotel room in Melbourne

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 11Ady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#26 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 975 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#22 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#25 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,860 reviews
Chapel Street
Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill South Yarra Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill South Yarra Grand

Address: 7 Yarra Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill South Yarra Grand 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the new business and restaurant precinct of South Yarra and with views of Melbourne and Port Phillip Bay, Punthill South Yarra Grand offers spacious, modern, sophisticated and stylish apartment hotel accommodation in Melbourne that rivals no other. The eclectic, lush and stylish décor of our Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom serviced apartments reflects the vibrant, modern atmosphere of the South Yarra area and set a new standard in apartment hotel accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Punthill South Yarra Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill South Yarra Grand Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing