We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stan is the Man!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glendalough Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glendalough Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Glendalough Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
197 - 199 Cashmere Street | Travancore, Melbourne, Victoria 3032, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 28 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Toronto
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Stan is the Man!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We chose to stay with Stan after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. Melbourne is a beautiful city and Stan made our stay that much more enjoyable . We had a wonderful time on two tours ( Great Ocean Road & Yarra Valley Wine ttasting) that he had recommended. He went above the call of duty driving us for an early morning tour pick up and stayed with us (there was a mix up on location) until transportation arrived. The early breakfasts were good but surpassed by evening kitchen conversations with sparkling wine. Glendalough B&B is such a refreshing change of scene compared to staying in another hotel at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
44
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Glendalough B&B is a perfect place to stay for someone who is visiting Melbourne for the first time. The location is good , just 20 minutes tram ride to the city and a very peaceful neighbourhood and it also helps that Stan is such a wonderful host. He picked us from the airport and it was a 20 minutes drive to the city.

The rooms are cozy but spacious enough for a couple to stay. We stayed for 8 nights and didn't have any problems using the shared toilets. The breakfast provided is decent with few choices of bread ,coffee/tea and a bowl of fruits.

It was a great experience staying with Stan , as he is a very helpful and a interactive host. He is a fairly good knowledge of the city and its history and its good to get this information from an experienced traveller like him.

Room Tip: Piano room is good !!..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Staying at Glendalough should be one of the main Melbourne attractions! Of course, as a B&B it has none of the sterile, anonymous features of a hotel, but even as a B&B it is so special because of Stan. He really " knocks himself out" to be a terrific host - pick ups from the airport for a small fee, transit cards provided, great suggestions on where to go and what to eat - (he likes authentic cuisine - often local - not overpriced tourist food!.) wonderful breakfasts, laundry washed and dried on his outside clothes line - and much more. I don't know when he sleeps as breakfast is always ready when you get up and he is usually up when you come in after a long day sightseeing - and always asks about your day.

Stan is genuinely interested in his guests = really in life in general - He had a career that took him all over the world to work and his home is filled with treasures from those travels. it is true that there is not a lot of room to put your stuff in the piano room - with a grand piano - and organ and beautiful artifacts - but that slight inconvenience is more than repaid with the pleasure of enjoying these beautiful objects. This is a magnificent heritage home and the atmosphere is perfect.

My favorite thing - Stan provided soft cotton Japanese kimonos for the guests to wear to/from the central bath - but some of us wore them to breakfast as they were lovely and we felt so comfortable in his home.

On some of the evenings when we were not out late sightseeing - we joined Stan and other guests and friends around his kitchen table for great chats over a glass or two of wine. These are the great memories I will have forever from my first trip to Australia.

The house is in a lovely safe and quiet neighborhood = a couple of blocks to the tram and very easy to find. We actually stayed there twice during our holiday - before and after a trip to Tasmania - on our return I really felt like we were going home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Glendalough B&B has been a perfect accomodation for my stay in Melbourne. The house is beautiful, always clean and warm. The location is very near to the centre of the city, but not too noisy as a big city centre can be....a lot of green and nice neighbourghood.

However, the real strenght of this B&B is its host, Stan, a very polite and friendly man, who helped a lot with logistics, transport and tourism tips. I really felt at home and always safe, which is very important for a single female travel.

Francesca (Santinelli)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was our first stop for our honeymoon. For a small fee Stan collected us from the airport which is 20-30 minute drive depending on traffic even with our flight being delayed by an hour,. We stayed in 'The Piano' room which had a Grand Piano and beautiful decorative ceilings.
Breakfast was cereals, fruit, yogurt and selection of breads also lovely coffee from Bali.
There is a shared bathroom which was fine by us.
Stan gave us MyKi cards to use on the tram and train which could be topped up in the local shop and by leaving a balance on the card it could be used by the next guest.
The house is in a nice quiet area and is a 5 minute walk to the tram stop.
The journey into the city only takes 20 minutes by tram. Trams run frequently so you won't have to wait too long.
Stan is great from returning emails from our initial queries, on giving tourist information advice and generally being a great host.
I would highly recommend anyone to stay here for any occasion in Melbourne.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We arrived at Glendalough about an hour earlier than expected (8 a.m.) which might throw lesser hosts into a tailspin. However, Stan began our early arrival with the ease, effortless hospitality and grace he displayed throughout our three night stay.

Glendalough is 15-30 minutes from the airport (depending on traffic), on the northwest side of Melbourne. You are a brief 20 minute tram ride from downtown Melbourne and a 3-5 minute walk from the house to your tram. We enjoyed our daily walk to/from the tram because you get a curbside experience of residential Melbourne. As other reviewers mentioned, Stan gives an extensive explanation of best travel practices in the area. We enjoyed two lovely tours - the Great Ocean Road tour and the Yarra Valley wine tour. Stan was incredibly helpful in facilitating and suggesting tour groups.

Stan has also brilliantly bypassed the hiccups in the new in 2013 tram system. He has MyKi passes registered to the house - so you top off the cards for the next guests, saving each guest a few dollars and multiple hassles.

Regarding the house, I've been trying to wrap my mind around it in order to provide an accurate description. If you want clean lines and a white glove experience, this is not it. If you want to experience a charming 1920s home with original woodwork, leaded stained glass windows with an decorative Asian flare, this is your place. Stan has poured himself into the house - finding interesting Asian pieces sprinkled amid his love of pianos, paintings and period light fixtures. He has found incredibly comfortable beds and cozy bed linens (had a hard time getting my husband out of the comfy bed the last day.) Our lovely bedroom (the many times lauded Music Room) and the shared bathroom were tidied up daily. Stan runs a very comfortable and clean home, make no mistake.

Breakfast was simple but plentiful. Lovely seasonal fresh fruit, a variety of breads, local marmalades (try the lime or ginger), cheese, cereals and, most importantly, hot coffee (or tea).

Overall, Glendalough is more than a house. It's an experience. The house is lovely but the shinig star is Stan's gift for hospitality.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad choice. We enjoyed the autumn foliage in the Music Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We continue to be delighted by the Glendalough Bed & Breakfast experience. It is a lovely, peaceful place to come to: cool and welcoming in the summer weather with a lush garden. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the breakfasts delicious. Those unaccustomed to Melbourne need not worry as Stan will provide all the information and assistance needed to get around the city easily. He is the warmest and most considerate of hosts.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendaloughbnb, Owner at Glendalough Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We are so happy that our regular guests continue to enjoy the ambience and tranquility of our small B&B. Even when the weather was extremely hot this month in Melbourne, we managed to escape most of the heat. Thankyou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glendalough Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendalough Bed & Breakfast

Address: 197 - 199 Cashmere Street | Travancore, Melbourne, Victoria 3032, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1924, this heritage listed mansion rests in tranquil gardens high on the hill. Located just 4km from central Melbourne in the quiet secluded Travancore estate, Glendalough is close to public transport, Melbourne Airport, Flemington Racecourse, Royal Melbourne Show Grounds, Melbourne Zoo & The University of Melbourne. Glendalough has 4 guest rooms with queen & double beds. All rooms have HD TV, DVD & music systems & free wifi. Hearty breakfast included. Laundry & ironing facilities. We now provide transport smart cards (myki)for all guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glendalough Bed And Breakfast
Glendalough Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glendalough Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.