We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely professional staff and unbelievable comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Save Saved
You added Hilton Melbourne South Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #13 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Extremely professional staff and unbelievable comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

When we arrived from interstate the staff allowed us to check in 8 hours early. The location was excellent, close to everything we wanted to see.
The rooms were cool, relaxing, and the bed felt like you were floating on it. We had an awesome view of the city and the Yarra River which was very romantic.
Extremely professional staff and unbelievable comfort made us decide that the Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is the place to stay when in Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    993
    497
    114
    46
    14
See reviews for
197
594
130
562
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Foster, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for just one night, it was everything and more then i expected. the room was fantastic with great views. Staff very helpful, breakfast great.
I like the location a nice easy walk to everything. Can't wait to stay here again

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

A very good, recently established property in Melbourne's South Wharf (Docklands) area, with great views of the city and water, and close by the Convention and Exhibition Centres. Crwon Casino is also close by. Rooms are modern and comfortable - would recommend the executive floor for little extras like breakfast and evening canapes and drinks. The property doesn't have a pool, however its bar and restaurant are very good and the ambience is excellent, particularly for the business traveller. Service was polite and attentive. Hiltonhonors GOLD and DIAMOND members currently get free wi-fi. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

I am a frequent business traveller to Melbourne and I found the Hilton on South Wharf staff to be the most polite, friendly and professional staff that I have encountered. The rooms and amenities are all top-notch, the room-service menu has plenty of healthy choices, and the location is also ideal if you work in one of the buildings in the Docklands area and prefer to be able to walk to and from the office.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

We stayed one night as a weekend getaway in the city. We booked the executive club room over the internet. Price advertised was $360 but when you entered in 2 adults it was priced as $375. Most hotels do not charge an extra $15 for 2 adults instead of 1. I think this is quite misleading. I checked on a few other accomodation websites and they all did it for this hotel. Be upfront about charges!!
The club lounge was not impressive at all. The afternoon drinks had only 2 choices of beer and one wine. No spirits were offered and the canapes were dissapointing. I have been to many club lounges and this one did just not measure up.
The club lounge is like an airport lounge with no service at all offered at breakfast. The least they could do was put some tablecloths on some of the tables to improve the atmosphere. Very dissapointing for a hotel of this standard.
I rang down and asked if we could go to the normal restaurant instead of eating breakfast in the club lounge and was informed that this was not possible. I was really not interested in spending any more time than necessary in this lounge.

Room was lovely with a great view. The location was also great. The bar downstairs has a great atmosphere and we enjoyed our Saturday night in there.
Probably wouldnt bother going back to this hotel as there are much better hotels in Melbourne for the same price.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

We had 2 rooms for 1 night at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf on 29 December and then on 16 & 17 January 2 rooms for 2 nights. This is a fantastic hotel and the service is - without exception - first class! And so is the food!

Arranging our first stay directly with the hotel months earlier and the second stay just the week before arrival, through to checking in and being looked after the entire time there, all staff were excellent. Indeed, the General Manager himself, upon seeing us carrying lots of luggage as we were walking through the lobby to check out, took some items from us and arranged for the Concierge to have all our luggage taken on a trolley.

Arriving into Melbourne a couple of hours earlier than anticipated for our second stay, the reception person went to great lengths to get one of our rooms available shortly after arrival. And soon after, when walking into the Executive Lounge, the young woman at the desk greeted us with "welcome back!" And the Executive Lounge is incredible - it is very large and offers so much for anyone using it.

The views from this new hotel are simply sensational. We had 13th floor rooms looking out to Westgate Bridge on our first stay, and 16th floor rooms looking out to the Yarra River and the city for our second stay. Especially at night, looking straight down the river with the bridges and spectacular display of lights, you could be forgiven for a moment for thinking you were in Paris looking down the River Seine.

Everything at this place is done well - and every single staff member gave wonderful service with a smile. This is one hotel we will most definitely stay at again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Our stay at the Hilton totally exceeded our expectations. The rooms were pristine, very clean and extremely comfortable, customer service was 5 stars and the location was ideal for shopping and the tennis! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning to stay in Melbourne, i will be returning to the Hilton next time i am in Melbourne!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Synonymous with quality, service, and style, Hilton offers the best of Melbourne.Immerse yourself in riverside cool that is the innovative Hilton Melbourne South Wharf. This upper upscale hotel is located in dynamic South Wharf Promenade and only a short stroll to the CBD, Docklands, Southbank dining precinct and Etihad Stadium - and beside the premium DFO South Wharf. The hotel offers spectacular city views, and mouth-watering dining and drinking options at Nuevo37 restaurant and Sotano Wine + Tapas bar. It has sophisticated private event spaces, and a unique conference offering with partner Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre. •Stylish riverside hotel on South Wharf Promenade, next to DFO South Wharf•Internal access via first floor link to Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre•Executive Lounge with outdoor terrace•396 generous rooms with spectacular views of the city or bay•60 Executive rooms and 54 Yarra, Relaxation and Two-Bedroom Suites•Four-point bathrooms with Peter Thomas Roth® amenities•Sophisticated Nuevo37 restaurant•Authentic Sotano Wine + Tapas Bar•Casual all-day Caffè Cino•24-hour Hilton Fitness by Precor® ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.