We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel near Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Melbourne South Wharf to your Saves list
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #17 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel near Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

We stayed at this hotel because we were attending an awards night at the Melbourne Convention Centre. Albeit rather expensive, it was worth it because you could walk from the first level of the hotel to the convention centre without going outside. The room was well appointed with a beautiful comfortable queen bed (plus a single bed too) with beautiful linen, and a very large bathroom including a bath and separate shower. We also enjoyed a yummy buffet breakfast before checking out. It's about a 5 minute walk to the Crown Casino and there is undercover outlet shopping right next door. If you want to save money on parking, park across the road at the open-air parking and the hotel will validate your ticket so it only costs $20 (valid for 1 exit only). I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are willing to pay a bit more than other hotels in Melbourne, and especially if you are attending an event at the Convention Centre or Exhibition Centre.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stormchaser71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hampshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

I had used the Hilton e-upgrade when booking and got a Yarra suite overlooking the river and city. It was very spacious and comfortable, with a large lounge and separate bedroom. I was also able to get into the room on arrival at 6am - very lucky! The executive lounge at this hotel is excellent and the gym is very good also, if a little small.
The location is not so good unless you need to be at the convention centre next door. Its about a 15 minute walk to the CBD or $10 in a cab. However, because of the quality of the hotel I thought that a small inconvenience.
My only real gripe, and this applies to most hotels, is the excessive internet charges - A$29 a day is pretty steep.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dk011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

This was an excellent hotel. The room was very clean, the shower was powerful and the room service was excellent. Wonderful King size bed with quality pillows and bedding. I'm not sure when this hotel opened, but it felt brand new. Great view of Melbourne from the room window.

We didn't have a booking, but the staff member at reception matched the Wotif online discounted rate. Very pleased about this.

The best thing about the room was the automatic window blind which blocked every bit of light entering the room at night, this was great for me as I am a very light sleeper and light disturbs my sleep. I wish all hotels allowed you to completely darken the room like this. Thank you, Hilton.

Only downside was the very long line & wait for Breakfast the next morning. We were taken up to the Business Lounge to have breakfast as the restaurant was full. So kudos to the Food & Bev Manager for acting quickly. Breakfast was great except for the coffee, typical burnt taste you find in most hotels.

Overall, a fantastic experience. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartiniBender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Some earlier reviews have found some faults but we could not. We had excellent check in service provided by Brian and looked after in superb fashion by Lindsay in the Executive Lounge.

Our room on the 13th level had great views of the river and city buildings. It was very comfortable, especially the bed and so quiet. The "black out" blind is very effective in keeping out early morning light.

Check out was very smooth and we overall very impressed by the efficiency and friendliness of the staff.

It is on the outskirts of the CBD but it is an easy walk to the CBD and not far to the City Circle tram if you are not keen on walking.

It was our best hotel experience for some time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daisycutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

This review is very hard to write, as some of the staff did try to make it special and the executive lounge staff and offerings were superb, I hate sounding like a spoilt pratt, but..... Booked and paid months ahead on hilton site, emailed ahead regarding a room request and the purpose of trip, and to the managers credit he had his PA respond stating they would try to accommodate us. Arrived at hotel, no upgrades available, rooms sold out ????? Arrived in room, yes did have the great view that we wanted and there was a bottle of champagne from the manager with a card. Ok then, that is above the call of duty. Room was lovely there is no doubt about that. Went downstairs to the desk, heard the check in agents with other customers advising, "congratulations, you have received a complimentary upgrade ", ok, maybe they are diamond or gold Honors....Hang on,did they say they booked via a discount website ???, so much for Hilton loyalty.....
Next day in executive lounge met up with another group who were also delighted that their stay was upgraded to a relaxation suite, considering they also booked via a discount website....
It seems that the only ones that were not were the Hilton Members who booked with Hilton.
Thank heavens the room and executive lounge saved the day, the staff in the exec lounge are some of the best I have ever come across.

Came home and emailed the Mager's PA and received a response which included " We treat Hilton Honors members with many benefits, like upgrades ...., sorry my friend, but you didn't this weekend.
But alas, this is very common in Australian Hiltons, (especially Melbourne Hilton on The Park,, where they treat you like dirt)
Stay with Hilton in the USA and they treat you like royalty, a reason why you stay loyal to the brand.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Travelled for business and hotel is well located next to MCEC. The business lounge upgrade offer ($10/night) was well worth it - like your own Qantas Club in the hotel. However the tables in the lounge were too low to sit at comfortably. Can't work that out. Plus, why do hotels only give you a doona on the bed? The rooms are aircondtioned, so no frosty night air to keep out. Its overkill and despite my writing to the Manager to ask 'why' - they haven't answered. At least we were able to get housekeeping to make up the bed with a proper top sheet and blankets. However the bed had a noticeable dip on one side - got me beat how that happens in a hotel. But overall, we had a nice time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martinjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

This was the perfect way to spend our Anniversary!

Upon arrival we were greeted by concierge who were more than attentive and welcomed us to the newest Hilton in Melbourne. Staff congratulated us on 3 years of marriage and confirmed our Executive room with all the goodies of exec lounge which didn't go un-enjoyed!

Upon entering our room we found Sparkling wine!!

We are from Melbourne so the city was nothing unfamiliar but the luxury of not have to travel all the way back home was great and a new surrounding was great!

The restaurant Nuevo37 was brilliant! My wife had the Paella which was awesome! (I managed to try some!) However the Brulee was the highlight for me!

Service was second to none! Which is always expected and delivered at Hilton!

Thanks guys! We will be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cooperscouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,853 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,641 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,620 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#29 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,735 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing