We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely views and great room with awesome bathroom” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Save Saved
You added Hilton Melbourne South Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #13 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“lovely views and great room with awesome bathroom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Stayed here for my Birthday. We had a relaxation suite which was really lovely. Big comfy bed, big TV, huge bathroom with a huge shower and nice deep bathtub. The room had huge floor to ceiling windows looking up the Yarra River which was a great view. Even had a coffee machine, a dishwasher and clothes washer./dryer. The breakfast downstairs in the restaurant/bar was very good and you can get your eggs cooked anyway you like them. A very good hotel. Loved it.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,696 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,013
    505
    115
    49
    14
See reviews for
200
606
131
570
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

My wife & I stayed at the hotel to celebrate our anniversary. We were provided with a room on the 17th floor with stunning view of Melbourne City. The decor is modern & stylish. The location is just a short walk from many attractions including the Crown Casino, Village Cinema, Docklands, City Circle Tram, NGV........and of course right next door to DFO.

After a long day of sightseeing and of course shopping, we were so surprised to find a chilled bottle of champagne and a plate of strawberries on the table with a greeting card from the General Manager Michael Bourne! Thank you so much.

Also my wife loved the seashell laced with the Romance essential oil left on the pillows.

Breakfast has so many selections from fresh juice to personalised omlette cooked to perfection by the Egg Chef. All the staff are always friendly and helpful. Thanks for such a wonderful stay & this will be our first choice of hotel in Melbourne.

OZMIK

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

We had a marvellous time at the Hilton on our recent visit to Melbourne. I liked the position of the hotel which was out of the hurley burley of central Melbourne, but near enough for a pleasant walk in to town.
The service was impressive and friendly. I had a problem with my booking which was resolved swiftly and fairly. I am told the restaurant is excellent, but did not eat there so cannot vouch for it myself. The breakfast buffet was very good indeed .
I loved our room, big and airy. The bathroom was excellent with a seperate shower.
Outstanding bar in this hotel. A proper bar with a good choice of beers and friendly service.
Well run Hotel. The manager and staff should take a pat on the back. Well done.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genf
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

This hotel is one of those new-build international Hiltons built to the chain's latest standards, which are quite good indeed.
The rooms are very spacious, tastefully decorated in a modern style, and display very good craftmanship and materials.
The executive lounge is extremely spacious, has free internet, and tasty if limited eating options (continental breakfast only). Lounge's day manager is very hospitable, while some of the other staff are still learning their jobs.
The area around the hotel is developing fast; I understand it is now near completion. The central business district is only a short walk away across the river, where one can take the free tram if tired.
If taking the aerobus from the airport, the Hilton is the first stop on the free connecting shuttle, making for a short trip at much lower cost than taxis.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

Checked into our room late at night to be met by the most amazing view of the lights of Melbourne through the floor to ceiling windows - truly breathtaking.
Very modern room with all the trimmings. The best bed ever - so big, plush and cozy - I want one at home please !
Breakfast was excellent in a very hip restaurant. Great service from friendly young staff.
Position not the best but still think this hotel is up there with the Intercontinental which is our favourite Melbourne hotel.
We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

Great location close to DFO and Crown stayed in King Relaxation Suite and it was worth every cent. Stunning property great Food and staff made every effort to ensure we were well looked after. Will stay whenever I am in Melbourne! Great Art in Foyer.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

We stayed at the Hilton South Wharf for the 4th time it is one of the best hotels in Melbourne with an unbelievable view of the city skyline & the river. It is a very modern hotel with excellent service & ammenities close to all that Melbourne has to offer. This stay was for a birthday celebration & it was very well received by my partner who had a very relaxing weekend at the Hilton in a beautiful room with great service.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Synonymous with quality, service, and style, Hilton offers the best of Melbourne.Immerse yourself in riverside cool that is the innovative Hilton Melbourne South Wharf. This upper upscale hotel is located in dynamic South Wharf Promenade and only a short stroll to the CBD, Docklands, Southbank dining precinct and Etihad Stadium - and beside the premium DFO South Wharf. The hotel offers spectacular city views, and mouth-watering dining and drinking options at Nuevo37 restaurant and Sotano Wine + Tapas bar. It has sophisticated private event spaces, and a unique conference offering with partner Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre. •Stylish riverside hotel on South Wharf Promenade, next to DFO South Wharf•Internal access via first floor link to Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre•Executive Lounge with outdoor terrace•396 generous rooms with spectacular views of the city or bay•60 Executive rooms and 54 Yarra, Relaxation and Two-Bedroom Suites•Four-point bathrooms with Peter Thomas Roth® amenities•Sophisticated Nuevo37 restaurant•Authentic Sotano Wine + Tapas Bar•Casual all-day Caffè Cino•24-hour Hilton Fitness by Precor® ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.