We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic base to explore Melbourne from” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Save Saved
You added Hilton Melbourne South Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #13 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic base to explore Melbourne from”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

My husband and I stayed in a Yarra Suite, amazing view, amazing room! The Executive Lounge was a great place to kick off the evening with the complimentary nibbles and drinks. Easy walking distance to all the key sights in Melbourne. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,014
    505
    116
    49
    14
See reviews for
201
606
131
571
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

Beautiful hotel, love all the timber and artwork. The staff are great and make you feel comfortable and at ease . Not intimidating at all ( which some hotels can be).
Staff go out of their way to help. Love the bar and breakfast is great. The most comfortable beds!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

I cannot wait to return. I plan on coming down again ASAP to spend a weekend in complete luxury with a girlfriend. Brilliant location, devine views, perfect staff, immaculate presentation, completely luxurious suites, top quality restaurants, amazing executive lounge, I could go on forever so simply go there for yourself!!!!! You will never forget it!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

If you are looking for luxury, location and service... then Hilton South Warf is the hotel for you. My husband and i live in remote Victoria and visit in Melbourne regularly... until recently we used to "hotel hop" until we descovered Hilton South Warf. Situated right next to a brand new DFO and within walking distance of the city... the location is impecable!! Combine that with very professional and efficient service and a breakfast buffet that caters for all dietary needs... i couldnt recommend any other hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
navarre, florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

My wife and I were in town for a wedding, this was a reward stay at the Hilton South Wharf. The points costs were HIGH so we had HIGH expectations for the new property. Upon check-in a bit of miscommunications resulted in our being assigned an "accessible" room. When brought to the attention of the staff they changed our room without hesitation. The rooms were all beautifully decorated, matching the overall "feel" for the rest of the property, a great vibe. The concierge made some reccomendations for our dinner-out and personnally made inquireies and reservations; the selection was spot-on! We just loved the Executive lounge, hotel location and the staff, attentive and very accomodating. We were disappointed with the lack of free internet access to a Diamond member (outside the Exec louonge) and the level of live entertainment in the lovely wine bar & resturaunts in the hotel. We addressed the entertainment issue on a comment card. Within a couple of months we recieved an email from the hotel stating that live entertainment is now a regular event in the Sotano bar! You can easily tell this staff takes you seriously; we'll be back!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

We spent a lovely weekend to celebrate an anniversary. Good facilities nearby , great location on rivers edge and good shopping in South wharf. The room was large and modern in decor and great views of southbank and city skyline, especially at night.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

The sevice at this hotel was great it is the 2nd time we have stayed there,
room really nice and we had a great view.
If you love to shop you couldn't ask for better location as it is right next door to South Wharf DFO.
Breakfast was probably the best part of our stay.
The only thing I was dissapointed with was there is no pool or spa but we could live without that.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Synonymous with quality, service, and style, Hilton offers the best of Melbourne.Immerse yourself in riverside cool that is the innovative Hilton Melbourne South Wharf. This upper upscale hotel is located in dynamic South Wharf Promenade and only a short stroll to the CBD, Docklands, Southbank dining precinct and Etihad Stadium - and beside the premium DFO South Wharf. The hotel offers spectacular city views, and mouth-watering dining and drinking options at Nuevo37 restaurant and Sotano Wine + Tapas bar. It has sophisticated private event spaces, and a unique conference offering with partner Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre. •Stylish riverside hotel on South Wharf Promenade, next to DFO South Wharf•Internal access via first floor link to Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre•Executive Lounge with outdoor terrace•396 generous rooms with spectacular views of the city or bay•60 Executive rooms and 54 Yarra, Relaxation and Two-Bedroom Suites•Four-point bathrooms with Peter Thomas Roth® amenities•Sophisticated Nuevo37 restaurant•Authentic Sotano Wine + Tapas Bar•Casual all-day Caffè Cino•24-hour Hilton Fitness by Precor® ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.