We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable stay with spectacular view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Melbourne South Wharf to your Saves list
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #15 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Langwarrin, Victoria
1 review
“Unforgettable stay with spectacular view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

Just went for a girls weekend away to chill out. We stayed in a Relaxation Suite on the 14th floor and it was fantastic. Better than we expected. The 180 degree view of Melbourne during the day or night was nothing but breaktaking and we were blown away. The bathroom with the walk through shower has to be seen to be believed. This hotel would be very hard to beat - not just the relaxation suite but overall feel and decor of the entire hotel, not to mention the staff who made us feel extremely welcome. We've stayed at numerous five star hotels within the Melbourne CBD and this one would be hard to beat and exceeded all our expectations. Five minute walk to Southbank, casino and DFO right next door were a bonus. Can't wait to go back. Thumbs up to all the staff at Hilton South Wharf and a special mention to James who has an outstanding personality and a fantastic sense of humour which made our stay even more enjoyable. Eleven out of ten to all staff. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,164
    597
    136
    54
    16
See reviews for
229
705
143
663
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

During my stay at Hilton South Warf I was treated to many delights in my level of satisfaction. The Staff were very helpful, polite, very well presented (and being a sailor presentation is pretty important) and just made the stay feel like home.

The room was wonderful, amazing as a matter a fact and the food was brilliant, full complements to the chefo's.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

The hotel is in an area adjacent to the CBD, I stayed here for work to go to a conference as its part of the conference centre. Its next to a massive DFO and short walk to lots of restaurants, so a good spot.
The hotel and its rooms are really well designed (if you like the modernist/minimalist look), with great toliteries, and a powerful hairdyer.
My room overlooked the city. The rooms are well appointed and spacious. My biggest gripe was being asked to pay $30 for two hours worth of internet.
The service was excellent from both front desk and concerige,
Excellent buffet breakfast! the pastries are amazing.
i would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

I know it is new, but it is fantastic. Someone has finally thought about the layout and design and they got it right. Everything was clean and tidy, the staff were fantastic and the view was brilliant. It is convienent and the walk along the river was great. Have always stayed in Hilton Hotels and this one has outdone them all, well done.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

My husband I have always stayed at our favourite Melbourne hotel because we had never found a hotel which measured up to our previous expectations. After seeing the South Wharf Hilton on the internet I decided to give it a try and booked in. Quite simply, we now have a new favourite! Our room was absolutely spectacular, from the luxurious furnishings and extras such as a coffee machine, to the size of the room itself which included panaramic views of the entire city. We were upgraded from an Executive suite to the Relaxation Suite which had to be seen to be believed. I would highly recommended giving this unique hotel a visit. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

I selected this property for it's location and the mistaken belief that it catered to the business traveller. After paying for an executive room in order to access the business lounge I was thoroughly disgusted to be informed that I would need to pay $13 an hour to use the internet access. I required this service for approximately 3 hours each day for 4 days which amounted to an additional $156 for what should be a fundamental complimentary service facility for a so called business hotel of this standard.
This kind of "Nickle & Dime" money grab left a very bitter taste in my mouth and I will be sure to advise each and every individual in my travels that this hotel rips you off ...it would be far better to include this service and increase their rate.
So in summary if you plannning to visiit Melbourne for business avoid this property at all costs unless you want to be subjected to a pathetic outdated and inconsiderate policy of charging $13 an hour for nothing more that what a cheap internet cafe would provide and probably at a far better connection speed at that.
I was disgusted and will never return...I wonder how much goodwill they must loose through this practice which is a classic example of false economy.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

This hotel is great if you like modern and stylish places. It is fairly new and located to the South-West of Melbourne's CBD in an area that has only recently been developed. The surroundings of the hotel are not very lively - the tram, which takes you to Federation Square in about 10-15 min. is just a short walk away however. Also, the Crown Complex with its casino, restaurants, shops and other nightlife venues is in walking distance too. The good thing about the location is that it is reasonably quiet. Ask for a room which faces the city center, which is much nicer than the other side (apparently mainly a parking lot and highway).

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Synonymous with quality, service, and style, Hilton offers the best of Melbourne.Immerse yourself in riverside cool that is the innovative Hilton Melbourne South Wharf. This upper upscale hotel is located in dynamic South Wharf Promenade and only a short stroll to the CBD, Docklands, Southbank dining precinct and Etihad Stadium - and beside the premium DFO South Wharf. The hotel offers spectacular city views, and mouth-watering dining and drinking options at Nuevo37 restaurant and Sotano Wine + Tapas bar. It has sophisticated private event spaces, and a unique conference offering with partner Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre. •Stylish riverside hotel on South Wharf Promenade, next to DFO South Wharf•Internal access via first floor link to Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre•Executive Lounge with outdoor terrace•396 generous rooms with spectacular views of the city or bay•60 Executive rooms and 54 Yarra, Relaxation and Two-Bedroom Suites•Four-point bathrooms with Peter Thomas Roth® amenities•Sophisticated Nuevo37 restaurant•Authentic Sotano Wine + Tapas Bar•Casual all-day Caffè Cino•24-hour Hilton Fitness by Precor® ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.