We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT costumer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Melbourne South Wharf to your Saves list
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #15 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Ulverstone, Australia
1 review
“GREAT costumer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

What a lovely experience! The staff are all very friendly and are quick to assist in any way they can. The bed was so comfy with the extra pillow top on the mattress and the room itself was quiet and clean with enough room for my husband and I. We would highly recommend the Hilton at South Wharf (Extra bonus - close to the DFO!)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.

It was our pleasure to serve you and it is most gratifying for the team and I to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.

We all look forward to your return sometime in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Brett Christ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,157
    592
    136
    54
    16
See reviews for
228
699
142
660
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have just returned from 6 days at Hilton South Wharf. We booked early for 30% off and believe we had amazing value for a city view executive room and access to executive lounge. To have the amazing view of the City and Yarra and such a comfortable room for $249 / night was impressive. (Fantastic bed, pillows and bathrooms) Every staff member went the extra mile and took the time to have conversation and offer more than what you had asked for. Having live music in the executive lounge was a really nice touch on two of the evenings we were there, the cocktail / tapa lounge was enjoyable and well hosted by the able staff. I enjoyed the walk back from the busier South bank end and liked to look back to the Yarra and city lights. Very handy across the foot bridge to catch the free tram, right next door to the DFO mall and lots of bargains, and excellent access to the convention centre. Thank you to all at Hilton (especially Ikumi and Jason - go the extra mile) for making our stay completely comfortable and enjoyable. Our rental car was organised by the HIlton and was delivered and picked up from there - so convenient. I'll stay very happily at the Hilton in the future if I get the opportunity but will highly recommend it to others. My only wish was there was a swimming pool and spa.

Room Tip: Executive room with City view on a high level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback about your stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.

We truly appreciate your great comments and hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the not too distant future!

Sincerely,
Brett Christ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We booked and got a good deal and on arrival we were upgraded to include breakfast and top floor executive room for minimal extra which was really appreciated with all its little extras.
The view right up the Yarra and the city skyline was a fantastic sight. The breakfast was second to none and was made more perfect where we were served by Shelley who treated us as if we were the only guests having breakfast. She took the time to talk to us and during that conversation we said that we had recently lost our son and she was beautifully understanding and brought us 2 macarones and on the serviette she had drawn a smiley face. We thought this was beyond reproach and that Shelley is definately an asset to the hotel .

Room Tip: Definately the top couple of floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.

I was delighted to read your comments about your wonderful experience; particularly Shelley's heart-warming service to you and your partner, and I thank you for sharing your feedback with us.
Again, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we all look forward to having the pleasure and privilege of welcoming you back to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Brett Christ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We had one of the top apartments that cost us a fortune. It was a special occasion so we thought we would splash out..... The view was amazing but that was the only good thing....went into the mini bar and there was half eaten cheese and biscuit's in there... Our bath had hair in it and was still wet, the sheets had holes in it and the milk was curdled.... Yuk...Our food we order to our room was very average. In general a real disappointing and over priced adventure.....
At check out our complaint fell on deaf ears and the receptionist did not show any concern or offer advice in how to handle our complaint.... I was really upset at what we had received for the amount of money spent so I emailed a formal complaint to the hotel manager.... Weeks later I received a reply expressing that they were thankful for my feedback and on our next visit to the hotel we would receive a discount...... Sorry Hilton but special occasions are sometimes a one off and sometimes you only get one chance to get customer service right. We will not be returning and a discount is a poor effort in trying to make appalling experience and neglectful customer service right. Since then we have stayed in a few other hotels in Melbourne that are cheaper and offer exceptional service and environment. My advice would be shop around and look at the smaller boutique hotels as you may be surprised at the value for money that they offer.....
Hilton on the wharf..... Think about it!!!!!!!

Room Tip: With my experience I wouldn't recommend any
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.

Naturally, I was very disappointed to learn of your experience on this occasion and we sincerely apologise for the series of issues you encountered during your stay, and moreover, the manner in which it was handled. This is uncharacteristic of our hotel and staff; and should you wish to discuss the matter further, I would be most grateful if you would contact me directly at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.

Many thanks again for your feedback, which can only help to improve our service and we greatly appreciate your time.

Sincerely,
Brett Christ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband and I loved our stay at Hilton South Wharf. From the comfortable bed, to the shower room, to the block out blinds, we were very impressed. Staff were helpful and we loved the evening meal in Nuevo 37 and the buffet breakfast in the morning. A minor concern was the noise from trams and vehicles even though we were on the 12th floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the city to enjoy the lights
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Many thanks for your review.

I am very pleased you enjoyed your overall stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf and greatly appreciate your feedback about your experience with us.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of your return at some stage in the not too distant future.

Sincerely
Brett Christ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is our 4th visit to this hotel and again we were very pleased with our stay.
The hotel is located in the South Wharf area of Melbourne and is a very well maintained property.
One feature is you are next to the DFO,so shopping is an easy stroll.
Rooms are generous in size and well maintained.
Bathrooms are great.
Meals are 1st rate. We enjoyed a generous daily breakfast buffet and one evening had a meal in the Nuevo37 dining area and were very pleased.
Staff through out the hotel are 1st class.
Issue with Expensive adds : I believe the hotel needs to look at is its valet parking charges…at $50 a day it is close to the dearest in Melbourne.It may be the deal breaker going further as when it is added to the room charge it makes the cost of the stay quite expensive.
Maybe profit gouging !!!
Also free access to WIFI in the rooms should be part of the room charge for any hotel today.
Having to go down stairs to the lobby is not what one expects from a luxury hotel.
Again profit gouging which makes one look at other hotel options.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Many thanks for sharing your review with us following your recent stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.

I have noted your comments and views about your experience with us and we greatly appreciate your valuable feedback.

Thank you for choosing Hilton Melbourne South Wharf and I do hope we will have the pleasure of your return in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Brett Christ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

My Wife had stayed here a few times for conferences seeing that it is right beside the conference centre and after hearing about how comfy the beds were we thought we would use it as our base for a little family getaway. We stayed up high in one of the 2 bedroom rooms and the beds were as good as promised. The staff were all great, very friendly and accommodating. As part of our stay we had a roast meal included and this was very nice and the breakfast was sensational. Highly recommend it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with us on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf and was particularly pleased to see that enjoyed the Family Package you booked, which included the Roast Dinner during your stay - We apprecaite your feedback.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel at some stage in the near future.

Sincerely
Brett Christ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Synonymous with quality, service, and style, Hilton offers the best of Melbourne.Immerse yourself in riverside cool that is the innovative Hilton Melbourne South Wharf. This upper upscale hotel is located in dynamic South Wharf Promenade and only a short stroll to the CBD, Docklands, Southbank dining precinct and Etihad Stadium - and beside the premium DFO South Wharf. The hotel offers spectacular city views, and mouth-watering dining and drinking options at Nuevo37 restaurant and Sotano Wine + Tapas bar. It has sophisticated private event spaces, and a unique conference offering with partner Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre. •Stylish riverside hotel on South Wharf Promenade, next to DFO South Wharf•Internal access via first floor link to Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre•Executive Lounge with outdoor terrace•396 generous rooms with spectacular views of the city or bay•60 Executive rooms and 54 Yarra, Relaxation and Two-Bedroom Suites•Four-point bathrooms with Peter Thomas Roth® amenities•Sophisticated Nuevo37 restaurant•Authentic Sotano Wine + Tapas Bar•Casual all-day Caffè Cino•24-hour Hilton Fitness by Precor® ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.