We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Melbourne location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Save Saved
You added Hilton Melbourne South Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #17 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Great Melbourne location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here for two days last weekend and loved it. The location was great to walk any where in Melbourne CBD. Easy walk to Etihad Stadium and MCG, Great shopping near by. The staff were very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Many thanks for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed our service and location, and we hope to have you visit us again soon at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.

Sincerely,
Brett Christ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,746 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,038
    523
    118
    52
    15
See reviews for
202
628
133
589
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trafalgar, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Room great, our king-size bed was a little too soft for me but hubby loved it. Clean, nice, minimalist decor which I love and a bathroom which is absolutely the best with full size separate bath & large shower for my 6'4" husband. Love the white fluffy bathrobes too. Staff were friendly & attentive. Electric 100% block out blinds were Awesome!! Walking distance to Etihad Stadium, Southern Cross station, convention centres & casino. Love Sotano wine bar & tapas downstairs; it's a great place to wind down and they have a fabulous cocktail list. With DFO right next door and countless great dining options within a short stroll, it's got the best of everything. It's also easily accessible from the freeway off ramp from the eastern suburbs. Well stocked minibar but again, no Victorian beer (Crown Lager or Carlton Draught) for my hubby. $50/night for valet parking is my only criticism. WAY too expensive!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your review about your recent stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.

I was delighted to read your comments and thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

We look forward to the pleasure of your return sometime in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Brett Christ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Very recently I stayed at the hilton south wharf with 2 other adults and a young baby. We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom suites. The rooms are lovely and full of lots of amenities you wouldn't expect in a hotel. Room was equipped with self contained kitchen with microwave and dishwasher which was very handy when traveling with a baby. 2 seperate bedrooms with sliding door access to the living area. Disappointing that when the suite slept four people there was only enough lounge space for 2 people to sit. The black out blinds are great. Views during the day are also great if you book a city view suite. More a view of the freeway if looking from the opposite side of the building. Port a cot that was brought for the baby only had one blanket which was also disappointing. 2 bathrooms were very handy and the showers great.
On a whole hotel was good. Very strange display of Mercedes Benz cars complete with price guides make the foyer feel like a car sales room. Really didn't seem to be a reason for them being there.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Many thanks for sharing your review with us on Trip Advisor.

Wonderful to see that you enjoyed your overall experience at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf and I appreciate your constructive feedback - we appreciate your views.

I hope we will have the privilege of serving you again soon at our hotel.

Sincerely,
Brett Christ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Hotel starting to show its age marks in the rooms and corridors. Bed was uncomfortable called to see if they had a pillow menu. They didn't got two pillows bought up 30 min later I tried calling back to say don't worry but was on hold for ever. Service level disappointing.

Room had great view of the city
Good location right by the convention centre and dfo

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

I was very sorry to read about your disappointing experience and would greatly appreciate if you would contact us directly at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, with further details about your experience, enabling us to look deeper into these issues you encountered on this occasion.
I appreciate your comments, which help us to assess the standard of our service and facilities; and again, thank you for your feedback.

I do hope we will hear from you soon.

Sincerely,
Brett Christ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Excellent location, and service. Bar menu is rather pricey. Rooms are very well kept and beautiful view of the city. However the internet service is not ayt allreliable and is quite expensive and could impact a decision to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your review.

I truly appreciate your comments and have taken your constructive feedback on board. I do hope we will have the oppportunity of serving you again at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf in the near future.

Sincerely,
Brett Christ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The breakfast at this hotel is unlike any ordinary hotel. It is simply delicious. Staff are very well trained. If there is anything i like best about this hotel, its their breakfast. Second thing is the gym. The gym here is well equipped too. I would stay here again if I have the chance to go to Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed our service and facilities during your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Brett Christ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

It starts with a great location. Easy to get to from any direction and just a short walk to CBD.
It is a nice new hotel with great staff. I selected this hotel for a group of 26 visitors from USA as the first hotel in Australia. Everyone loved the hotel and raved about the breakfast. The executive lounge, which often is on the top floor was on the second floor. There was plenty of room inside and it had a nice outside patio with a nice view of the river. The canapes in the evening were good with a fair selection of wine and beer. There is another Hilton in the city which is near MCG, but unless you are in town to watch cricket this is a much better choice. I will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms have a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Hilton Melbourne South Wharf and great to see that you enjoyed your experience with us.

We truly appreciate your feedback and we all look forward to your return at some stage in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Brett Christ
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Synonymous with quality, service, and style, Hilton offers the best of Melbourne.Immerse yourself in riverside cool that is the innovative Hilton Melbourne South Wharf. This upper upscale hotel is located in dynamic South Wharf Promenade and only a short stroll to the CBD, Docklands, Southbank dining precinct and Etihad Stadium - and beside the premium DFO South Wharf. The hotel offers spectacular city views, and mouth-watering dining and drinking options at Nuevo37 restaurant and Sotano Wine + Tapas bar. It has sophisticated private event spaces, and a unique conference offering with partner Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre. •Stylish riverside hotel on South Wharf Promenade, next to DFO South Wharf•Internal access via first floor link to Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre•Executive Lounge with outdoor terrace•396 generous rooms with spectacular views of the city or bay•60 Executive rooms and 54 Yarra, Relaxation and Two-Bedroom Suites•Four-point bathrooms with Peter Thomas Roth® amenities•Sophisticated Nuevo37 restaurant•Authentic Sotano Wine + Tapas Bar•Casual all-day Caffè Cino•24-hour Hilton Fitness by Precor® ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.