We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take me to The Hilton Melboune South Wharf” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Save Saved
You added Hilton Melbourne South Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #13 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Take me to The Hilton Melboune South Wharf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014


Everythings went so great at the Hilton Melbourne situated at Orrs Wk near the convention center on the South Wharf promenade.
The double bedroom suite is fancy with large parlor and a nice furnished kitchen with the View so amazing on the river Yarra's southern edge and the World Trade Centre.
The restaurant nuevo 37 the widest i ever been (decorated In strong natural Woods) is delicious.Congratulation to Sheranne on her first day work when we where there .
the hotel is two Steps from the seafarers bridge and the Polly Woodside ship from Belfast.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you ever so much for your fantastic review.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards, Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,068
    531
    118
    52
    15
See reviews for
205
638
135
607
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Had a two night stay at the Hilton as we had stayed there before and enjoyed it.
We had pre booked not realising that it was the start of the Australian Tennis Open, however check in was a breeze and we were in our room within five minutes. The lady at the front desk was very pleasant and offered us a bottle of champers as it was my wife's birthday getaway.

The room was clean and tidy and we looked out over the bay from the 10th floor. Yes we could see the roof of DFO and the freeway flyovers but this didn't worry us. There was plenty of room to move about with a spacious area with the bed and a large shower. One disappointment in the design is having tinted glass in the toilet area which negated a bit of privacy.

DFO is very close and the casino and southbank a very short walk. Try to avoid the food at the casino complex as it is overpriced for what you get with Southbank marginally better. The North Wharf area is continually being improved with a lot of eateries etc on the edge of the river?

Check out took all of two minutes and again the front desk girl was very pleasant. Would we stay again?? Yes but only at the right price, we got 20% off as an early booking.

Room Tip: Whilst we are never fussed about views, rooms with city views are much better but be prepared to pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.
I am truly delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us; we really appreciate the support you have provided the Hilton brand.

Safe travels, Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

If you can get a good deal on this hotel you won't be disappointed, stayed four nights in a family room plenty of space great beds, and great breakfast.
Bit of a walk to center if you are in a hurry, but if you you stroll down the riverside and stop for a drink on the way in one of the many bars it's easy !!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with your fellow travellers.

Glad to read that your enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Hilton, South Wharf. Usually I stay at their sister Hilton hotel in East Melbourne. I would just like to say that my stay was excellent ! Loved it. Great hotel with fantastic staff. Good food and excellent service. My only suggestion would be a wider selection of complimentary toiletries.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your 10/10 review.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Unbeatable location if work takes you to the Melbourne Convention Center. Choices for food and drink are somewhat limited around the hotel after 6:00 PM, but the entire City is just across the river. Taxis are easy and relatively inexpensive (for Melbourne) all around the CBD, though getting around by cab is tough during peak hours. Harden up a bit and you can walk to any of the buildings/sites in the CBD. Southern Cross Station is just a pleasant 10-15 min stroll.

All of the rooms have the great Hilton beds. Hallway noise can be surprisingly loud, but I rarely hear anything from neighboring rooms. I've only stayed on the "City View" side of the hotel, but the views are fantastic. More importably, they have incredible motorized floor-to-ceiling shades to block out the light. Very important after a 35 hr trip to get to Melbourne.

As a Hilton Diamond member for many years running, I alway judge the quality of a property by it's executive lounge. Overall, I'd say... Not bad. Very large and comfortable. Decent deck. The food is Aussie. Pastries are great. Little bits of this and that are outstanding, but some things are just not well thought out. Several nights ago I had a sushi tuna roll with the sushi being canned tuna. No worries, I ate it. Just never occurred to me that you'd put canned tuna in "sushi". Tonight there seemed to be some sort of party going (maybe Australian Open related?) in the Exec Lounge, and the snacks and drinks were decimated. Also, couldn't even elbow my way out onto the deck. Staff was still helpful, but seemed overwhelmed.

Overall-- This is an outstanding choice for business at the Convention Center (hence my high rating). But, if you want a romantic getaway, time with the kids, or a budget option go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Best for business at the Convention Center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.
I genuinely appreciate your feedback rating and comments and have discussed them with my Senior Management Team. I apologise for not meeting your expectations in our Executive Lounge.
Once again, thank you for your time.
Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is a fairly new property with amazing food and one of the best breakfast buffets ever. Not in terms of quantity or variety, but rather quality. And we've had countless hotel breakfasts around the world. The room we stayed in was immaculate. More importantly, the air quality in the room felt and smelled fresh. And above all, the bed was a knockout. I mean, this was the BEST BED we have ever slept in, anywhere, ever. On top of the that, the room has those expensive electric window shades that, when closed, provide complete blackout. No light comes in at all. We had trouble waking up every morning -- best sleep in years. Service was attentive. Location is a bit out of the central business district, but right next to the DFO Shopping Outlet. Two inside tips -- there is a superb mini-grocery/convenience store right next to the hotel, as well as a cheap and delicious Vietnamese cafe. Taxis are easy to get. We love this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience with your fellow travelers.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good night sleep. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

absolutely loved staying here. This was a nice and central location with plenty of action. The fireworks every hour on the hour were brilliant. coming from perth I had never seen this before and made my first trip to Melbourne so successful. Lots of places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience with your fellow travelers.
I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and Melbourne. We look forward to hosting you at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf again. Thank you for all your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Synonymous with quality, service, and style, Hilton offers the best of Melbourne.Immerse yourself in riverside cool that is the innovative Hilton Melbourne South Wharf. This upper upscale hotel is located in dynamic South Wharf Promenade and only a short stroll to the CBD, Docklands, Southbank dining precinct and Etihad Stadium - and beside the premium DFO South Wharf. The hotel offers spectacular city views, and mouth-watering dining and drinking options at Nuevo37 restaurant and Sotano Wine + Tapas bar. It has sophisticated private event spaces, and a unique conference offering with partner Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre. •Stylish riverside hotel on South Wharf Promenade, next to DFO South Wharf•Internal access via first floor link to Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre•Executive Lounge with outdoor terrace•396 generous rooms with spectacular views of the city or bay•60 Executive rooms and 54 Yarra, Relaxation and Two-Bedroom Suites•Four-point bathrooms with Peter Thomas Roth® amenities•Sophisticated Nuevo37 restaurant•Authentic Sotano Wine + Tapas Bar•Casual all-day Caffè Cino•24-hour Hilton Fitness by Precor® ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.