We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Melbourne South Wharf to your Saves list
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #15 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quick stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Had a two night stay at the Hilton as we had stayed there before and enjoyed it.
We had pre booked not realising that it was the start of the Australian Tennis Open, however check in was a breeze and we were in our room within five minutes. The lady at the front desk was very pleasant and offered us a bottle of champers as it was my wife's birthday getaway.

The room was clean and tidy and we looked out over the bay from the 10th floor. Yes we could see the roof of DFO and the freeway flyovers but this didn't worry us. There was plenty of room to move about with a spacious area with the bed and a large shower. One disappointment in the design is having tinted glass in the toilet area which negated a bit of privacy.

DFO is very close and the casino and southbank a very short walk. Try to avoid the food at the casino complex as it is overpriced for what you get with Southbank marginally better. The North Wharf area is continually being improved with a lot of eateries etc on the edge of the river?

Check out took all of two minutes and again the front desk girl was very pleasant. Would we stay again?? Yes but only at the right price, we got 20% off as an early booking.

Room Tip: Whilst we are never fussed about views, rooms with city views are much better but be prepared to pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.
I am truly delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us; we really appreciate the support you have provided the Hilton brand.

Safe travels, Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,419
    720
    159
    63
    20
See reviews for
287
841
160
821
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

If you can get a good deal on this hotel you won't be disappointed, stayed four nights in a family room plenty of space great beds, and great breakfast.
Bit of a walk to center if you are in a hurry, but if you you stroll down the riverside and stop for a drink on the way in one of the many bars it's easy !!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with your fellow travellers.

Glad to read that your enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Hilton, South Wharf. Usually I stay at their sister Hilton hotel in East Melbourne. I would just like to say that my stay was excellent ! Loved it. Great hotel with fantastic staff. Good food and excellent service. My only suggestion would be a wider selection of complimentary toiletries.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your 10/10 review.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Unbeatable location if work takes you to the Melbourne Convention Center. Choices for food and drink are somewhat limited around the hotel after 6:00 PM, but the entire City is just across the river. Taxis are easy and relatively inexpensive (for Melbourne) all around the CBD, though getting around by cab is tough during peak hours. Harden up a bit and you can walk to any of the buildings/sites in the CBD. Southern Cross Station is just a pleasant 10-15 min stroll.

All of the rooms have the great Hilton beds. Hallway noise can be surprisingly loud, but I rarely hear anything from neighboring rooms. I've only stayed on the "City View" side of the hotel, but the views are fantastic. More importably, they have incredible motorized floor-to-ceiling shades to block out the light. Very important after a 35 hr trip to get to Melbourne.

As a Hilton Diamond member for many years running, I alway judge the quality of a property by it's executive lounge. Overall, I'd say... Not bad. Very large and comfortable. Decent deck. The food is Aussie. Pastries are great. Little bits of this and that are outstanding, but some things are just not well thought out. Several nights ago I had a sushi tuna roll with the sushi being canned tuna. No worries, I ate it. Just never occurred to me that you'd put canned tuna in "sushi". Tonight there seemed to be some sort of party going (maybe Australian Open related?) in the Exec Lounge, and the snacks and drinks were decimated. Also, couldn't even elbow my way out onto the deck. Staff was still helpful, but seemed overwhelmed.

Overall-- This is an outstanding choice for business at the Convention Center (hence my high rating). But, if you want a romantic getaway, time with the kids, or a budget option go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Best for business at the Convention Center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.
I genuinely appreciate your feedback rating and comments and have discussed them with my Senior Management Team. I apologise for not meeting your expectations in our Executive Lounge.
Once again, thank you for your time.
Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is a fairly new property with amazing food and one of the best breakfast buffets ever. Not in terms of quantity or variety, but rather quality. And we've had countless hotel breakfasts around the world. The room we stayed in was immaculate. More importantly, the air quality in the room felt and smelled fresh. And above all, the bed was a knockout. I mean, this was the BEST BED we have ever slept in, anywhere, ever. On top of the that, the room has those expensive electric window shades that, when closed, provide complete blackout. No light comes in at all. We had trouble waking up every morning -- best sleep in years. Service was attentive. Location is a bit out of the central business district, but right next to the DFO Shopping Outlet. Two inside tips -- there is a superb mini-grocery/convenience store right next to the hotel, as well as a cheap and delicious Vietnamese cafe. Taxis are easy to get. We love this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience with your fellow travelers.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good night sleep. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

absolutely loved staying here. This was a nice and central location with plenty of action. The fireworks every hour on the hour were brilliant. coming from perth I had never seen this before and made my first trip to Melbourne so successful. Lots of places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience with your fellow travelers.
I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and Melbourne. We look forward to hosting you at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf again. Thank you for all your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
101 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is physically attached to the convention center - which makes it an ideal property if you are attending a conference there but it makes for a bit of a hike to central business district.

This Hilton is probably between a three and four star review - the lobby is a bit dark and oddly enough, has a car (or at least in December when I was there) displayed in the main lobby. The good news is that if you are Diamond, there is a very large executive lounge on the fourth floor, and you can have breakfast either in the lounge, or in the main restaurant. The main restaurant breakfast is good/solid with a wide variety of choices -- I recommend breakfast here vs the lounge if you have the choice.

The rooms are clean and simple in design, the bathroom was large, and the view of the water when you are high up very nice. Overall, it was about what would would expect from a Hilton in a very large city -- perhaps slightly better.

On this trip, I also stayed at the Park Hyatt in the central business district at a rate that was well below the Hilton rate that I had, and thought the rooms and executive lounge were much better than the Hilton - which probably influenced the rating here. Under these circumstances, I would take the Park Hyatt over the Hilton any day of the week.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.
I genuinely appreciate your feedback rating and comments and have discussed them with my Senior Management Team. I apologise for not meeting your expectations on this occasion.
Once again, thank you for your time.
Safe travels
Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#1 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,423 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#2 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,452 reviews
Oaks On William
#24 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#20 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,411 reviews
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#12 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.