We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great attention to detail - superb location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Melbourne South Wharf to your Saves list
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #16 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Geneva
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great attention to detail - superb location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We arrived at 13h30 and were pleased to find the room available, and also impressed by the amenities. Only downside was the lack of free Wi-Fi in the room - its available downstairs without charge, but AUD25 a day in your room!
Fabulous Tapas menu in the bar was available throughout the day, and the pleasant but very sparsely-populated main dining room had an excellent menu, superb service and fairly reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Higher up the better for noise issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your 10/10 review.

Glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and the Team looked after you well.
We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,098
    549
    125
    54
    15
See reviews for
213
656
138
625
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed just the one night here for a conference at the convention centre next door. Yes, the decor in this hotel may not be to everyone's liking as it is quite dark, however I found it to be actually quite relaxing and serene. I had a standard king room and it was just fantastic. The bed was like nothing I've ever slept on before and I'm just sad that a late night at the conference dinner meant that I didn't get to spend more time in it. The floor to ceiling window gave a wonderful view, the bathroom was lovely and well stocked, the mini bar had everything you could ask for. The location of this hotel is great, the convention centre is next door but on the other side is the south wharf DFO with amazing shopping to be had. At the base of the building there is a mini mart with groceries and liquor which I found very convenient also. The only issue here with the location is that it's difficult to access via public transport which is probably something that Melbourne planners should consider further when locating a new Convention Centre and of course is no fault of the hotel. The breakfasts here were expensive however quite reasonable on the corporate rate.... and wow, the breakfast buffet was incredible, the likes of which I have only ever seen before in 5 star resorts in the Pacific Islands - including an egg chef, pastries, hot buffet, delicatessen etc. etc. well worth it! Anyway, if you've got the money to spend, then I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.
I am truly delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us; we really appreciate the support you have provided the Hilton brand.

Safe travels, Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel is modern, very clean, good location, amazing views. My husband and I were there last Friday and got upgraded to a better view room for free, it was our wedding anniversary and the hotel provided us with champagne, roses and strawberries at no extra cost. The rooms and bathroom are not too big but its good size, the beds and pillows are very comfortable. we haven't been to the pool yet.
This is the second time we stayed at this hotel and we will be back for sure. I totally recommend it for the price

Room Tip: Views to Yarra river are incredible at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad you enjoyed your special night away with us and my Team look after you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Always a pleasure to stay at Hilton South Wharf. Beautiful rooms with great views and the beds are the most comfortable you'll find. Conveniently situated right next door to the DFO, which is an added bonus! I really enjoyed my meal at the Hilton restaurant also.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and my Team look after you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The experience was excellent as expected from Hilton. The location was perfect as everything from bars, exhibition centre and shopping complex were in easy walking distance. The Hotel does not have a pool or spa, but makes up for it with a good gymnasium. Staff were very friendly and the restaurant staff were excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.

I am truly delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us; we really appreciate the support you have provided the Hilton brand.

See you soon.
Regards,
Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baulkham Hills, Australia
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Great bed, excellent block out blinds (though finding the controls is a challenge (they are under the aircon), unfortunately it is just another business hotel in Melbourne. Did not get an opportunity to eat or drink there due to other commitments however did find the choice of eateries on the south wharf perfect for my needs. Convenient to my South Bank office and I was able to walk to and from each day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for your 10/10 review.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you ever so much for all your support and loyalty.

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Had an executive suite, and was impressed, the views were fantastic from all rooms.
Biggest bathroom I have seen, lie in the bath with views of the ocean.
Best beds for comfort.
All staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble.
Walk to anywhere, casino 5 mins away.
Shopping heaven with huge DFO next door!

Only negative hotel restaurant , definitely not value for money.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the 18 th floor, views spectacular .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and my Team look after you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Synonymous with quality, service, and style, Hilton offers the best of Melbourne.Immerse yourself in riverside cool that is the innovative Hilton Melbourne South Wharf. This upper upscale hotel is located in dynamic South Wharf Promenade and only a short stroll to the CBD, Docklands, Southbank dining precinct and Etihad Stadium - and beside the premium DFO South Wharf. The hotel offers spectacular city views, and mouth-watering dining and drinking options at Nuevo37 restaurant and Sotano Wine + Tapas bar. It has sophisticated private event spaces, and a unique conference offering with partner Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre. •Stylish riverside hotel on South Wharf Promenade, next to DFO South Wharf•Internal access via first floor link to Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre•Executive Lounge with outdoor terrace•396 generous rooms with spectacular views of the city or bay•60 Executive rooms and 54 Yarra, Relaxation and Two-Bedroom Suites•Four-point bathrooms with Peter Thomas Roth® amenities•Sophisticated Nuevo37 restaurant•Authentic Sotano Wine + Tapas Bar•Casual all-day Caffè Cino•24-hour Hilton Fitness by Precor® ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.