We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Melbourne South Wharf to your Saves list
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #15 of 169 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed just the one night here for a conference at the convention centre next door. Yes, the decor in this hotel may not be to everyone's liking as it is quite dark, however I found it to be actually quite relaxing and serene. I had a standard king room and it was just fantastic. The bed was like nothing I've ever slept on before and I'm just sad that a late night at the conference dinner meant that I didn't get to spend more time in it. The floor to ceiling window gave a wonderful view, the bathroom was lovely and well stocked, the mini bar had everything you could ask for. The location of this hotel is great, the convention centre is next door but on the other side is the south wharf DFO with amazing shopping to be had. At the base of the building there is a mini mart with groceries and liquor which I found very convenient also. The only issue here with the location is that it's difficult to access via public transport which is probably something that Melbourne planners should consider further when locating a new Convention Centre and of course is no fault of the hotel. The breakfasts here were expensive however quite reasonable on the corporate rate.... and wow, the breakfast buffet was incredible, the likes of which I have only ever seen before in 5 star resorts in the Pacific Islands - including an egg chef, pastries, hot buffet, delicatessen etc. etc. well worth it! Anyway, if you've got the money to spend, then I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.
I am truly delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us; we really appreciate the support you have provided the Hilton brand.

Safe travels, Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,317
    680
    152
    60
    17
See reviews for
270
791
153
754
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel is modern, very clean, good location, amazing views. My husband and I were there last Friday and got upgraded to a better view room for free, it was our wedding anniversary and the hotel provided us with champagne, roses and strawberries at no extra cost. The rooms and bathroom are not too big but its good size, the beds and pillows are very comfortable. we haven't been to the pool yet.
This is the second time we stayed at this hotel and we will be back for sure. I totally recommend it for the price

Room Tip: Views to Yarra river are incredible at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad you enjoyed your special night away with us and my Team look after you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Always a pleasure to stay at Hilton South Wharf. Beautiful rooms with great views and the beds are the most comfortable you'll find. Conveniently situated right next door to the DFO, which is an added bonus! I really enjoyed my meal at the Hilton restaurant also.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and my Team look after you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The experience was excellent as expected from Hilton. The location was perfect as everything from bars, exhibition centre and shopping complex were in easy walking distance. The Hotel does not have a pool or spa, but makes up for it with a good gymnasium. Staff were very friendly and the restaurant staff were excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.

I am truly delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us; we really appreciate the support you have provided the Hilton brand.

See you soon.
Regards,
Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baulkham Hills, Australia
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Great bed, excellent block out blinds (though finding the controls is a challenge (they are under the aircon), unfortunately it is just another business hotel in Melbourne. Did not get an opportunity to eat or drink there due to other commitments however did find the choice of eateries on the south wharf perfect for my needs. Convenient to my South Bank office and I was able to walk to and from each day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for your 10/10 review.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you ever so much for all your support and loyalty.

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Had an executive suite, and was impressed, the views were fantastic from all rooms.
Biggest bathroom I have seen, lie in the bath with views of the ocean.
Best beds for comfort.
All staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble.
Walk to anywhere, casino 5 mins away.
Shopping heaven with huge DFO next door!

Only negative hotel restaurant , definitely not value for money.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the 18 th floor, views spectacular .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and my Team look after you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The immediate view looking down the river from the 15th floor is spectacular. Rooms spacious, bathroom excellent. loved the auto block out blinds. very central position near restaurants! bars and the DFO shopping area at the door. Only real "negatives" were that WIFI is NOT Free. (travelling overseas it is majority free these days), and that I did not read the small print that parking was NOT free. $20 per day in the DFO outdoor car park or $50 for Valet parking. One catch is that if you take your car out twice in a day, it costs $40. When over 24 hours. Luckily they "fixed" it that the Concierge let us out to avoid that. So suggest it suits those not using a car. But the ease of getting to trams is excellent and inexpensive. Would we choose this again? yes for the convenience of position and the luxury ambience. (Although not sure why the foyer area is soooo dark and dull?? )

Room Tip: River /city view room is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

I was delighted to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction.
Hope to see you return soon....safe travels.

Brett Christ, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Synonymous with quality, service, and style, Hilton offers the best of Melbourne.Immerse yourself in riverside cool that is the innovative Hilton Melbourne South Wharf. This upper upscale hotel is located in dynamic South Wharf Promenade and only a short stroll to the CBD, Docklands, Southbank dining precinct and Etihad Stadium - and beside the premium DFO South Wharf. The hotel offers spectacular city views and mouth-watering dining and drinking options. It has sophisticated meeting and event spaces, and a unique conference offering with Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre. Hotel highlights: •Stylish riverside hotel on South Wharf Promenade, next to DFO South Wharf •Internal access via first floor link to Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre •Executive Lounge with outdoor terrace •396 generous rooms with spectacular views of the city or bay •60 Executive rooms and 54 Yarra, Relaxation and Two-Bedroom Suites •Bathrooms with separate shower and bath plus Peter Thomas Roth(R) amenities •A stylish restaurant and bar that offers an approachable and relaxed dining experience for all occasions •Six modern meeting and event rooms and expansive open-air, covered terrace for events up to 300 •Casual all-day Caffe Cino •24-hour Hilton Fitness by Precor(R) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.