We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay with Views to die for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Melbourne South Wharf to your Saves list
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #17 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay with Views to die for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed with my husband whilst he had a conference on for 1 night. The rooms was spotless and bed fluffy and comfortable. I loved the addition of the large bath to soak in after a long day. We had buffet breakfast the next day and it was lovely. Definitely try the french toast. I'd be more than happy to stay again for relaxation next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your 10/10 review about your stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.
Glad to hear that enjoyed the hotel and all its facilities...

I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hilton South Wharf. It is a lovely hotel and the service was exceptional. They were a little late in checking us in to our room and gave us drink vouchers for the bar downstairs.

Our room was amazing, it was a relaxation suite with such a sweeping and stunning view of the city and river. The breakfast was fresh and plentiful as well. With the executive package you also have access to the lounge on level 4 and get afternoon tea, drinks and evening drinks and canopies as well.

The bed was the most comfortable bed we have slept in and we have stayed in plenty of hotels all over the world!

The location is perfect, just a couple of minutes walk to the Casino. I would highly recommend this hotel. Its just perfect :)

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the river and city of Melbourne. Our room number was 1302
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra12blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer, v

Thank you for your 10/10 review about your stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.
Glad to hear that that enjoyed the hotel and all its facilities.

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you soon.

I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed in a Yarra suite and found it spacious and very comfortable. Great views, soft bed and comfortable pillows, nice bath with a view and lovely bath products. The room was quiet and the staff friendly. My only criticism would be the executive lounge. The seating isn't great and nothing hot for breakfast...but I'm being picky now. All in all this is a lovely hotel in a great spot (only a short walk to Crown). I will return.

Room Tip: Floor 18 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateW37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

I was delighted to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return soon....safe travels.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

A mate of mine and I stayed in one of the 2 bedroom apartments on the 18th floor for an overnight stay. The staff were incredibly attentive, and the restaurants in the complex were pretty good too. The room had a fantastic view and the beds were super comfy.

My only questionable thought was regarding the decor in the hallways leading to the rooms. Very dark, and poorly lit.

Getting a cab into town was easy via concierge, and the factory outlet brand DFO is literally next door, so a quick trip to scan the shops during downtime is a must.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Austroboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and my Team look after you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Safe travels

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Been here three times , rooms are quiet and I can sleep in and relax and now they have added the option of in house massage which is great
Love the breakfast and walking on south bank
Parking is just outside for 6 dollars an hour or 20/ day

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveladdict1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you very much for the 10/10 review.

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and everything went well! We really value all your support and loyalty.

Hope to see you soon…safe travels

Rupert Hallam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moriac
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed in a Yarra Suite on the 11th floor for 2 nights. The room was excellent, bathroom sensational, esp. the views from the bath. Bed was very comfortable. Our view across the Melbourne skyline was exceptional. Access to the Executive Lounge was fantastic, well worth having.Having stayed in a few 5 star hotels, this would be one of the best.

Room Tip: Stayed in Yarra Suite, 11th floor, great position, great views, no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glenn e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the detailed 10/10 review.

I am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and everything was seamless.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Safe travels.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
706 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed in a king room on the tenth floor. The room was very basic just a bed tv and shower room. My biggest disappointment was that the bed only had one sheet and a very thick dooner this was so hot that I didn't sleep much all night. Do they think I have to cool the room down to zero to sleep under covers.? The room has no opening windows and was very stuffy. I checked out the next day exhausted. The only place to eat is in the restaurant and I had a steak and that's all I got. The plate arrived with just a piece of meat on it and nothing else. The waiter never told me to order sides or salad so I expected the plate to have at least something as a side. Then when I asked for some veggies I was told that it would take twenty minutes! I eat what I had and they even cooked an order for medium well to raw medium. Overall given the lack of value for money the bad linen and lousy restaurant i give it a 1/10.
I would recommend going somewhere else in the precinct like crown towers or the casino.

Room Tip: Yes go elsewhere very disappointing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us.

I was very disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and we deeply regret any inconvenience caused as a result of the issues you experienced.

At Hilton, we highly value all our guests' feedback and in order for us to investigate the matter in further detail, I would greatly appreciate if you could contact me directly.

Thank you again for your time.

Sincerely,

Rupert Hallam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,855 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,646 reviews
Crown Towers
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,621 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#29 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,735 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing