We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay with Views to die for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Save Saved
You added Hilton Melbourne South Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #12 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay with Views to die for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed with my husband whilst he had a conference on for 1 night. The rooms was spotless and bed fluffy and comfortable. I loved the addition of the large bath to soak in after a long day. We had buffet breakfast the next day and it was lovely. Definitely try the french toast. I'd be more than happy to stay again for relaxation next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your 10/10 review about your stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.
Glad to hear that enjoyed the hotel and all its facilities...

I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,517 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    910
    444
    107
    44
    12
See reviews for
177
545
128
506
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hilton South Wharf. It is a lovely hotel and the service was exceptional. They were a little late in checking us in to our room and gave us drink vouchers for the bar downstairs.

Our room was amazing, it was a relaxation suite with such a sweeping and stunning view of the city and river. The breakfast was fresh and plentiful as well. With the executive package you also have access to the lounge on level 4 and get afternoon tea, drinks and evening drinks and canopies as well.

The bed was the most comfortable bed we have slept in and we have stayed in plenty of hotels all over the world!

The location is perfect, just a couple of minutes walk to the Casino. I would highly recommend this hotel. Its just perfect :)

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the river and city of Melbourne. Our room number was 1302
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer, v

Thank you for your 10/10 review about your stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf.
Glad to hear that that enjoyed the hotel and all its facilities.

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you soon.

I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed in a Yarra suite and found it spacious and very comfortable. Great views, soft bed and comfortable pillows, nice bath with a view and lovely bath products. The room was quiet and the staff friendly. My only criticism would be the executive lounge. The seating isn't great and nothing hot for breakfast...but I'm being picky now. All in all this is a lovely hotel in a great spot (only a short walk to Crown). I will return.

Room Tip: Floor 18 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

I was delighted to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction. Hope to see you return soon....safe travels.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

A mate of mine and I stayed in one of the 2 bedroom apartments on the 18th floor for an overnight stay. The staff were incredibly attentive, and the restaurants in the complex were pretty good too. The room had a fantastic view and the beds were super comfy.

My only questionable thought was regarding the decor in the hallways leading to the rooms. Very dark, and poorly lit.

Getting a cab into town was easy via concierge, and the factory outlet brand DFO is literally next door, so a quick trip to scan the shops during downtime is a must.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and my Team look after you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Safe travels

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Been here three times , rooms are quiet and I can sleep in and relax and now they have added the option of in house massage which is great
Love the breakfast and walking on south bank
Parking is just outside for 6 dollars an hour or 20/ day

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you very much for the 10/10 review.

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and everything went well! We really value all your support and loyalty.

Hope to see you soon…safe travels

Rupert Hallam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moriac
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed in a Yarra Suite on the 11th floor for 2 nights. The room was excellent, bathroom sensational, esp. the views from the bath. Bed was very comfortable. Our view across the Melbourne skyline was exceptional. Access to the Executive Lounge was fantastic, well worth having.Having stayed in a few 5 star hotels, this would be one of the best.

Room Tip: Stayed in Yarra Suite, 11th floor, great position, great views, no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the detailed 10/10 review.

I am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and everything was seamless.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Safe travels.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed in a king room on the tenth floor. The room was very basic just a bed tv and shower room. My biggest disappointment was that the bed only had one sheet and a very thick dooner this was so hot that I didn't sleep much all night. Do they think I have to cool the room down to zero to sleep under covers.? The room has no opening windows and was very stuffy. I checked out the next day exhausted. The only place to eat is in the restaurant and I had a steak and that's all I got. The plate arrived with just a piece of meat on it and nothing else. The waiter never told me to order sides or salad so I expected the plate to have at least something as a side. Then when I asked for some veggies I was told that it would take twenty minutes! I eat what I had and they even cooked an order for medium well to raw medium. Overall given the lack of value for money the bad linen and lousy restaurant i give it a 1/10.
I would recommend going somewhere else in the precinct like crown towers or the casino.

Room Tip: Yes go elsewhere very disappointing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us.

I was very disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and we deeply regret any inconvenience caused as a result of the issues you experienced.

At Hilton, we highly value all our guests' feedback and in order for us to investigate the matter in further detail, I would greatly appreciate if you could contact me directly.

Thank you again for your time.

Sincerely,

Rupert Hallam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne
Hilton Melbourne
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Synonymous with quality, service, and style, Hilton offers the best of Melbourne.Immerse yourself in riverside cool that is the innovative Hilton Melbourne South Wharf. This upper upscale hotel is located in dynamic South Wharf Promenade and only a short stroll to the CBD, Docklands, Southbank dining precinct and Etihad Stadium - and beside the premium DFO South Wharf. The hotel offers spectacular city views, and mouth-watering dining and drinking options at Nuevo37 restaurant and Sotano Wine + Tapas bar. It has sophisticated private event spaces, and a unique conference offering with partner Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre. •Stylish riverside hotel on South Wharf Promenade, next to DFO South Wharf•Internal access via first floor link to Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre•Executive Lounge with outdoor terrace•396 generous rooms with spectacular views of the city or bay•60 Executive rooms and 54 Yarra, Relaxation and Two-Bedroom Suites•Four-point bathrooms with Peter Thomas Roth® amenities•Sophisticated Nuevo37 restaurant•Authentic Sotano Wine + Tapas Bar•Casual all-day Caffè Cino•24-hour Hilton Fitness by Precor® ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.