We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel is alright” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Save Saved
You added Hilton Melbourne South Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #12 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The hotel is alright”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located, you can walk along the river and there's plenty going on in the area. The staff friendly enough. The rooms were fine, although the entrance / lobby was a little dark with minimal natural light.

My room rate had breakfast included, and the breakfast was excellent with a great choice of food. Not just the typical bacon & eggs, but nice fruits, salmon etc,etc.

Compared to other hotels the price was average.

One negative, I used the express check-out and asked to have the final invoice emailed to me, it never arrived. So you may want to check out the old way!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review.

I appreciate your rating and comments and have discussed them with my Team. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience regarding the express checkout. I will personally follow this up with our Front Office Manager. Thank you again for your time.

Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    909
    443
    107
    44
    12
See reviews for
177
544
128
505
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was my first stay at a Hilton hotel, was on Sat 7th Sept in the city view room, arrived around 11.30am and was pleasant to know that my room was already good to check into. I must say the view was amazing - the floor to ceiling windows did the view justice, and was worth the extra walk due to the location, which enabled the great view. In the morning you can see the sun rise and the room fills up with light :) The ambience of the hotel (furnishings/colour scheme) was really nice and comtemporary and fitted the brand's image.
I had in-room breakfast and ordered the full breakfast which included the continental b/f plus cooked plate. When the waiter brought the food in and left the room, he came back a few minutes later with the cooked mushrooms that was left behind. While eating I realised a few items were missing from the continental b/f - juice, fruit salad and pot of hot chocolate. I called the MAGIC line to advise of the issue, and the waiter came up in less than 10 mins and apologised again for the oversight. I wasn't greatly bothered by the issue (was too relaxed), however it would have been nice if it didn't happen in the first place and more attention to detail was given to the order.
Regarding the eStandby upgrade service, which I paid $19 for a higher floor on level 14; it would have been nice to know which floor my room was originally booked for, just for my own peace of mind that the paid upgrade was backed up by some sort of proof i guess
Overall my stay was very good and the city/river views are definitely a highlight of the hotel and I don't think any other hotel can match in this regard. Although it may be a tad further walk from the cbd, I didn't mind it and was a good chance to take in more sights along the way anyway :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I appreciate your rating and comments and have discussed them with my Team. I sincerely apologize for the disappointment and delay with your In Room Dining Breakfast. I will personally follow this up with our Food & Beverage Manager. Thank you again for your time.

Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have stayed at the Hilton on numerous of occassions, but this time was made even more special by Josh.
Josh looked after our check in and could not have been more accomodating.
We were upgraded due to our Hilton Honors, then given a late check (2pm) and breakfast was thrown in as well.
Josh was also there when we checked out, he remembered us from the day before. He was very pleasant and is a credit to the Hilton.
Thanks again Josh we will be back.
Oh I forget he also gave 2 drink vouchers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you very much for the 10/10 review.

Glad you enjoyed your weekend away with us and Josh looked after you well. I will certainly pass on your feedback to him personally.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon…safe travels

Rupert Hallam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed on our recent girl trip to Melbourne to see Pink! The hotel was amazing. The service we received upon arrival just getting out of taxi was enough let alone fro reception! There were 4 of us staying and we had a beautiful 2 bedroom suite, beautifully decorated and so clean!. the beds were amazing to sleep in, room service was divine. Then to top it all off we were right next to DFO. What more could a girl want!! highly recommend for location and service!

Room Tip: Have stayed in hotel room and 2 bedroom suite and highly recommend both
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your 10/10 review.

Glad you enjoyed your all girls weekend away!! We are most certainly are at the best spot in the city for some retail therapy & relaxation! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Safe travels

Rupert Hallam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We took advantage of the reduced priced upgrade option (to a Yarra Suite) when completing the original on-line booking and ended up with an amazing suite, within which we could easily have parked the motor home that we had just toured the Great Ocean Road in, The full hight windows ran the length of the lounge space offering stunning views up, down and across the Yarra with the city skyline illuminated at night, whilst the bedroom and bathroom provided views out to the sea. We only stayed the one night, but the upgrade made it a fantastically relaxing experience, with some very pleasant food and drinks in the executive lounge thrown in. My only small criticism would be that this is the only Executive Lounge I have used recently that has prevented us from taking a drink back to our room, which seems unnecessarily draconian, and inhospitable. Otherwise staff where helpful, friendly and the hotel was clean and stylish - much more than you might expect from a Hilton which can be such an inconsistent brand.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite using the on-line upgrade option
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with your fellow travelers. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and my Team look after you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Safe travels

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton -South Wharf for a girls weekend away and had a very enjoyable time. DFO shopping centre next door, easy walk to casino and southbank for evening festivities and there's always happy hour drinks in the hotel bar! Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your 10/10 review.

Glad you enjoyed your all girls weekend away!! We are most certainly are at the best spot in the city for some retail therapy & relaxation! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Safe travels

Rupert Hallam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here for a week in July for work. The hotel is located at the Convention Centre, next to DFO, and only a short walk to the Crown Casino. Although the hotel is very new, clean and modern, I thought the rooms were quite average - mainly due to its size and minimal furnishings. In saying that, the bed and was definitely one of the most comfortable I've ever experienced and the pillows were absolutely perfect! I have tried to find these pillows everywhere but have had no luck.
This is a good hotel for business, but probably not so much for leisure as it is about a 20minute walk to the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

I really appreciate your review.

I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and our friendly staff looked after you well.

Hope to see you soon. Safe travels

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne
Hilton Melbourne
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Synonymous with quality, service, and style, Hilton offers the best of Melbourne.Immerse yourself in riverside cool that is the innovative Hilton Melbourne South Wharf. This upper upscale hotel is located in dynamic South Wharf Promenade and only a short stroll to the CBD, Docklands, Southbank dining precinct and Etihad Stadium - and beside the premium DFO South Wharf. The hotel offers spectacular city views, and mouth-watering dining and drinking options at Nuevo37 restaurant and Sotano Wine + Tapas bar. It has sophisticated private event spaces, and a unique conference offering with partner Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre. •Stylish riverside hotel on South Wharf Promenade, next to DFO South Wharf•Internal access via first floor link to Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre•Executive Lounge with outdoor terrace•396 generous rooms with spectacular views of the city or bay•60 Executive rooms and 54 Yarra, Relaxation and Two-Bedroom Suites•Four-point bathrooms with Peter Thomas Roth® amenities•Sophisticated Nuevo37 restaurant•Authentic Sotano Wine + Tapas Bar•Casual all-day Caffè Cino•24-hour Hilton Fitness by Precor® ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.