We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yarra Suite is a worthwhile treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Melbourne South Wharf to your Saves list
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #15 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
England
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Yarra Suite is a worthwhile treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We took advantage of the reduced priced upgrade option (to a Yarra Suite) when completing the original on-line booking and ended up with an amazing suite, within which we could easily have parked the motor home that we had just toured the Great Ocean Road in, The full hight windows ran the length of the lounge space offering stunning views up, down and across the Yarra with the city skyline illuminated at night, whilst the bedroom and bathroom provided views out to the sea. We only stayed the one night, but the upgrade made it a fantastically relaxing experience, with some very pleasant food and drinks in the executive lounge thrown in. My only small criticism would be that this is the only Executive Lounge I have used recently that has prevented us from taking a drink back to our room, which seems unnecessarily draconian, and inhospitable. Otherwise staff where helpful, friendly and the hotel was clean and stylish - much more than you might expect from a Hilton which can be such an inconsistent brand.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite using the on-line upgrade option
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with your fellow travelers. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and my Team look after you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Safe travels

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,164
    597
    136
    54
    16
See reviews for
229
705
143
663
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton -South Wharf for a girls weekend away and had a very enjoyable time. DFO shopping centre next door, easy walk to casino and southbank for evening festivities and there's always happy hour drinks in the hotel bar! Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your 10/10 review.

Glad you enjoyed your all girls weekend away!! We are most certainly are at the best spot in the city for some retail therapy & relaxation! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Safe travels

Rupert Hallam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here for a week in July for work. The hotel is located at the Convention Centre, next to DFO, and only a short walk to the Crown Casino. Although the hotel is very new, clean and modern, I thought the rooms were quite average - mainly due to its size and minimal furnishings. In saying that, the bed and was definitely one of the most comfortable I've ever experienced and the pillows were absolutely perfect! I have tried to find these pillows everywhere but have had no luck.
This is a good hotel for business, but probably not so much for leisure as it is about a 20minute walk to the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

I really appreciate your review.

I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and our friendly staff looked after you well.

Hope to see you soon. Safe travels

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed here in July with a friend.

Greeted when entering the hotel, room wasn't available as we arrived early in the morning. Told to leave our bags in the luggage room and they would ring us when the room was ready. No more than 2 hours later did they call.

Arrived back at the hotel. Checked in. Room was up on the 9th floor. Our bags had already been taken up and put in the room.

The cleanliness of the room was impeccable. The bathroom and bed were divine. Actually never slept on a softer bed. Perfect!

Didn't get to head to the Executive Lounge, but the hotel and lobby was well maintained and clean. Though the only problem that I found was the hotel corridor and room doors were marked significantly on our rooms floor. A minor problem, just made it feel a little less cleaner.

Check out was painless.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with your fellow travelers. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and my Team look after you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Safe travels

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the Hilton South Wharf in a triple room with some relatives this month for a 3 night stay but when i got into the room allocated the sliding door for the bathroom was completely off the rails! I called and engineering came to fix this immediately and left. So i was looking for a hairdryer in the drawers and instead found a plank of wood that fell on my toes! I was in pain and called up rather unhappy about this and was offered for engineering to come up and look at the issue again but by this time i said i would like to change rooms. I received a change of rooms but no apology or compensation of any kind which indeed was not ideal as i could no longer walk on my left foot and did not count this a good start for my trip. All in all i was not happy with this.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us.
I sincerely apologize for the disappointment you experienced during your stay. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to discuss this further.

I look forward to hear from you.

Regards,
Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Thoughts on the stay I have listed as average only because of the tired rooms and the priced charged for same. Was expecting better. Staff were great. The last stay in Melbourne was the Crown Towers, much better & bigger rooms for similar money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

I really appreciate your comments and can assure you that I have shared them with my entire Senior Management Team. We are always looking for constructive feedback to improve our product and services.

Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Hilton is usually a consistent experience. South Wharf is an excellent hotel in a great location. It is expensive but if you want to spend a little more and make a night of it in the city either for the footy at Etihad Stadium or a show or just dinner and shopping, this hotel is in a great location. Rooms are big and the bed is comfy and high. Bathroom is large and the views are good too. The staff are professional and the food very good. Well worth it if you are staying around docklands as there is plenty to do, see and eat and shop. Parking can be $20 at DFO carpark for 24hours or $50 valet. A bit steep if you ask me but if you can afford the Hilton here then you can afford the valet parking. A good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with your fellow travelers. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and my Team look after you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Safe travels

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Synonymous with quality, service, and style, Hilton offers the best of Melbourne.Immerse yourself in riverside cool that is the innovative Hilton Melbourne South Wharf. This upper upscale hotel is located in dynamic South Wharf Promenade and only a short stroll to the CBD, Docklands, Southbank dining precinct and Etihad Stadium - and beside the premium DFO South Wharf. The hotel offers spectacular city views, and mouth-watering dining and drinking options at Nuevo37 restaurant and Sotano Wine + Tapas bar. It has sophisticated private event spaces, and a unique conference offering with partner Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre. •Stylish riverside hotel on South Wharf Promenade, next to DFO South Wharf•Internal access via first floor link to Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre•Executive Lounge with outdoor terrace•396 generous rooms with spectacular views of the city or bay•60 Executive rooms and 54 Yarra, Relaxation and Two-Bedroom Suites•Four-point bathrooms with Peter Thomas Roth® amenities•Sophisticated Nuevo37 restaurant•Authentic Sotano Wine + Tapas Bar•Casual all-day Caffè Cino•24-hour Hilton Fitness by Precor® ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.