We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hilton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Save Saved
You added Hilton Melbourne South Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #14 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Hilton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This Hilton has a great location for moving around Melbourne on foot. It is located directly next door to the Convention Centre on the Yarra River. It has absolutely stunning views of the city and river. It's also a short walk to the Crown Entertainment Complex, which is a luxurious casino, dining, and shopping center. Skip over there for lunch instead of dining at the hotel.

The hotel is beautiful with it's rustic woodwork throughout, including the sleeping rooms. The best part of the room is the spacious bathroom, although if you really like privacy while in there, you won't get it. The toilet room has a 6" gap under the door, which doesn't leave much for the imagination. The shower fits two and is nicely designed without a door. The bed and linens are extremely comfortable.

There is a card advertising spa services in the room so I called to inquire if the spa had a sauna and its hours. I was told that there is no spa, sauna, or pool, and that if I wanted to arrange any spa services that they would arrange for someone to come to my room. I passed on that.

You can also catch the City Circle Tram not far from the hotel , which provides a free way for visitors to explore Melbourne.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially the rustic woodwork through out the hotel, along with the spacious bathroom.

We hope to see you soon on your next travels to Melbourne.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,686 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,007
    502
    115
    48
    14
See reviews for
199
603
130
567
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Wonderful hotel experience. Convenient to the Melbourne Conference and Exhibition Centre. Luxurious room, nice meal in restaurant, staff very helpful. Lots of great restaurants near by. Bath rooms in room spacious the bath a perfect size to stretch out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for sharing your 10/10 experience with your fellow travelers.

I’m so glad you enjoyed you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Safe travels…

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just a 10 minute walk along the river shore and across to Docklands. Great night city views and a robust breakfast with friendly and helpful concierge staff, I'll stay here again. The requirement for 200 characters for the review is annoying.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Glad to hear that that enjoyed the location and the hotel breakfast.

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you soon.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton for a second time, he was at a conference and I was just going "along for the ride". Perfect location if you are attending a conference on South Wharf, and should you have limited mobility or wheelchair bound it is ideal, with plenty of space and large lifts/elevators. The room was immaculately clean and comfortable. The internet was rather expensive for the five days that we were there. The views over the river and CBD were magical, a large picture window with views that you would never tire of.
The buffet breakfast was very nice, all freshly cooked, with a huge variety of food to suit all tastes. The service was quick and came with a smile, nothing was too much trouble.
Sadly, there was no pool......so, I went shopping! Perfectly located next to the hotel is a large DFO shopping outlet, with many designer shops selling at hugely discounted prices.
Just a ten minute walk and you will be in the main city shopping area with beautiful shops and street restaurants tucked away serving delicious cuisine.

The Hilton staff were delightful, from the lovely ladies who serviced our room to the concierge who appeared as if from a Gene's lamp. Always helpful, informative and pleasant.

A great location ......if you are a single traveller the Hilton is an ideal location for accessing Melbourne with most attractions being only minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf!

So glad you were able to experience our warm Hilton hospitality and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Hotrel is aways very neat and tidy,Bar and restaurant really good. Rooms especially bathroom are excellent. There is a good vibe overall. Restaurant food is very good quality and not in any way pretentious. Location is only a short walk to casino,southbank etc and lots of Melbournes attractions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction.

Hope to see you return soon....safe travels.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia, Peru
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here while attending a wedding and loved this property from the start. The rooms were very well appointed, modern yet cosy.

This was the first time we started seeing PeterThomasRoth amenities at the Hilton chain and this was much appreciated. The staff were always very professional and friendly. The breakfasts were lovely, as was the coffee they served!

We also really enjoyed walking around the docks in the area, eating at the Vietnamese restaurant next door and exploring the shops in the mall nearby.

Would certainly return again but given our equally positive experience at the Westin Melbourne, it will be hard decision to forego either hotel on our next trip to Melbourne!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. So glad you were able to experience our warm Hilton hospitality.

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially the in-room amenities and our friendly staff.

We hope to see you soon on your next travels to Melbourne.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Excellent location, great views, friendly service. No pool is a drawback. Very convenient particularly for conferences at Melbourne Convention Centre. The twin room was perfect for my baby and wife to stay in whilst I attended the conference.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially our great views and friendly service.

We hope to see you soon on your next travels to Melbourne.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Synonymous with quality, service, and style, Hilton offers the best of Melbourne.Immerse yourself in riverside cool that is the innovative Hilton Melbourne South Wharf. This upper upscale hotel is located in dynamic South Wharf Promenade and only a short stroll to the CBD, Docklands, Southbank dining precinct and Etihad Stadium - and beside the premium DFO South Wharf. The hotel offers spectacular city views, and mouth-watering dining and drinking options at Nuevo37 restaurant and Sotano Wine + Tapas bar. It has sophisticated private event spaces, and a unique conference offering with partner Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre. •Stylish riverside hotel on South Wharf Promenade, next to DFO South Wharf•Internal access via first floor link to Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre•Executive Lounge with outdoor terrace•396 generous rooms with spectacular views of the city or bay•60 Executive rooms and 54 Yarra, Relaxation and Two-Bedroom Suites•Four-point bathrooms with Peter Thomas Roth® amenities•Sophisticated Nuevo37 restaurant•Authentic Sotano Wine + Tapas Bar•Casual all-day Caffè Cino•24-hour Hilton Fitness by Precor® ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.