We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located to enjoy Melbourne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Melbourne South Wharf to your Saves list
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #15 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Well located to enjoy Melbourne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The room was spacious and view pleasant though we didn't have one of the river but could see the ocean. Great bathroom with plenty of space for the three of us. The beds were very comfortable and the blinds guaranteed a good nights sleep. I think this place has the best breakfast of any hotel that I have stayed anywhere in the world - a big claim and I don't make it lightly. A juicer with a variety of fruits and a toasting machine that works and actually toasts bread! That doesn't happen often in most hotels. The staff were all pleasant, friendly and helpful. DFO is beside the hotel as is the Convention Centre. Flinders St station,CBD and Federation Square are a very pleasant walk along the river. I would definitely recommend it as a place to stay on a trip to Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I really appreciate your comments and I was glad to read you enjoyed your time with us. We certainly are at a very good location in the city walking distance from most Melbourne attractions. Look forward to seeing you soon. Safe travels. Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,418
    720
    159
    63
    20
See reviews for
287
840
160
821
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Upon arrival i was stunned by the amazing foyer area, only to be out done once i opened the door to the room. Breakfast was amazing and a great way to start my days in Melbourne. Room service was lacking that finishing touch that i seamed to find everywhere else i looked in the hotel but this is a minor tweek that can be fixed with ease. The quality of the environment and location of the hotel was just wonderful. A great Hotel experience from Check in to check out. I have recommended this hotel to numerous friends and family after experiencing it and do intend to return on my next visit to Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Glad you enjoyed the Hilton Hospitality…hope to see you soon.
Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have stayed at Hilton South Wharf on several occasions, our last experience was lacking in service and the whole place seems to have gone downhill over the last 12 months.

This hotel was always generous in offering room upgrades and executive lounge access to gold Hhonors members, however this appears to be no longer.

They were unable to offer any room upgrade, and we were advised that executive rooms were fully booked during our stay, an interesting comment given that they were still available for sale on hilton.com.

The room was clean, but starting to show wear and tear, this is easier overlooked if the service is up to scratch.

One saving grace was the service we received from a couple of different staff members at breakfast, they were excellent and the reception staff and 'magic' line should take a leaf out of their book.

In the past I had been willing to recommend this hotel to anyone, however given the most recent experience I will be looking elsewhere for future stays in Melbourne.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us.

I was very disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and we deeply regret any inconvenience caused as a result of the issues you experienced.

At Hilton, we highly value all our guests' feedback and in order for us to investigate the matter in further detail, I would greatly appreciate if you could contact me directly.

Thank you again for your time.

Rupert Hallam, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton on the South Wharf for 2 days on the 19th floor in a 2 bedroom apartment rooms had an excellent view over the wharf ...the harbour was in the distance and you could see the helicopters land on a helipad close to the Hotel.

We had access to the executive lounge which was a great bonus we had our breakfast there and also snacks and drinks in the evening. the staff were very friendly and helpful.
There was a carpark facing the hotel which you received a discount for and the city was a short, pleasant walk along the wharf.

I would certainly stay at this H|otel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
I sincerely appreciate your 10/10 review.
Glad to hear that that enjoyed the hotel and all its facilities.
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you soon.

Rupert Hallam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton South Wharf for four nights and loved it. The minute I walked in, I was greeted by bell boys & concierge. The reception staff were friendly & helpful.

I had booked a deal through wotif and got a great deal for the City View King room. The room was very lovely. Didn't think it would be big enough but it was a perfect size. The view was amazing! Could sit and watch it forever :)
Bathroom very gorgeous & big. Black-out blinds are wonderful but can be dangerous if you don't have an alarm set! :P
Bed is like a marshmallow!! Loved it and didn't want to leave! :)
Ordered room service late one night and was delicious. Perfect if you are hungry but don't want to brave the cold to get something.
At first, I thought the location was abit far away but realised that it's only a 10min walk to trams/cbd. I found that I prefer this over being in a hotel in the middle of the city, with all the noise

Would definitely return here! Loved every minute of staying here :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive review!
I am so glad you enjoyed the Hilton hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Safe travels..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Rooms: comfortable and well designed; I found the bed very comfortable – just did not want to get out of it in the morning; a beautiful bathroom with a walk-in shower and a bathtub.

Excellent breakfast selection and service, including a ‘make your own juice’ station – plenty of choices; all beautifully presented.

Service: friendly and efficient as mentioned by previous reviewers.

I have some reservations about the HHonors Gold benefits recognition, including upgrades and executive lounge access – these were promptly resolved in my case following an exchange of emails; I am not sure if this is specific to Hilton hotels in this part of the world or a sign of the continuing devaluation of the scheme/loyalty recognition.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your 10/10 experience with your fellow travelers.

I’m so glad you enjoyed you stay with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss details about your experience with our Hilton HHonors Loyalty.

Hope to see you soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Queensland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have recently spent a few days at this hotel. It is located in the very large DFO shopping complex at South Wharf Melbourne a great location if you like shopping. . It is also near the boardwalk next to the Convention Centre which is near the Crown Casino. It is about a 10 minute walk to the casino and where you are able to catch any number of trams which are very frequent.

The rooms are quite large and the decor is very modern. If you require Internet from your room, you pay although free WiFi internet is available in the lobby area only and there is an area set aside for guests to do this, however it was a nightmare to try and log on initially. Even the Conceirge tried to help saying we did not need a password - however the message kept saying that you do. We gave up a couple of times that we tried to log on as per their instructions. However there was another free WiFi option available (HH - Public) which is what we used - it only gives you two hours at a time, but that would be more than enough for most people. I would have thought that for the price you pay for a room (in excess of $300 per day - room only) internet would be included. It is a wonder in this day and age of technology that hotels just don't include this as standard. Some do, most don't.

The room had a flat screen TV which was also seemed to have an issue with reception - some channels kept breaking up to the point we turned it off. The next day we tried again, and it was ok. So it was hit and miss with the TV. As we were out most of the time anyway, it wasn't that much of an issue for us. Again, I feel that for the price paid for the room, we should not have had this issue at all. The bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was huge, with separate bath, shower and toilet areas. Could not fault the room at all, very clean and with good quality bathroom items.

We did eat breakfast in the hotel - it was very well set out - lots of choices from their all you can eat buffet and the food was very tasty and well cooked. No complaints there. I notice that if you had to pay for it, the price is $37 per head. We felt that this was extremely expensive for what you got, so we were pleased it was included in our stay.

If you arrive by car, the hotel will charge you $50 for them to park it. Otherwise you can park in the public paying car park across the road.

In a nutshell - great hotel with staff very friendly and helpful in a good location if you like shopping or are there on business - but way overpriced for what you got compared to other hotels - ie you don't get any extras apart from the room. And to top it all off, as you need to provide your credit card, they also add an additional 1.5% surcharge on top of your bill.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review.

I appreciate your feedback rating and comments. On behalf of my Team I would like to sincerely apologize for the disappointment you experienced with regards to pricing at our hotel. I can assure you that all our products and services are competitively priced. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to discuss this further.

Thank you again for your time. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#1 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,414 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#2 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,450 reviews
Oaks On William
#22 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#20 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,409 reviews
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#12 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Synonymous with quality, service, and style, Hilton offers the best of Melbourne.Immerse yourself in riverside cool that is the innovative Hilton Melbourne South Wharf. This upper upscale hotel is located in dynamic South Wharf Promenade and only a short stroll to the CBD, Docklands, Southbank dining precinct and Etihad Stadium - and beside the premium DFO South Wharf. The hotel offers spectacular city views and mouth-watering dining and drinking options. It has sophisticated meeting and event spaces, and a unique conference offering with Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre. Hotel highlights: •Stylish riverside hotel on South Wharf Promenade, next to DFO South Wharf •Internal access via first floor link to Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre •Executive Lounge with outdoor terrace •396 generous rooms with spectacular views of the city or bay •60 Executive rooms and 54 Yarra, Relaxation and Two-Bedroom Suites •Bathrooms with separate shower and bath plus Peter Thomas Roth(R) amenities •A stylish restaurant and bar that offers an approachable and relaxed dining experience for all occasions •Six modern meeting and event rooms and expansive open-air, covered terrace for events up to 300 •Casual all-day Caffe Cino •24-hour Hilton Fitness by Precor(R) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.