We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton highlights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Melbourne South Wharf to your Saves list
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #18 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
tasmania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hilton highlights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Booked executive floor then took up the upgrade offer on checkin to 2 bed apartment. These are on highest floors and quite spacious and well laid out. Kitchenette was adequate. No laundry. Living area small and only has sofa seating for two. dining table seats four. Lot of space taken up in this area with unnecessary designer touches e.g. Shelves and large ( and uncomfortable) can ottoman and intrusive floor lighting. Beds great and bathrooms well appointed.
Right next to DFO shopping outlet and convention centre. Transport easy. A good 15 minute walk to city centre. Stroll along south bamk precinct is pleasant.

The executive lounge on 4th floor is huge but food is pretty basic and service almost non existent in mornings. Large outdoor terrace be good for summer drinks.

Ate in restaurant and food good but pricey. Plenty of restaurants around the area.

Generally a comfortable business hotel but not a lot of personalised service

Room Tip: River facing rooms better as rear rooms get some freeway noise. Air con is bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozbabetasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
I really appreciate your comments and can assure you that I have shared them with my entire Senior Management Team. We are always looking for constructive feedback to improve our product and services.

Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Perfect !!





Right from the minute we got out of the taxi, the young guys at the front door assisted us straight away with our bags, check-in was a breeze, the lady was very friendly and informative , the foyer is lovely - very relaxing, you didn't feel rushed , I didn't mind the dimmed lighting.. (although I still couldn't convince my husband to let me take home one of the new cars being displayed in there..hahaa)

The room was just right for us, we had a King relaxation suite, very spacious. The beds are soo comfy - pillows were just right for me :) We had use of the executive lounge which was great! The staff in there were friendly and very helpful and the choice of drinks and snacks etc was ample!

Room Service we used a few times - Wow! Very fast and food was yummy!

Bar downstairs - we used a couple of times too and the staff there were very attentive and made sure you were never waiting for a drink - it was great!

Location , was spot on for us, as we needed the convention centre, and easy walking to the casino , shops (DFO right next door!) , Collins street and restaurants..

I highly recommend the Hilton South Wharf Melbourne! We will be returning in the near future!!
Thankyou!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
I sincerely appreciate your 10/10 review.

Glad to hear that that enjoyed the hotel and all its facilities.

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We chose this hotel based on the gorgeous photos online. We stayed in room 1904 which was a 2 bedroom, yarra river view (of southbank). The room was just like the photos, room was clean and the experience was wonderful. We were a family of 4, including 2 small children (5 years and 2 years old). The children loved it, and the room was comfortable for our needs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kylie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
I really appreciate your review.

Thank you ever so much for sharing your experiences with your fellow travelers. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and our friendly staff looked after you well.

Hope to see you soon. Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel several times - and it continues to meet my expectations.

Great location on south Wharf just a stroll from the city on the river. Lovely rooms that are a good size. Staff are well trained and very accommodating. Highly recommended. We used the Executive lounge, which was well provisioned.

This occasion I left my jacket in my room - and when I contacted the hotel they immediately sent it to my home address - well packaged and received it the day I returned home. The staff are very efficient, and also friendly - a great combination.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robinpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
I really appreciate your review.
Thank you ever so much for sharing your experiences with your fellow travelers
Hope to see you soon. Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Excellent service in a perfect, spacy and luxurious room, would always stay again in this hotel. Friendly staff, always helpful and in a "can-do-mode". The view over the nearby river and a bath in the wonderful bathroom were amazing

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Maik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you very much for the 10/10 review.

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We really value your support and loyalty.

Hope to see you soon…safe travel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is right next to the convention center. Rooms are modern with clean lines and comfortable beds and linens. I loved the layout and the open concept bathroom. Most of the hotel has great views of the wharf but there is a little bit of a walk to the nightlife, which you'll find mostly on the weekends as you walk up the river from the hotel. Breakfast buffet was a huge spread and room service was always on time or earlier.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OneK9lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for the 10/10 review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I am a fan of this hotel. I stay there for business all the time and it is quiet, walking distance to casino and some great restuants and easy access to get to the airport. Some rooms have a great view up the river once you push the button on the electronic blinds and you can watch the casino lights and fires going off all night. There is a large bar area that has some good atmosphere and there are other bars nearby. I dont eat in hotels as a rule so there is plenty of funky cool places nearby to venture to. I can stay at any hotel in Melb but i choose this one!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you ever so much for sharing your experiences with your fellow travelers. We really appreciate all your loyalty and support.
Hope to see you soon. Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
The Langham, Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,839 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,614 reviews
Crown Towers
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,603 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#29 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,714 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing