We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love IT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Melbourne South Wharf to your Saves list
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #15 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Love Hilton South Wharf, recently stayed there again for two nights in a two bedroomed apartment with access to lounge facilities and breakfast.
Modern clean ideally situated closely to Crown, restuarants and a short tram ride to the Albert Park Lake F1 track.
The Maclaren team and Lotus both use the hotel so it is great to spot some familiar faces.
Breakfast is a definate highlight not to mention the lounge access.
Highly recommended. Will be back!

Room Tip: Choose city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you very much for the 10/10 review.

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We really value your support and loyalty.

Hope to see you soon…safe travel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,418
    720
    159
    63
    20
See reviews for
287
840
160
821
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Set on South wharf, this hotel is located very close to the dockland's business district. The hotel itself is very basic. Rooms are big and the bathrooms are large. Food is expensive and disappointed that Wifi access has to be purchased for the room, again at a high cost

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.

I am so pleased you enjoyed our service and facilities throughout your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed for one night on 24th February, we managed to get checked in early and were given a room on the 14th floor with stunning views along the river Yarra and all the restaurants, shops etc. We had an executive room which gave us access to the executive lounge which supplied nice nibbles and a good range of wines beers etc. A lighter breakfast is also included which we found ideal before setting out for the day. We also found a chocolate on our pillow on return and the nightime view from the huge picture window was simply fantastic. The reception does get very busy but the staff all act in a professional manner and assist wherever possible. They had a BBQ going on the Sunday afternoon outside one of the lounges and the hot dog with onions and mustard went down a treat!! Would gladly stay there for the view alone. They have gas units dotted along the embankment which give a great flame show on the hour in the evenings which look great viewed from the bedroom window. We were also treated to the sight of 5 air balloons taking to the skies at sunrise.

Room Tip: Ask for a city/river view on a high floor, you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for the 10/10 review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Lovely rooms, great service and a short stroll to all the entertainment, restaurants, cafes and bars of Melbourne's South Bank district. This will make up for the limited options regarding restaurants within the complex itself.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
I really appreciate your review.

Thank you ever so much for sharing your positive experience with your fellow travelers. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and our friendly staff looked after you well.

Hope to see you soon. Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times now and I have never been disappointed. Reading through the reviews most have covered the best features, excellent Executive Lounge, a must for business travellers. Great Staff, friendly, courteous and very helpful. If you get the right room, the views are fantastic. Location wise it is in close proximity to all the amenities and nightlife, many great restaurants within walking distance.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf! So glad you were able to experience our warm Hilton hospitality and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

If you are visiting Melbourne this hotel is situated right on the wharf with views right the way along. If you book an Executive room you will be invited into the Executive lounge which serves free breakfast, afternoon tea and cakes and then in the evening free drinks and canapes

Loved the comfortable beds and pillows. I found the hotel location perfect to get around the city.Our executive room was spacious and very clean.

The Hilton is a fantastic place to stay. The staff was excellent and the rooms very comfortable

Room Tip: Get an executive room - well worth the extra coins :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf! So glad you were able to experience our warm Hilton hospitality and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland.New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this Hilton on the recommendation of a friend, so we knew it was away from the city centre, but by walking across the Yarra River you can access the free City Circle Tram which was great for getting round the city and sightseeing as well,( for shopping I recommend getting off the tram at Elizabeth Street and walking up to get to Collins St, Bourke St etc.)
If you are attending anything at the Exhibition or Convention Centres, the Hotel is right there and on the other side is the DFO shopping centre which has some very good outlets ie Tommy Hillfiger, Adidas, Nike and Country Road. We had an Executive Room with a lovely view over the river and enjoyed using the Executive lounge and its facilities, though it was very busy at times and could do with higher tables for eating, as the carpets were often dirty from crumbs being spilt on the way from the low tables to peoples mouths!! The reception desk in the lounge was often unattended, so some people had to find staff when they needed help. We gave up waiting for our luggage to be brought up to our room on arrival at lunchtime on Friday, after 40 minutes my husband went and collected it- this may simply have been because it was a holiday weekend so maybe there was a staff shortage or the hotel was just too busy. The room on the 13th floor was lovely with a big bathroom with bath, separate shower and toilet. The concierge Toby was very helpful with Restaurant recommendations, tell him the sort of food you would like and a price bracket and he comes up with good suggestions.( Do be warned many of the Melbourne restaurants are really overpriced, we have many friends who have commented that a lovely meal has been totally spoilt by the eye watering bill at the end of it). A swimming pool would be a nice addition to this lovely hotel, but we will certainly stay there again when returning to Melbourne.

Room Tip: Check room rates for stays of 2 or 3 nights as there are some good specials. The Executive room deal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

I really appreciate the time you have taken to write this very detailed review. I have discussed all your comments with my Senior Management Team.

Thank you so much for your constructive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#1 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,417 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#2 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,452 reviews
Oaks On William
#24 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#20 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,411 reviews
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#12 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Synonymous with quality, service, and style, Hilton offers the best of Melbourne.Immerse yourself in riverside cool that is the innovative Hilton Melbourne South Wharf. This upper upscale hotel is located in dynamic South Wharf Promenade and only a short stroll to the CBD, Docklands, Southbank dining precinct and Etihad Stadium - and beside the premium DFO South Wharf. The hotel offers spectacular city views and mouth-watering dining and drinking options. It has sophisticated meeting and event spaces, and a unique conference offering with Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre. Hotel highlights: •Stylish riverside hotel on South Wharf Promenade, next to DFO South Wharf •Internal access via first floor link to Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre •Executive Lounge with outdoor terrace •396 generous rooms with spectacular views of the city or bay •60 Executive rooms and 54 Yarra, Relaxation and Two-Bedroom Suites •Bathrooms with separate shower and bath plus Peter Thomas Roth(R) amenities •A stylish restaurant and bar that offers an approachable and relaxed dining experience for all occasions •Six modern meeting and event rooms and expansive open-air, covered terrace for events up to 300 •Casual all-day Caffe Cino •24-hour Hilton Fitness by Precor(R) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.