We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Shelf!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Save Saved
You added Hilton Melbourne South Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #13 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
“Top Shelf!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Whilst this is part of a big hotel chain, you are maid to feel very welcome and treated as an individual. Service is great the decor is comfortable and the rooms are very comfortable and provide great sleeping conditions. It is close to Southbank and right on the doorstep of DFO. I thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf and taking the time to write your review! So glad you were able to experience our warm Hilton hospitality and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,014
    505
    116
    49
    14
See reviews for
201
606
131
571
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Well done again Hilton you lived up to the quality and service that you are renowned for.
Travelled for one night only and the accommodation was perfect.
Very close to everything and the added bonus of a great restaurant and bar.
Will be staying again for those special nights and highly recommend the city view rooms.

Room Tip: Book a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
I really appreciate your review.

Thank you ever so much for sharing your positive experience with your fellow travelers. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and our friendly staff looked after you well.

Hope to see you soon. Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Booked a Yarra Suite for 3 nights on wotif for the weekend - have stayed in many a Hilton so had a reasonable expectation. Have to stay this hotel exceeded in every way and made my birthday weekend very special indeed. From Craig the conceigne who made numerous fantastic recommendations and two dinner bookings that were out of this world, through to the wonderful girl in the business club full of great tips and friendly service! The suite was spacious, the bed heavanly and the view stunning. We were a little worried about location but nothing was far, convienence store downstairs, DFO Mall next door, several nice bars and cafes couple minutes walk through to the CBD only 15 mins walk and South Bank under 10 minutes. Only reason rated cleanliness very good not excellent was hallways needed bit of care but rooms exceptionally clean. Well back again!

Room Tip: Yarra Suites are a corner suite, very roomy, sperate walkin closet, sperate toilet, sperate lounge a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I was really happy to read that you enjoyed your Birthday weekend with us. So glad you were able to experience our warm Hilton hospitality and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton for 1 night with my hubby as we were seeing a play at the Art Centre and thought we'd make a night of it. The location is fabulous being a short stroll to Southbank.

Overall the room, bathroom products, tea and coffee provided were great. It is a Hilton so the cost of mini bar extra would make you faint but we knew that going in so didn't use those facilities. My disappointment was with the bathroom. It has an awkward door situation going on in such a small space. The door for the showing opens into the shower which is a bit inconvenient if like me you like to turn on the shower and get the water to the right temperature before getting in. Because the shower has no lip on it and a grate drain it doesn't service two people at the same time. We flooded the bathroom. A cavity door would have solved the toilet door intruding so much into the small space also.

My other disappointment was with the inconsistency of service from the staff. When we booked in there was no directions to where the elevator was located or which restaurant breakfast would be in in the morning, or instructions to use the key card in the lift. Simple things but we'd just stayed at the Emporium Hotel in Brisbane a couple of weeks before and their service had been so great it really highlighted the contrast to me.

On a bright note the breakfast was amazing. Fantastic array of choices for everyone and fresh and delicious food provided. Great ending to our stay and the staff in the restaurant were super attentive and lovely too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for the fantastic review.

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us overall. Regarding your comment about the service levels, at Hilton, we highly value all our guests' feedback and in order for us to investigate the matter in further detail, I would greatly appreciate if you could contact me directly.

Once again, thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed for a few nights as we were attending an Expo next door.
Great location; super helpful concierge who held all our boxes, bags, banners ... breakfast was included in our rate and featured a huge yummy selection. Wish I had the time and stomach to sample it all.
We had an amazing rate for a king room, so we weren't expecting a great view but it was lovely - looking to Southbank.
The bed was perfect - soft on top, firm under; the big bath was such a welcome relief ... bliss!
Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Closest to Exhibition Centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
I sincerely appreciate your good review.

Glad to hear that that enjoyed the hotel and its location, next to the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre.

I look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This property served all of our needs on our Australian Open tennis stay. We enjoyed the seclusion of this hotel and the wonderful river view that our room offered. There are some excellent coffee bars and restaurants nearby. We enjoyed watching the crown hotels fire tower show that stretches down the river every night at 10 and 11 pm. The rooms are large and the bathrooms are very clean and sleek. We had continuous key card problems during our stay-- not only with our room but when using the workout facility. We had to use the "MAGIC" button many times- including many trips back and forth to the lobby for assistance-- not a 5 star moment at this gracious hotel. I was able to tour the executive lounge which was very nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this very detailed review.

I really appreciate your comments and can assure you that I have shared them with my entire Senior Management Team. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced regarding your room keys. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you wish to discuss this further.

Hope to see you soon…safe travel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just finishing a 4 night stay for business. I personally think its a great location as its quite central to everything. As an HHonors Gold was upgraded to the Executive Lounge level. This is one of the better Executive Lounges around. Lots of space and a nice outdoor deck. Good selection of food and drinks as well.

Staff are all very pleasant and the rooms are quite nice with blockout blinds and a real comfortable bed.
Hard to pick a fault here. Everything just works well and is of a high Hilton standard. Will be my choice when returning to Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for the 10/10 review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a great experience at our Executive Lounge.

Hope to see you soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Synonymous with quality, service, and style, Hilton offers the best of Melbourne.Immerse yourself in riverside cool that is the innovative Hilton Melbourne South Wharf. This upper upscale hotel is located in dynamic South Wharf Promenade and only a short stroll to the CBD, Docklands, Southbank dining precinct and Etihad Stadium - and beside the premium DFO South Wharf. The hotel offers spectacular city views, and mouth-watering dining and drinking options at Nuevo37 restaurant and Sotano Wine + Tapas bar. It has sophisticated private event spaces, and a unique conference offering with partner Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre. •Stylish riverside hotel on South Wharf Promenade, next to DFO South Wharf•Internal access via first floor link to Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre•Executive Lounge with outdoor terrace•396 generous rooms with spectacular views of the city or bay•60 Executive rooms and 54 Yarra, Relaxation and Two-Bedroom Suites•Four-point bathrooms with Peter Thomas Roth® amenities•Sophisticated Nuevo37 restaurant•Authentic Sotano Wine + Tapas Bar•Casual all-day Caffè Cino•24-hour Hilton Fitness by Precor® ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.