We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little bit of luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Melbourne South Wharf to your Saves list
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #15 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Little bit of luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent a weekend here just before Christmas. What a gem. Excellent service, ambiance and quality. The rooms are appointed beautifully, staff helpful in a subtle way and the quality of the dining was excellent. The city centre is a good walk away, but lots of things to see on the way across. Close to some good shopping too. Can't wait for another weekend treat.

Room Tip: Didn't use the spa or pool so couldn't really rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic comments! Glad you enjoyed your weekend off with us.

Hope to see you soon on your next getaway in the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,156
    592
    135
    54
    16
See reviews for
228
697
142
660
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a City View Queen Room. The room was on the 17th floor at the south-east corner. The views were just unbeatable. From here you can see what a versatile transport system Melbourne really has: Water taxis lazing up and down the Yarra river, Helicopters flying off the microflite helipad, Trams (several routes), Metro and intercity Trains curving into Flinders Stn, Cars Trucks and road vehicles up and down the M1, and even Hot air balloons. The Crown casino "flame show" is a daily affair but closed on the fire ban days. The room is really really comfortable. The electric blinds, super comfy beds, hot showers, bath, simply class. I thought the entrance lobby was too dimly lit but that is the style I think Quiet Ambiance. You can spend hours watching all this activity and best part is it gets even better in the night. The Eureka tower, crown casino, office buildings and apartments all lit up.

The restaurants are pricey and we avoided them for better options on the Wharf, in DFO and in the city. Transport is only across the bridge and Taxis are $10 to $12 from the CBD. We parked at the Parking Station which is $20 per exit. But if you buy something from DFO it is actually quite cheap. There is a way of reducing the $20 fee to much less I found out but I will leave it for your imagination on how to do this.

Free room WiFi would be great - I had 3G so I could not be bothered. With DFO at the corner, Wharf downstairs I think the Hilton has the best location overall. We stayed for 4 nights.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
I sincerely appreciate your detailed comments about the hotel and all its facilities.

Pleased to read that you enjoyed the Yarra River view from you room.

Hope to see you soon on your next trip to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We as a family had a nice stay at the hilton hotel. The rooms were lovely and the beds were very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. My only disappointment was on my last day I was stopped by someone at the front desk and was asked if I ate buffet breakfast that morning and charged it to another room because there was a lady that had done this. He didn't ask my name or room. I just feel this was not the most appropriate manner to deal with this situation and hoped that no other customer was asked in the same way as it made me feel uncomfortable. I did make a complaint to the manager and he just gave me a verbal apology and said he would follow it up. The next morning before we checked out we had a lovely buffet
breakfast with the most pleasant staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I appreciate your comments and have discussed them with my team. I sincerely apologize about the incident at Front Desk. I can assure you that it wasn’t our intention to offend you. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss this further.

Hope to see you soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here several times great service nice little cafe downstairs. next to shops and lots of eating places.will always stay here when i come to Melbourne. Easy walk along River to casino and even more eateries

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments.

We genuinely appreciate all your support and loyalty. We hope to see you soon on your next trip to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here last weekend for a night (eventhough we live just barely 1km from the property) due to a promo price we couldn't resist! The last time we stayed at this property was in 2010. And everything was as good as we remembered!

The bed in this property is still the most comfortable, hands down in any hotel we have stayed in! It literally cuddles you to sleep :)

The breakfast buffet at Nuevo 37 could be better though. The buffet spread is really limited compared to the other Hilton properties I have stayed in the past (throughout Asia). But I love how I was greeted with freshly squeezed juice at the entrance to the breakfast buffet.

And as others have mentioned, with DFO just next door, close to all the new restaurants and cafes along the South Wharf Promenade, and Crown Casino and Route 96, 112 and 109 trams stop just a short 8-min stroll - it's easy access to many things.

Generally, this is a fantastic Hilton property but with a downside ... it doesn't have a swimming pool.

P.S. I noted value as Excellent due to the promo price I got for this stay.

Room Tip: High floor with City view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your support and loyalty. I genuinely appreciate your comments and have shared them with my senior management team.

We hope to welcome you back soon…at your home away from HOME.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camino, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was the best hotel my husband and I stayed in during our three-week tour of NZ and Australia. We stayed for four nights and didn't want to leave. The room and view were beautiful, the bed was super comfy, the staff were very efficient and helpful. We had access to the executive lounge due to my status and the "continental" breakfast was amazing. The hotel is on the river with many restaurants nearby, but it should be noted that the hotel is a fair walk to the heart of the activitiy. No regrets, however, we loved, loved, loved this hotel stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor with a view of the river towards downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you very much for the 10/10 review.

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We really value your support and loyalty.

Hope to see you soon on your next trip down under…safe travel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Perfect location, at southwharf. Next door to DFO (Direct factory outlets for awesome shopping) and close to bars & restaurants but nice and quiet. on the edge of the Yarra. Rooms are modern with remote control blackout blinds, thick glass windows and the most comfy beds, we always have a peaceful sleep here. Bathrooms are modern, open and really clean. Lovely lounge/bar area for drinks/tapas. Recommend getting the buffet breakfast its so extensive with the choices available and the best we have ever had.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you very much for the fantastic review.

Glad you enjoyed the locations and had a good night’s rest. We really value your support and loyalty.

Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Synonymous with quality, service, and style, Hilton offers the best of Melbourne.Immerse yourself in riverside cool that is the innovative Hilton Melbourne South Wharf. This upper upscale hotel is located in dynamic South Wharf Promenade and only a short stroll to the CBD, Docklands, Southbank dining precinct and Etihad Stadium - and beside the premium DFO South Wharf. The hotel offers spectacular city views, and mouth-watering dining and drinking options at Nuevo37 restaurant and Sotano Wine + Tapas bar. It has sophisticated private event spaces, and a unique conference offering with partner Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre. •Stylish riverside hotel on South Wharf Promenade, next to DFO South Wharf•Internal access via first floor link to Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre•Executive Lounge with outdoor terrace•396 generous rooms with spectacular views of the city or bay•60 Executive rooms and 54 Yarra, Relaxation and Two-Bedroom Suites•Four-point bathrooms with Peter Thomas Roth® amenities•Sophisticated Nuevo37 restaurant•Authentic Sotano Wine + Tapas Bar•Casual all-day Caffè Cino•24-hour Hilton Fitness by Precor® ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.